What Is Amazon Snowcone? - Amazon Snowcone User Guide
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

What Is Amazon Snowcone?

Amazon Snowcone is a portable, rugged, and secure device for edge computing and data transfer. You can use a Snowcone device to collect, process, and move data to the Amazon Web Services Cloud, either offline by shipping the device to Amazon, or online by using Amazon DataSync.

It can be challenging to run applications in austere (non–data center) edge environments, or where there is a lack of consistent network connectivity. These locations often lack the space, power, and cooling needed for data center IT equipment.

Snowcone is available in two flavors:

  • Snowcone – Snowcone has two vCPUs, 4 GB of memory, and 8 TB of hard disk drive (HDD) based storage.

  • Snowcone SSD – Snowcone SSD has two vCPUs, 4 GB of memory, and 14 TB of solid state drive (SSD) based storage.

With two CPUs and terabytes of storage, a Snowcone device can run edge computing workloads that use Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances and store data securely.

Snowcone devices are small (8.94” x 5.85” x 3.25” / 227 mm x 148.6 mm x 82.65 mm), so they can be placed next to machinery in a factory to collect, format, and transport data back to Amazon for storage and analysis. A Snowcone device weighs about 4.5 lbs. (2 kg), so you can carry one in a backpack, use it with battery-based operation, and use the Wi-Fi interface to gather sensor data.

Note

Wi-Fi is available only in Amazon Web Services Regions in North America.

Snowcone devices offer a file interface with Network File System (NFS) support. Snowcone devices support data transfer from on-premises Windows, Linux, and macOS servers and file-based applications through the NFS interface.

Like Amazon Snowball, Amazon Snowcone has multiple layers of security encryption capabilities. You can use either of these services to collect, process, and transfer data to Amazon, and run edge computing workloads that use Amazon EC2 instances. Snowcone is designed for data migration needs up to dozens of terabytes. It can be used in space-constrained environments where Snowball Edge devices don't fit.

Use Cases

You can use Amazon Snowcone devices for the following use cases:

  • For edge computing applications, to collect data, process the data to gain immediate insight, and then transfer the data online to Amazon.

  • To transfer data that is continuously generated by sensors or machines online to Amazon in a factory or at other edge locations.

  • To distribute media, scientific, or other content from Amazon storage services to your partners and customers.

  • To aggregate content by transferring media, scientific, or other content from your edge locations to Amazon.

  • For one-time data migration scenarios where your data is ready to be transferred, Snowcone offers a quick and low-cost way to transfer up to 8 TB or 14 TB of data to the Amazon Web Services Cloud by shipping the device back to Amazon.

For mobile deployments, a Snowcone device can run on specified battery power. For a light workload at 25 percent CPU usage, the device can run on a battery for up to approximately 6 hours. You can use the Wi-Fi interface on your Snowcone device to collect data from wireless sensors. An Amazon Snowcone device is low power, portable, lightweight, and vibration resistant, so you can use it in a wide variety of remote and austere locations.

Note

Wi-Fi is available only in Amazon Web Services Regions in North America.

Pricing

You can order a Snowcone device for pay per use and keep the device for up to four years. For information about Amazon Snowcone pricing and fees, see Amazon Snowcone pricing.

什么是 Amazon Snowcone? - Amazon Snowcone 用户指南
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

什么是 Amazon Snowcone?

Amazon Snowcone 是一款便携、坚固且安全的设备,用于边缘计算和数据传输。您可以使用 Snowcone 设备收集、处理数据并将其移动到 Amazon Web Services 云,可以通过将设备运输到 Amazon 以离线方式实现,也可以通过在线方式使用 Amazon DataSync 实现。

在条件有限(非数据中心)的边缘环境,或者网络连接不稳定的地方运行应用程序可能具有挑战性。这些地点通常缺乏数据中心 IT 设备所需的空间、电力和冷却能力。

Snowcone 提供两个版本:

  • Snowcone – Snowcone 有 2 个 vCPU、4 GB 内存和 8 TB 基于硬盘驱动器 (HDD) 的存储。

  • Snowcone SSD – Snowcone SSD 有 2 个 vCPU、4 GB 内存和 14 TB 基于固态驱动器 (SSD) 的存储。

利用其 2 个 CPU 和 TB 级的存储空间,Snowcone 可以运行 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例的边缘计算工作负载,并安全地存储数据。

Snowcone 设备体积小巧 (8.94” x 5.85” x 3.25” / 227 mm x 148.6 mm x 82.65 mm),因此它们可以放在工厂的机械旁边,用于收集、格式化数据,并将数据传输回 Amazon 进行存储和分析。Snowcone 设备的重量约为 4.5 磅(2 千克),因此您可以将其放在背包中,利用电池运行该设备,并使用 Wi-Fi 接口收集传感器数据。

注意

Wi-Fi 仅在北美地区的 Amazon Web Services 区域可用。

Snowcone 设备支持网络文件系统 (NFS) 的文件接口。Snowcone 设备支持通过 NFS 接口从本地 Windows、Linux 和 macOS 服务器以及基于文件的应用程序传输数据。

类似于 Amazon Snowball,Amazon Snowcone 具有多层安全加密功能。您可以使用其中任何一项服务来收集、处理数据,并将数据传输到 Amazon,还可以运行使用兼容 Amazon EC2 实例的工作负载。Snowcone 可满足高达数十 TB 数据的迁移需求,在 Snowball Edge 设备难以适用的空间受限环境中,Snowcone 可以发挥其作用。

使用案例

您可将 Amazon Snowcone 设备用于以下用例:

  • 对于边缘计算应用程序,收集数据、处理数据,从而获得即时见解,然后将数据在线传输到 Amazon。

  • 将传感器或计算机连续在线生成的数据传输到位于工厂中或其他边缘站点的 Amazon。

  • 从 Amazon 存储服务向合作伙伴和客户分发媒体、科学等内容。

  • 通过将媒体、科学等内容从边缘站点传输到 Amazon 来汇总内容。

  • 对于数据已准备好传输的一次性数据迁移场景,Snowcone 通过将设备寄回 Amazon,提供了一种快速且低成本的方式来将最高 8 TB 或 14 TB 的数据传输到 Amazon Web Services 云。

对于移动部署,Snowcone 设备可以使用指定的电池电源运行。对于 CPU 使用率为 25% 的轻型工作负载,该设备最多可以使用电池运行大约 6 小时。您可以使用 Snowcone 设备上的 Wi-Fi 接口从无线传感器接收数据。Amazon Snowcone 设备功耗低、便于携带、重量轻且耐振动,可供您在各类位置偏远且条件严苛的环境中使用。

注意

Wi-Fi 仅在北美地区的 Amazon Web Services 区域可用。

定价

您可以按使用量付费订购 Snowcone 设备,并最长可将设备保留四年。有关 Amazon Snowcone 定价和费用的信息,请参阅 Amazon Snowcone 定价