Dedicated Hosts - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Dedicated Hosts

An Amazon EC2 Dedicated Host is a physical server with EC2 instance capacity fully dedicated to your use. Dedicated Hosts allow you to use your existing per-socket, per-core, or per-VM software licenses, including Windows Server, Microsoft SQL Server, SUSE, and Linux Enterprise Server.

For more information, see Dedicated Hosts.

Differences between Dedicated Hosts and Dedicated Instances

Dedicated Hosts and Dedicated Instances can both be used to launch Amazon EC2 instances onto physical servers that are dedicated for your use.

There are no performance, security, or physical differences between Dedicated Instances and instances on Dedicated Hosts. However, there are some differences between the two. The following table highlights some of the key differences between Dedicated Hosts and Dedicated Instances:

Dedicated Host Dedicated Instance

Billing

Per-host billing

Per-instance billing

Visibility of sockets, cores, and host ID

Provides visibility of the number of sockets and physical cores

No visibility

Host and instance affinity

Allows you to consistently deploy your instances to the same physical server over time

Not supported

Targeted instance placement

Provides additional visibility and control over how instances are placed on a physical server

Not supported

Automatic instance recovery

Supported. For more information, see Host recovery.

Supported

Bring Your Own License (BYOL)

Supported

Not supported

Bring your own license

Dedicated Hosts allow you to use your existing per-socket, per-core, or per-VM software licenses. When you bring your own license, you are responsible for managing your own licenses. However, Amazon EC2 has features that help you maintain license compliance, such as instance affinity and targeted placement.

These are the general steps to follow in order to bring your own volume licensed machine image into Amazon EC2.

  1. Verify that the license terms controlling the use of your machine images allow usage in a virtualized cloud environment.

  2. After you have verified that your machine image can be used within Amazon EC2, import it using VM Import/Export. For information about how to import your machine image, see the VM Import/Export User Guide.

  3. After you import your machine image, you can launch instances from it onto active Dedicated Hosts in your account.

  4. When you run these instances, depending on the operating system, you might be required to activate these instances against your own KMS server.

Note

To track how your images are used in Amazon, enable host recording in Amazon Config. You can use Amazon Config to record configuration changes to a Dedicated Host and use the output as a data source for license reporting. For more information, see Track configuration changes.

Dedicated Host instance capacity

Support for multiple instance sizes on the same Dedicated Host is available for the following instance families: A1, C5, M5, R5, C5n, R5n, and M5n. Other instance families support only a single instance size on the same Dedicated Host.

For example, when you allocate an R5 Dedicated Host, it has 2 sockets and 48 physical cores on which you can run different instance sizes, such as r5.2xlarge and r5.4xlarge, up to the core capacity associated with the host. However, for each instance family, there is a limit on the number of instances that can be run for each instance size. For example, an R5 Dedicated Host supports up to 2 r5.8xlarge instances, which uses 32 of the physical cores. Additional R5 instances of another size can then be used to fill the host to core capacity.

The following table shows examples of different instance size combinations that you can run on a Dedicated Host.

Instance family Example instance size combinations

R5

  • Example 1: 4 x r5.4xlarge + 4 x r5.2xlarge

  • Example 2: 1 x r5.12xlarge + 1 x r5.4xlarge + 1 x r5.2xlarge + 5 x r5.xlarge + 2 x r5.large

C5

  • Example 1: 1 x c5.9xlarge + 2 x c5.4xlarge + 1 x c5.xlarge

  • Example 2: 4 x c5.4xlarge + 1 x c5.xlarge + 2 x c5.large

M5

  • Example 1: 4 x m5.4xlarge + 4 x m5.2xlarge

  • Example 2: 1 x m5.12xlarge + 1 x m5.4xlarge + 1 x m5.2xlarge + 5 x m5.xlarge + 2 x m5.large

Dedicated Hosts restrictions

Before you allocate Dedicated Hosts, take note of the following limitations and restrictions:

  • To run RHEL, SUSE Linux, and SQL Server on Dedicated Hosts, you must bring your own AMIs. RHEL, SUSE Linux, and SQL Server AMIs that are offered by Amazon or that are available on Amazon Web Services Marketplace can't be used with Dedicated Hosts. For more information on how to create your own AMI, see Bring your own license.

    This restriction does not apply to hosts allocated for high memory instances (u-6tb1.metal, u-9tb1.metal, u-12tb1.metal, u-18tb1.metal, and u-24tb1.metal). RHEL and SUSE Linux AMIs that are offered by Amazon or that are available on Amazon Web Services Marketplace can be used with these hosts.

  • Up to two On-Demand Dedicated Hosts per instance family, per Region can be allocated. It is possible to request a limit increase: Request to Raise Allocation Limit on Amazon EC2 Dedicated Hosts.

  • The instances that run on a Dedicated Host can only be launched in a VPC.

  • Auto Scaling groups are supported when using a launch template that specifies a host resource group. For more information, see Creating a Launch Template for an Auto Scaling Group in the Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling User Guide.

  • Amazon RDS instances are not supported.

  • The Amazon Free Usage tier is not available for Dedicated Hosts.

  • Instance placement control refers to managing instance launches onto Dedicated Hosts. You cannot launch Dedicated Hosts into placement groups.

Pricing and billing

The price for a Dedicated Host varies by payment option. For more information, see Amazon EC2 Dedicated Host Pricing.

On-Demand Dedicated Hosts

On-Demand billing is automatically activated when you allocate a Dedicated Host to your account.

The On-Demand price for a Dedicated Host varies by instance family and Region. You pay per second (with a minimum of 60 seconds) for active Dedicated Host, regardless of the quantity or the size of instances that you choose to launch on it.

You can release an On-Demand Dedicated Host at any time to stop accruing charges for it. For information about releasing a Dedicated Host, see Release Dedicated Hosts.

Dedicated Host Reservations

Dedicated Host Reservations provide a billing discount compared to running On-Demand Dedicated Hosts. Reservations are available in three payment options:

  • No Upfront—No Upfront Reservations provide you with a discount on your Dedicated Host usage over a term and do not require an upfront payment. Available in one-year and three-year terms. Only some instance families support the three-year term for No Upfront Reservations.

  • Partial Upfront—A portion of the reservation must be paid upfront and the remaining hours in the term are billed at a discounted rate. Available in one-year and three-year terms.

  • All Upfront—Provides the lowest effective price. Available in one-year and three-year terms and covers the entire cost of the term upfront, with no additional future charges.

You must have active Dedicated Hosts in your account before you can purchase reservations. Each reservation can cover one or more hosts that support the same instance family in a single Availability Zone. Reservations are applied to the instance family on the host, not the instance size. If you have three Dedicated Hosts with different instances sizes (m4.xlarge, m4.medium, and m4.large) you can associate a single m4 reservation with all those Dedicated Hosts. The instance family and Availability Zone of the reservation must match that of the Dedicated Hosts you want to associate it with.

When a reservation is associated with a Dedicated Host, the Dedicated Host can't be released until the reservation's term is over.

专用主机 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

专用主机

Amazon EC2 专用主机是指 EC2 实例容量完全转供您专用的物理服务器。专用主机允许您使用按插槽、按内核或按虚拟机授权的现有软件许可证,包括 Windows Server、Microsoft SQL Server、SUSE 和 Linux Enterprise Server。

有关更多信息,请参阅专用主机

专用主机与专用实例的区别

专用主机和专用实例均可用于在专供您使用的物理服务器上启动 Amazon EC2 实例。

专用实例与专用主机上的实例在性能、安全性或物理特性方面没有区别。但是,这两者之间也存在一些差异。下表重点介绍专用主机和专用实例之间的一些重要区别:

Dedicated Host Dedicated Instance

账单

按主机计费

按实例计费

套接字、内核和主机 ID 的可见性

提供套接字数和物理内核数的可见性

无可见性

主机和实例关联

允许您在一段时间内将您的实例一致地部署到同一物理服务器

不支持

定向实例置放

提供额外可见性以及对在物理服务器上放置实例的方式的控制

不支持

自动实例恢复

支持。有关更多信息,请参阅主机恢复

支持

自带许可 (BYOL)

支持

不支持

自带许可

专用主机允许使用现有的按插槽、按内核或按虚拟机软件的许可证。如果自带许可,您有责任管理自己的许可证。不过,Amazon EC2 具有一些帮助您保持许可证合规性的功能,例如实例关联和定向置放。

要将您自己的卷许可的计算机镜像引入到 Amazon EC2 中,需要执行以下常规步骤。

  1. 验证控制您的系统映像使用的许可证条款是否允许在虚拟化云环境中使用系统映像。

  2. 在确认可在 Amazon EC2 中使用系统映像后,使用 VM Import/Export 导入该映像。有关如何导入系统映像的信息,请参阅 VM Import/Export 用户指南

  3. 在导入系统映像后,可以在您的账户中的活动专用主机上从该映像中启动实例。

  4. 在运行这些实例时,您可能需要针对自己的 KMS 服务器。

注意

要跟踪您的映像在 Amazon 中的使用方式,请在 Amazon Config 中启用主机记录。您可以使用 Amazon Config 来记录专用主机的配置更改并将输出用作许可证报告的数据源。有关更多信息,请参阅跟踪配置更改

专用主机实例容量

对同一 专用主机 上的多个实例大小的支持适用于以下实例系列:A1C5M5R5C5nR5nM5n。其他实例系列仅支持同一 专用主机 上的单个实例大小。

例如,当您分配 R5 专用主机 时,它有 2 个套接字和 48 个物理内核,您可以在其上运行不同的实例大小(例如 r5.2xlarger5.4xlarge),最多可运行与主机关联的内核容量。但是,对于每个实例系列,每个实例大小可以运行的实例数量都有限制。例如,R5 专用主机 支持最多 2 个 r5.8xlarge 实例,其中使用 32 个物理内核。然后,可以使用其他大小的另外 R5 个实例将主机填充到内核容量。

下表显示了您可以在 专用主机 上运行的不同实例大小组合的示例。

实例系列 实例大小组合示例

R5

  • 示例 1:4 x r5.4xlarge + 4 x r5.2xlarge

  • 示例 2:1 x r5.12xlarge + 1 x r5.4xlarge + 1 x r5.2xlarge + 5 x r5.xlarge + 2 x r5.large

C5

  • 示例 1:1 x c5.9xlarge + 2 x c5.4xlarge + 1 x c5.xlarge

  • 示例 2:4 x c5.4xlarge + 1 x c5.xlarge + 2 x c5.large

M5

  • 示例 1:4 x m5.4xlarge + 4 x m5.2xlarge

  • 示例 2:1 x m5.12xlarge + 1 x m5.4xlarge + 1 x m5.2xlarge + 5 x m5.xlarge + 2 x m5.large

专用主机 限制

在分配专用主机之前,请注意以下限制:

  • 要在专用主机上运行 RHEL、SUSE Linux 和 SQL Server,您必须自带 AMI。由Amazon提供或 Amazon Web Services Marketplace 上提供的 RHEL、SUSE Linux 和 SQL Server AMI 不可用于专用主机。有关如何创建自己的 AMI 的更多信息,请参阅自带许可

    此限制不适用于分配给高内存实例(u-6tb1.metalu-9tb1.metalu-12tb1.metalu-18tb1.metalu-24tb1.metal)的主机。由 Amazon 提供或在 Amazon Web Services Marketplace 上可用的 RHEL 和 SUSE Linux AMI 可以用于这些主机。

  • 最多可以为每个区域的每个实例系列分配两个按需专用主机。可以请求提高限制:请求提高 Amazon EC2 专用主机的分配限制

  • 在专用主机上运行的实例只能在 VPC 中启动。

  • 在使用指定主机资源组的启动模板时,支持 Auto Scaling 组。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 用户指南 中的为 Auto Scaling 组创建启动模板

  • 不支持 Amazon RDS 实例。

  • Amazon 免费使用套餐不适用于专用主机。

  • 实例置放控制是指管理专用主机中的实例启动。您无法在置放群组中启动专用主机。

定价和计费

专用主机的价格因付款选项而异。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EC2 专用主机定价

按需专用主机

按需计费在您将专用主机分配到您的账户时自动激活。

专用主机的按需价格因实例系列和区域而异。您需要为处于活动状态的专用主机按每秒支付费用(至少 60 秒),无论您选择在专用主机上启动的实例的数量或大小如何。

您可以随时释放按需专用主机以停止产生费用。有关释放专用主机的信息,请参阅版本 专用主机

Dedicated Host Reservations

与运行按需 专用主机 相比,专用主机预留 可提供账单折扣。预留提供三种付款选项:

  • 无预付费用 — 无预付费用预留为某个期限内的专用主机使用提供折扣,并且不需要预付款。可以选择一年或三年期限。只有一些实例系列支持三年期无预付预留。

  • 预付部分费用 — 必须支付一部分预留费用,期限内的剩余时间享受折扣。可以选择一年或三年期限。

  • 预付全费 — 提供最低的有效价格。提供一年和三年期限,覆盖整个前期费用,无需额外将来付费。

账户中必须有活动的专用主机才能购买预留。每个预留可以涵盖在单个可用区中支持同一实例系列的一个或多个主机。预留应用于主机上的实例系列,而不是实例大小。如果有三个不同实例大小的专用主机(m4.xlargem4.mediumm4.large),则可以将一个 m4 预留与所有这些专用主机关联。预留的实例系列和可用区必须与您希望与之关联的专用主机的实例系列和可用区相匹配。

当预留与专用主机关联后,将无法释放专用主机,直到预留期限结束。