Add annotations and metadata to segments with the X-Ray SDK for .NET - Amazon X-Ray
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Add annotations and metadata to segments with the X-Ray SDK for .NET

You can use annotations and metadata to record additional information about requests, the environment, or your application. You can add annotations and metadata to the segments that the X-Ray SDK creates, or to custom subsegments that you create.

Annotations are key-value pairs with string, number, or Boolean values. Annotations are indexed for use with filter expressions. Use annotations to record data that you want to use to group traces in the console, or when calling the GetTraceSummaries API.

Metadata are key-value pairs that can have values of any type, including objects and lists, but are not indexed for use with filter expressions. Use metadata to record additional data that you want stored in the trace but don't need to use with search.

Recording annotations with the X-Ray SDK for .NET

Use annotations to record information on segments or subsegments that you want indexed for search.

The following are required for all annotations in X-Ray:

Annotation Requirements
  • Keys – The key for an X-Ray annotation can have up to 500 alphanumeric characters. You cannot use spaces or symbols other than the underscore symbol (_).

  • Values – The value for an X-Ray annotation can have up to 1,000 Unicode characters.

  • The number of Annotations – You can use up to 50 annotations per trace.

To record annotations outside of a Amazon Lambda function
  1. Get an instance of AWSXRayRecorder.

    using Amazon.XRay.Recorder.Core; ... AWSXRayRecorder recorder = AWSXRayRecorder.Instance;
  2. Call addAnnotation with a String key and a Boolean, Int32, Int64, Double, or String value.

    recorder.AddAnnotation("mykey", "my value");
To record annotations inside of a Amazon Lambda function

Both segments and subsegments inside a Lambda function are managed by the Lambda runtime environment. If you want to add an annotation to a segment or subsegment inside a Lambda function, you must do the following:

  1. Create the segment or subsegment inside the Lambda function.

  2. Add the annotation to the segment or subsegment.

  3. End the segment or subsegment.

The following code example shows you how to add an annotation to a subsegment inside a Lambda function:

#Create the subsegment AWSXRayRecorder.Instance.BeginSubsegment("custom method"); #Add an annotation AWSXRayRecorder.Instance.AddAnnotation("My", "Annotation"); try { YourProcess(); #Your function } catch (Exception e) { AWSXRayRecorder.Instance.AddException(e); } finally #End the subsegment { AWSXRayRecorder.Instance.EndSubsegment(); }

The X-Ray SDK records annotations as key-value pairs in an annotations object in the segment document. Calling the addAnnotation operation twice with the same key overwrites a previously recorded value on the same segment or subsegment.

To find traces that have annotations with specific values, use the annotations.key keyword in a filter expression. For more information, see Use filter expressions.

Recording metadata with the X-Ray SDK for .NET

Use metadata to record information on segments or subsegments that you don't need to index for use inside a search. Metadata values can be strings, numbers, booleans, or any other object that can be serialized into a JSON object or array.

To record metadata
  1. Get an instance of AWSXRayRecorder, as shown in the following code example:

    using Amazon.XRay.Recorder.Core; ... AWSXRayRecorder recorder = AWSXRayRecorder.Instance;
  2. Call AddMetadata with a string namespace, string key, and an object value, as shown in the following code example:

    recorder.AddMetadata("my namespace", "my key", "my value");

    You can also call the AddMetadata operation using just a key and value pair, as shown in the following code example:

    recorder.AddMetadata("my key", "my value");

If you don't specify a value for the namespace, the X-Ray SDK uses default. Calling the AddMetadata operation twice with the same key overwrites a previously recorded value on the same segment or subsegment.

使用适用于 .NET 的 X-Ray 开发工具包将注释和元数据添加到分段 - Amazon X-Ray
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

使用适用于 .NET 的 X-Ray 开发工具包将注释和元数据添加到分段

您可以使用注释和元数据记录有关请求、环境或应用程序的其他信息。您可以将注释和元数据添加到 X-Ray 开发工具包创建的分段或您创建的自定义子分段中。

注释是带字符串、数字或布尔值的键值对。系统会对注释编制索引,以便与筛选表达式。使用注释记录要用于对控制台中的跟踪进行分组的数据或在调用 GetTraceSummaries API 时使用的数据。

元数据是密钥-值对,它们可以具有任何类型的值(包括对象和列表),但没有编制索引以便与筛选条件表达式一起使用。使用元数据记录要存储在跟踪中但不需要与搜索一起使用的其他数据。

使用适用于 .NET 的 X-Ray 开发工具包记录注释

使用注释记录有关要为其编制索引以进行搜索的分段和子分段的信息。

注释要求

  • — 最多 500 个字母数字字符。无空格或符号,下划线除外。

  • — 最多 1000 个 Unicode 字符。

  • Entries— 每个跟踪最多 50 个注释。

记录注释

  1. 获取 AWSXRayRecorder 的实例。

    using Amazon.XRay.Recorder.Core; ... AWSXRayRecorder recorder = AWSXRayRecorder.Instance;
  2. 使用字符串键和布尔型、Int32、Int64、双精度或字符串值调用 addAnnotation

    recorder.AddAnnotation("mykey", "my value");

开发工具包记录注释作为键值对annotations对象中的区段文档。使用相同键调用两次 addAnnotation 将覆盖同一分段或子分段上之前记录的值。

要查找具有带特定值的注释的跟踪,请在annotations.key筛选表达式中使用 关键字。

使用适用于 .NET 的 X-Ray 开发工具包记录元数据

使用元数据记录有关您无需为其编制索引以进行搜索的分段或子分段的信息。元数据值可以是字符串、数字、布尔值或可序列化为 JSON 对象或数组的任何其他对象。

记录元数据

  1. 获取 AWSXRayRecorder 的实例。

    using Amazon.XRay.Recorder.Core; ... AWSXRayRecorder recorder = AWSXRayRecorder.Instance;
  2. 使用字符串命名空间、字符串键和对象值调用 AddMetadata

    segment.AddMetadata("my namespace", "my key", "my value");

    或者

    调用仅带有键和值的 putMetadata

    segment.AddMetadata("my key", "my value");

如果您没有指定命名空间,则开发工具包将使用default。使用相同键调用两次 AddMetadata 将覆盖同一分段或子分段上之前记录的值。