Performance - Amazon Snowball Edge Developer Guide
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Performance

Following, you can find recommendations and information about Amazon Snowball Edge device performance. This section describes performance in general terms, because on-premises environments have a different way of doing things—different network technologies, different hardware, different operating systems, different procedures, and so on.

The following table outlines how your network's transfer rate impacts how long it takes to fill a Snowball Edge device with data. Transferring smaller files reduces your transfer speed due to increased overhead. If you have many small files, we recommend that you zip them up into larger archives before transferring them onto a Snowball Edge device.

Rate (MB/s) 82 TB transfer time
800 1.22 days
450 2.11 days
400 2.37 days
300 3.16 days
277 3.42 days
200 4.75 days
100 9.49 days
60 15.53 days
30 31.06 days
10 85.42 days

To provide meaningful guidance about performance, the following sections describe how to determine when to use the Amazon Snowball Edge device and how to get the most out of the service.

Performance Recommendations

The following practices are highly recommended, because they have the largest impact on improving the performance of your data transfer:

  • We recommend that you have no more than 500,000 files or directories within each directory.

  • We recommend that all files transferred to a Snowball Edge device be no smaller than 1 MB in size.

  • If you have many files smaller than 1 MB in size, we recommend that you zip them up into larger archives before transferring them onto a Snowball Edge device.

Speeding Up Data Transfer

One of the major ways that you can improve the performance of an Amazon Snowball Edge device is to speed up the transfer of data going to and from a device. In general, you can improve the transfer speed from your data source to the device in the following ways. This following list is ordered from largest to smallest positive impact on performance:

  1. Perform multiple write operations at one time – To do this, run each command from multiple terminal windows on a computer with a network connection to a single Amazon Snowball Edge device.

  2. Transfer small files in batches – Each copy operation has some overhead because of encryption. To speed up the process, batch files together in a single archive. When you batch files together, they can be auto-extracted when they are imported into Amazon S3. For more information, see Batching Small Files.

  3. Don't perform other operations on files during transfer – Renaming files during transfer, changing their metadata, or writing data to the files during a copy operation has a negative impact on transfer performance. We recommend that your files remain in a static state while you transfer them.

  4. Reduce local network use – Your Amazon Snowball Edge device communicates across your local network. So you can improve data transfer speeds by reducing other local network traffic between the Amazon Snowball Edge device, the switch it's connected to, and the computer that hosts your data source.

  5. Eliminate unnecessary hops – We recommend that you set up your Amazon Snowball Edge device, your data source, and the computer running the terminal connection between them so that they're the only machines communicating across a single switch. Doing so can improve data transfer speeds.

Note

The data transfer rate using the file interface is typically between 25 MB/s and 40 MB/s. If you need to transfer data faster than this, use the Amazon S3 interface, which has a data transfer rate typically between 250 MB/s and 400 MB/s. For more information about using the file interface, see Transferring Files to Amazon Snowball Edge Using the File Interface. For more information about using the Amazon S3 interface, see Transferring Files Using the Amazon S3 Interface.

性能 - Amazon Snowball Edge 开发人员指南
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

性能

以下您可以找到以下内容的建议和信息:Amazon Snowball Edge设备性能。此部分简要介绍了性能,因为本地环境的运营方式各不相同:不同的网络技术、不同的硬件、不同的操作系统、不同的过程等。

下表概述了您的网络传输速率如何影响向 Snowball Edge 设备填充数据所需的时间。传输较小的文件由于开销增加,可以降低传输速度。如果您有很多小文件,则建议您在将这些文件传输到 Snowball Edge 设备之前将它们打包为较大的存档。

速率 (MB/s) 82 TB 传输时间
800 1.22 天
450 2.11 天
400 2.37 天
300 3.16 天
277 3.42 天
200 4.75 天
100 9.49 天
60 15.53 天
30 31.06 天
10 85.42 天

为了提供有关性能的有用指导信息,以下部分介绍如何确定何时使用Amazon Snowball Edge设备以及如何充分利用此服务。

性能建议

强烈建议采纳以下实践,因为这些实践对提高数据传输性能产生的影响最大:

  • 建议每个目录包含的文件或目录数不超过 500,000 个。

  • 建议传输到 Snowball Edge 设备的所有文件的大小不小于 1 MB。

  • 如果您有很多文件的大小小于 1 MB,则建议您在将这些文件传输到 Snowball Edge 设备之前将它们打包为较大的存档。

加快数据传输速度

能够提升性能的主要方法之一Amazon Snowball Edge设备的目的是加快数据传入和传出设备的速度。一般来说,您可通过以下方法加快数据从数据源到设备的传输速度。以下列表对性能的积极影响从最大到最小的顺序排列:

  1. 一次执行多个写操作— 为此,请在与单个有网络连接的计算机上的多个终端窗口中运行每个命令Amazon Snowball Edge设备。

  2. 批量传输小文件— 由于加密,每个复制操作都会产生一些开销。为加快此过程,请将文件批量传输到单个存档文件中。批量处理文件时,在将这些文件导入到 Amazon S3 中时可以进行自动提取。有关更多信息,请参阅 批量处理小文件

  3. 传输期间不要对文件执行其他操作— 在传输过程中重命名文件,更改其元数据,或在执行复制操作期间在文件中写入数据,都会对传输性能产生负面影响。我们建议您在传输文件时将文件保持静态。

  4. 减少本地网络使用— 您的Amazon Snowball Edge设备在您的本地网络中进行通信。因此,您可以通过减少在Amazon Snowball Edge设备、连接到的交换机和承载您的数据源的计算机。

  5. 消除不必要的跳— 我们建议您设置Amazon Snowball Edge设备、数据源以及在其之间运行终端连接的计算机,使其成为通过单个交换机通信的仅有计算机。这样做可以提高数据传输速度。

注意

使用文件接口的数据传输速率通常在 25 MB/s 到 40 MB/s 之间。如果您需要传输数据的速度超过此值,请使用 Amazon S3 接口,该接口的数据传输速率通常介于 250 MB/s 和 400 MB/s 之间。有关使用文件接口的更多信息,请参阅使用文件界面将文件传输到 Amazon Snowball Edge. 有关使用 Amazon S3 接口的更多信息,请参阅使用 Amazon S3 接口传输文件.