Best practices for EC2 Spot - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Best practices for EC2 Spot

Amazon EC2 Spot Instances are spare EC2 compute capacity in the Amazon Web Services Cloud that are available to you at savings of up to 90% off compared to On-Demand prices. The only difference between On-Demand Instances and Spot Instances is that Spot Instances can be interrupted by Amazon EC2, with two minutes of notification, when Amazon EC2 needs the capacity back.

Spot Instances are recommended for stateless, fault-tolerant, flexible applications. For example, Spot Instances work well for big data, containerized workloads, CI/CD, stateless web servers, high performance computing (HPC), and rendering workloads.

While running, Spot Instances are exactly the same as On-Demand Instances. However, Spot does not guarantee that you can keep your running instances long enough to finish your workloads. Spot also does not guarantee that you can get immediate availability of the instances that you are looking for, or that you can always get the aggregate capacity that you requested. Moreover, Spot Instance interruptions and capacity can change over time because Spot Instance availability varies based on supply and demand, and past performance isn’t a guarantee of future results.

Spot Instances are not suitable for workloads that are inflexible, stateful, fault-intolerant, or tightly coupled between instance nodes. They're also not recommended for workloads that are intolerant of occasional periods when the target capacity is not completely available. We strongly warn against using Spot Instances for these workloads or attempting to fail-over to On-Demand Instances to handle interruptions.

Regardless of whether you're an experienced Spot user or new to Spot Instances, if you are currently experiencing issues with Spot Instance interruptions or availability, we recommend that you follow these best practices to have the best experience using the Spot service.

Prepare individual instances for interruptions

The best way for you to gracefully handle Spot Instance interruptions is to architect your application to be fault-tolerant. To accomplish this, you can take advantage of EC2 instance rebalance recommendations and Spot Instance interruption notices.

An EC2 Instance rebalance recommendation is a new signal that notifies you when a Spot Instance is at elevated risk of interruption. The signal gives you the opportunity to proactively manage the Spot Instance in advance of the two-minute Spot Instance interruption notice. You can decide to rebalance your workload to new or existing Spot Instances that are not at an elevated risk of interruption. We've made it easy for you to use this new signal by using the Capacity Rebalancing feature in Auto Scaling groups and Spot Fleet. For more information, see Use proactive capacity rebalancing.

A Spot Instance interruption notice is a warning that is issued two minutes before Amazon EC2 interrupts a Spot Instance. If your workload is "time-flexible," you can configure your Spot Instances to be stopped or hibernated, instead of being terminated, when they are interrupted. Amazon EC2 automatically stops or hibernates your Spot Instances on interruption, and automatically resumes the instances when we have available capacity.

We recommend that you create a rule in Amazon EventBridge that captures the rebalance recommendations and interruption notifications, and then triggers a checkpoint for the progress of your workload or gracefully handles the interruption. For more information, see Monitor rebalance recommendation signals. For a detailed example that walks you through how to create and use event rules, see Taking Advantage of Amazon EC2 Spot Instance Interruption Notices.

For more information, see EC2 instance rebalance recommendations and Spot Instance interruptions.

Be flexible about instance types and Availability Zones

A Spot capacity pool is a set of unused EC2 instances with the same instance type (for example, m5.large) and Availability Zone (for example, us-east-1a). You should be flexible about which instance types you request and in which Availability Zones you can deploy your workload. This gives Spot a better chance to find and allocate your required amount of compute capacity. For example, don't just ask for c5.large if you'd be willing to use larges from the c4, m5, and m4 families.

Depending on your specific needs, you can evaluate which instance types you can be flexible across to fulfill your compute requirements. If a workload can be vertically scaled, you should include larger instance types (more vCPUs and memory) in your requests. If you can only scale horizontally, you should include older generation instance types because they are less in demand from On-Demand customers.

A good rule of thumb is to be flexible across at least 10 instance types for each workload. In addition, make sure that all Availability Zones are configured for use in your VPC and selected for your workload.

Use EC2 Auto Scaling groups or Spot Fleet to manage your aggregate capacity

Spot enables you to think in terms of aggregate capacity—in units that include vCPUs, memory, storage, or network throughput—rather than thinking in terms of individual instances. Auto Scaling groups and Spot Fleet enable you to launch and maintain a target capacity, and to automatically request resources to replace any that are disrupted or manually terminated. When you configure an Auto Scaling group or a Spot Fleet, you need only specify the instance types and target capacity based on your application needs. For more information, see Auto Scaling groups in the Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling User Guide and Create a Spot Fleet request in this user guide.

Use the price and capacity optimized allocation strategy

Allocation strategies in Auto Scaling groups help you to provision your target capacity without the need to manually look for the Spot capacity pools with spare capacity. We recommend using the price-capacity-optimized strategy because this strategy automatically provisions instances from the most-available Spot capacity pools that also have the lowest possible price. You can also take advantage of the price-capacity-optimized allocation strategy in Spot Fleet. Because your Spot Instance capacity is sourced from pools with optimal capacity, this decreases the possibility that your Spot Instances are reclaimed. For more information about allocation strategies, see Spot Instances in the Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling User Guide and When workloads have a high cost of interruption in this user guide.

Use proactive capacity rebalancing

Capacity Rebalancing helps you maintain workload availability by proactively augmenting your fleet with a new Spot Instance before a running Spot Instance receives the two-minute Spot Instance interruption notice. When Capacity Rebalancing is enabled, Auto Scaling or Spot Fleet attempts to proactively replace Spot Instances that have received a rebalance recommendation, providing the opportunity to rebalance your workload to new Spot Instances that are not at elevated risk of interruption.

Capacity Rebalancing complements the price-capacity-optimized allocation strategy (which is designed to help find the most optimal spare capacity) and the mixed instances policy (which is designed to enhance availability by deploying instances across multiple instance types running in multiple Availability Zones).

For more information, see Capacity Rebalancing.

Use integrated Amazon services to manage your Spot Instances

Other Amazon services integrate with Spot to reduce overall compute costs without the need to manage the individual instances or fleets. We recommend that you consider the following solutions for your applicable workloads: Amazon EMR, Amazon Elastic Container Service, Amazon Batch, Amazon Elastic Kubernetes Service, Amazon SageMaker, Amazon Elastic Beanstalk, and Amazon GameLift. To learn more about Spot best practices with these services, see the Amazon EC2 Spot Instances Workshops Website.

Which is the best Spot request method to use?

Use the following table to determine which API to use when requesting Spot Instances.

API When to use? Use case Should I use this API?

CreateAutoScalingGroup

  • You need multiple instances with either a single configuration or a mixed configuration.

  • You want to automate the lifecycle management through a configurable API.

Create an Auto Scaling group that manages the lifecycle of your instances while maintaining the desired number of instances. Supports horizontal scaling (adding more instances) between specified minimum and maximum limits.

Yes
CreateFleet
  • You need multiple instances with either a single configuration or a mixed configuration.

  • You want to self-manage your instance lifecycle.

  • If you don’t need auto scaling, we recommend that you use an instant type fleet.

Create a fleet of both On-Demand Instances and Spot Instances in a single request, with multiple launch specifications that vary by instance type, AMI, Availability Zone, or subnet. The Spot Instance allocation strategy defaults to lowest-price per unit, but you can change it to price-capacity-optimized, capacity-optimized, or diversified.

Yes – in instant mode if you don’t need auto scaling

RunInstances
  • You're already using the RunInstances API to launch On-Demand Instances, and you simply want to change to launching Spot Instances by changing a single parameter.

  • You do not need multiple instances with different instance types.

Launch a specified number of instances using an AMI and one instance type.

No – because RunInstances does not allow mixed instance types in a single request

RequestSpotFleet
  • We strongly discourage using the RequestSpotFleet API because it is a legacy API with no planned investment.

  • If you want to manage your instance lifecycle, use the CreateFleet API.

  • If you don't want to manage your instance lifecycle, use the CreateAutoScalingGroup API.

DO NOT USE. RequestSpotFleet is legacy API with no planned investment.

No
RequestSpotInstances
  • We strongly discourage using the RequestSpotInstances API because it is a legacy API with no planned investment.

DO NOT USE. RequestSpotInstances is legacy API with no planned investment.

No

EC2 Spot 的最佳实践 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

EC2 Spot 的最佳实践

Amazon EC2 Spot 实例是 Amazon 云中的备用 EC2 计算容量,与按需实例价格相比,这种实例可以为您最多节省 90% 的成本。按需实例 和 Spot 实例之间的唯一区别是,当 Amazon EC2 再次需要使用容量时,Amazon EC2 可以中断 Spot 实例 并提前两分钟发出通知。

Spot 实例建议用于无状态、容错且灵活的应用程序。例如,Spot 实例非常适合大数据、容器化工作负载、CI/CD、无状态 Web 服务器、高性能计算 (HPC) 和渲染工作负载。

在运行时,Spot 实例与按需实例完全相同。不过,Spot 不能保证您可以将运行的实例保持足够长的时间以完成工作负载。Spot 也不能保证您可以立即使用查找的实例,或者不能保证您始终可以获得请求的总容量。此外,Spot 实例中断和容量可能会随着时间的推移而发生变化,因为 Spot 实例可用性根据供需关系而发生变化,过去的性能并不能保证将来的结果。

Spot 实例不适用于不灵活、有状态、非容错或在实例节点之间紧密耦合的工作负载。对于不能容忍目标容量偶尔不完全可用的工作负载,也不建议使用该实例。我们强烈警告您不要在这些工作负载中使用 Spot 实例或尝试故障转移到按需实例以处理中断。

无论您是经验丰富的 Spot 用户还是 Spot 实例新用户,如果您当前遇到 Spot 实例中断或可用性问题,我们建议您按照以下最佳实践以获得使用 Spot 服务的最佳体验。

准备各个实例以处理中断

正常处理 Spot 实例中断的最佳方法是,设计应用程序以提供容错能力。为此,您可以利用 EC2 实例再平衡建议和 Spot 实例中断通知。

EC2 实例再平衡建议是一个新信号,可在 Spot 实例处于较高的中断风险时通知您。该信号使您有机会在两分钟的 Spot 实例中断通知之前主动管理 Spot 实例。您可以决定将工作负载再平衡到不处于较高中断风险的新的或现有的 Spot 实例。通过使用 Auto Scaling 组和 Spot 实例集中的容量再平衡功能,我们使您可以轻松地使用这个新信号。有关更多信息,请参阅使用主动容量再平衡

Spot 实例中断通知是在 Amazon EC2 中断 Spot 实例之前的两分钟发出的警告。如果工作负载为“时间灵活型”负载,您可以将 Spot 实例配置为在中断时停止或休眠,而不是终止。Amazon EC2 在中断时使 Spot 实例自动停止或休眠,并在我们具有可用容量时自动恢复这些实例。

我们建议您在 Amazon EventBridge 中创建一个规则以捕获再平衡建议和中断通知,然后触发工作负载进度的检查点或正常处理中断。有关更多信息,请参阅监控再平衡建议信号。有关指导您如何创建和使用事件规则的详细示例,请参阅利用 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例中断通知

有关更多信息,请参阅EC2 实例再平衡建议Spot 实例中断

灵活地选择实例类型和可用区

Spot 容量池是一组具有相同实例类型(如 m5.large)和可用区(如 us-east-1a)的未使用 EC2 实例。您应该灵活地选择请求哪些实例类型,以及可以在哪些可用区中部署工作负载。这为 Spot 提供了更好的机会以查找和分配所需数量的计算容量。例如,如果您希望使用 c4、m5 和 m4 系列中的大型实例,则不要仅请求 c5.large

根据您的特定需求,您可以评估可灵活地选择哪些实例类型以满足您的计算要求。如果可以纵向扩展工作负载,您应该在请求中包括更大的实例类型(更多的 vCPU 和内存)。如果您只能横向扩展,您应该包括较旧一代的实例类型,因为按需客户很少需要使用它们。

一条很好的经验法则是,对于每种工作负载,灵活地在至少 10 种实例类型之间进行选择。此外,还要确保所有可用区配置为在 VPC 中使用,并为工作负载选择了这些可用区。

使用 EC2 Auto Scaling 组或 Spot 实例集管理总容量

Spot 允许您考虑总容量(包括 vCPU、内存、存储或网络吞吐量),而不是考虑单个实例。通过使用 Auto Scaling 组和 Spot 实例集,您可以启动和维持目标容量,自动请求资源以替换任何中断或手动终止的资源。在配置 Auto Scaling 组或 Spot 实例集时,您仅需要根据应用程序需求指定实例类型和目标容量。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 用户指南 中的 Auto Scaling 组和本用户指南中的创建 Spot 队列请求

使用容量优化的分配策略

Auto Scaling 组中的分配策略可以帮助您预置目标容量,而无需手动查找具有备用容量的 Spot 容量池。我们建议使用 capacity optimized 策略,因为该策略自动从最可用的 Spot 容量池中预置实例。您也可以在 Spot 实例集中利用 capacity optimized 分配策略。由于 Spot 实例容量来自于具有最佳容量的池,因此,这会降低回收 Spot 实例的可能性。有关分配策略的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 用户指南 中的 Spot 实例和本用户指南中的配置 Spot 队列以实现容量优化

使用主动容量再平衡

容量再平衡功能可在运行中的 Spot 实例收到两分钟的 Spot 实例中断通知之前,主动使用新的 Spot 实例扩展您的队列,从而帮助您维护工作负载的可用性。启用容量再平衡后,Auto Scaling 或 Spot 队列将尝试主动替换已收到再平衡建议的 Spot 实例,从而使您有机会将工作负载再平衡到不处于较高中断风险的新 Spot 实例。

容量再平衡补充了容量优化型分配策略(旨在帮助找到最佳备用容量)和混合实例策略(旨在通过在多个可用区中运行的多个实例类型上部署实例来提高可用性)。

有关更多信息,请参阅容量再平衡

使用集成的 Amazon 服务以管理 Spot 实例

其他 Amazon 服务与 Spot 集成在一起以降低总体计算成本,而无需管理各个实例或队列。我们建议您针对适用的工作负载考虑以下解决方案:Amazon EMR、Amazon ECS、Amazon Batch、Amazon EKS、SageMaker、Amazon Elastic Beanstalk 和 Amazon GameLift。要了解这些服务的 Spot 最佳实践的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EC2 Spot 实例 Workshops 网站