What are Amazon WAF, Amazon Shield, and Amazon Firewall Manager? - Amazon WAF, Amazon Firewall Manager, and Amazon Shield Advanced
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

What are Amazon WAF, Amazon Shield, and Amazon Firewall Manager?

You can use Amazon WAF, Amazon Shield, and Amazon Firewall Manager together to create a comprehensive security solution. Amazon WAF is a web application firewall that you can use to monitor web requests that your end users send to your applications and to control access to your content. Amazon Shield provides protection against distributed denial of service (DDoS) attacks for Amazon resources, at the network and transport layers (layer 3 and 4) and the application layer (layer 7). Amazon Firewall Manager provides management of protections like Amazon WAF and Shield Advanced across accounts and resources, even as new resources are added.

Amazon WAF

Amazon WAF is a web application firewall that lets you monitor the HTTP and HTTPS requests that are forwarded to your protected web application resources. You can protect the following resource types:

  • Amazon CloudFront distribution

  • Amazon API Gateway REST API

  • Application Load Balancer

  • Amazon AppSync GraphQL API

  • Amazon Cognito user pool

  • Amazon App Runner service

  • Amazon Verified Access instance

Amazon WAF lets you control access to your content. Based on conditions that you specify, such as the IP addresses that requests originate from or the values of query strings, your protected resource responds to requests either with the requested content, with an HTTP 403 status code (Forbidden), or with a custom response.

At the simplest level, Amazon WAF lets you choose one of the following behaviors:

  • Allow all requests except the ones that you specify – This is useful when you want Amazon CloudFront, Amazon API Gateway, Application Load Balancer, Amazon AppSync, Amazon Cognito, Amazon App Runner, or Amazon Verified Access to serve content for a public website, but you also want to block requests from attackers.

  • Block all requests except the ones that you specify – This is useful when you want to serve content for a restricted website whose users are readily identifiable by properties in web requests, such as the IP addresses that they use to browse to the website.

  • Count requests that match your criteria – You can use the Count action to track your web traffic without modifying how you handle it. You can use this for general monitoring and also to test your new web request handling rules. When you want to allow or block requests based on new properties in the web requests, you can first configure Amazon WAF to count the requests that match those properties. This lets you confirm your new configuration settings before you switch your rules to allow or block matching requests.

  • Run CAPTCHA or challenge checks against requests that match your criteria – You can implement CAPTCHA and silent challenge controls against requests to help reduce bot traffic to your protected resources.

Using Amazon WAF has several benefits:

  • Additional protection against web attacks using criteria that you specify. You can define criteria using characteristics of web requests such as the following:

    • IP addresses that requests originate from.

    • Country that requests originate from.

    • Values in request headers.

    • Strings that appear in requests, either specific strings or strings that match regular expression (regex) patterns.

    • Length of requests.

    • Presence of SQL code that is likely to be malicious (known as SQL injection).

    • Presence of a script that is likely to be malicious (known as cross-site scripting).

  • Rules that can allow, block, or count web requests that meet the specified criteria. Alternatively, rules can block or count web requests that not only meet the specified criteria, but also exceed a specified number of requests in any 5-minute period.

  • Rules that you can reuse for multiple web applications.

  • Managed rule groups from Amazon and Amazon Web Services Marketplace sellers.

  • Real-time metrics and sampled web requests.

  • Automated administration using the Amazon WAF API.

If you want granular control over the protections that you add to your resources, Amazon WAF alone might be the right choice. For more information about Amazon WAF, see Amazon WAF.

Amazon Shield

You can use Amazon WAF web access control lists (web ACLs) to help minimize the effects of a Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS) attack. For additional protection against DDoS attacks, Amazon also provides Amazon Shield Standard and Amazon Shield Advanced. Amazon Shield Standard is automatically included at no extra cost beyond what you already pay for Amazon WAF and your other Amazon services.

Amazon Shield Advanced provides expanded DDoS attack protection for your Amazon EC2 instances, Elastic Load Balancing load balancers, CloudFront distributions, Route 53 hosted zones, and Amazon Global Accelerator standard accelerators. Amazon Shield Advanced incurs additional charges. Shield Advanced options and features include automatic application layer DDoS mitigation, advanced event visibility, and dedicated support from the Shield Response Team (SRT). If you own high visibility websites or are otherwise prone to frequent DDoS attacks, consider purchasing the additional protections that Shield Advanced provides. For additional information, see Amazon Shield Advanced capabilities and options and Deciding whether to subscribe to Amazon Shield Advanced and apply additional protections.

Amazon Firewall Manager

Amazon Firewall Manager simplifies your administration and maintenance tasks across multiple accounts and resources for a variety of protections, including Amazon WAF, Amazon Shield Advanced, Amazon VPC security groups, Amazon Network Firewall, and Amazon Route 53 Resolver DNS Firewall. With Firewall Manager, you set up your protections just once and the service automatically applies them across your accounts and resources, even as you add new accounts and resources.

For more information about Firewall Manager, see Amazon Firewall Manager.

什么是 Amazon WAF、Amazon Shield 和 Amazon Firewall Manager? - Amazon WAF、Amazon Firewall Manager 和 Amazon Shield Advanced
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

什么是 Amazon WAF、Amazon Shield 和 Amazon Firewall Manager?

您可以结合使用 Amazon WAFAmazon ShieldAmazon Firewall Manager 来创建全面的安全解决方案。Amazon WAF 是一个 Web 应用程序防火墙,可以监视最终用户发送到应用程序的 Web 请求,并控制对内容的访问。Amazon Shield 在网络和传输层(第 3 层和第 4 层)以及应用程序层(第 7 层)提供针对 Amazon 资源的分布式拒绝服务 (DDoS) 攻击的保护。Amazon Firewall Manager 即使添加了新资源,也可跨账户和资源管理 Amazon WAF 和 Shield Advanced 等保护。

Amazon WAF

Amazon WAF 是一种 Web 应用程序防火墙,让您能够监控转发到受保护 Web 应用程序资源的 HTTP 和 HTTPS 请求。您可以保护以下资源类型:

  • 亚马逊 CloudFront 配送

  • Amazon API Gateway REST API

  • 应用程序负载均衡器

  • Amazon AppSync GraphQL API

  • Amazon Cognito 用户池

  • Amazon App Runner 服务

  • Amazon 已验证访问实例

利用 Amazon WAF 您可控制对您的内容的访问。根据指定的条件(如请求源自的 IP 地址或查询字符串的值),受保护资源会使用所请求的内容或者使用 HTTP 状态代码 403(禁止)或自定义响应来响应请求。

在最基本的情况下,Amazon WAF 允许您选择以下行为之一:

  • 允许除您指定的请求之外的所有请求 — 如果您想让 Amazon CloudFront、Amazon API Gateway、Application Load Balancer Amazon AppSync Amazon App Runner、Amazon Cognito 或Amazon已验证访问权限为公共网站提供内容,但又想阻止攻击者的请求时,这很有用。

  • 阻止您指定的请求之外的所有请求 当您要为其用户可通过 Web 请求中的属性(如他们用于浏览网站的 IP 地址)轻松识别的受限网站提供内容时,此行为很有用。

  • 统计符合您条件的请求:您可以使用 Count 操作来跟踪您的 Web 流量,而无需修改处理方式。您可以用它来进行常规监控,也可以用来测试您的新 Web 请求处理规则。当您要根据 Web 请求中的新属性允许或阻止请求时,首先可将 Amazon WAF 配置为对与属性匹配的请求计数。这样,您就可以在将规则切换为允许或阻止匹配请求之前确认新的配置设置。

  • 对符合您条件的请求运行验证码或质询检查:您可以对请求实施验证码和静默质询控制,以帮助减少机器人流向受保护资源的流量。

使用 Amazon WAF 有几个优势:

  • 使用您指定的条件针对 Web 攻击提供额外保护。您可以使用 Web 请求的如下特征来定义条件:

    • 请求源自的 IP 地址。

    • 请求源自的国家/地区。

    • 请求标头中的值。

    • 出现在请求中的字符串 (特定字符串或与正则表达式 (regex) 模式匹配的字符串)。

    • 请求的长度。

    • 存在可能是恶意的 SQL 代码 (称为 SQL 注入)。

    • 存在可能是恶意的脚本 (称为跨站点脚本)。

  • 规则可以允许、阻止或统计满足指定条件的 Web 请求。或者,规则可以阻止或统计不仅满足指定条件,还在任何 5 分钟周期内超过指定请求数的 Web 请求。

  • 可以重复用于多个 Web 应用程序的规则。

  • 来自 Amazon 和 Amazon Web Services Marketplace 卖家的托管规则组。

  • 实时指标和采样的 Web 请求。

  • 使用 Amazon WAF API 的自动化管理。

如果您希望对添加到您的资源的保护进行精细控制,单独使用 Amazon WAF 可能是正确的选择。有关 Amazon WAF 的更多信息,请参阅Amazon WAF

Amazon Shield

您可以使用 Amazon WAF Web 访问控制列表 (Web ACL) 来帮助最大程度地降低分布式拒绝服务 (DDoS) 攻击的影响。为增加对 DDoS 攻击的防护,Amazon 还提供了 Amazon Shield Standard 和 Amazon Shield Advanced。Amazon Shield Standard 是自动包含的,除了已为 Amazon WAF 和其他 Amazon 服务支付的费用外,无任何附加成本。

Amazon Shield Advanced为您的 Amazon EC2 实例、Elastic Load Balancing 负载均衡器、 CloudFront 分配、Route 53 托管区域和Amazon Global Accelerator标准加速器提供扩展的 DDoS 攻击保护。 Amazon Shield Advanced会产生额外费用。Shield Advanced 选项和功能包括应用程序层 DDoS 自动缓解、高级事件可见性以及 Shield Response Team (SRT) 的专门支持。如果您拥有高可见性网站或容易遭受频繁的 DDoS 攻击,请考虑购买 Shield Advanced 提供的额外保护。有关其他信息,请参阅Amazon Shield Advanced 功能和选项决定是否订阅 Amazon Shield Advanced 和应用其他保护

Amazon Firewall Manager

Amazon Firewall Manager 简化了多个账户和资源的管理和维护任务,包括 Amazon WAF、Amazon Shield Advanced、Amazon VPC 安全组、Amazon Network Firewall 和 Amazon Route 53 Resolver DNS Firewall,以提供各种保护。使用 Firewall Manager 一次设置好保护措施,该服务就会自动将其应用于您的账户和资源,即使添加新资源和账户时也是如此。

有关 Firewall Manager 的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Firewall Manager