Set up to use Amazon ECS - Amazon Elastic Container Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Set up to use Amazon ECS

If you've already signed up for Amazon Web Services (Amazon) and have been using Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2), you are close to being able to use Amazon ECS. The set-up process for the two services is similar. The following guide prepares you for launching your first Amazon ECS cluster.

Complete the following tasks to get set up for Amazon ECS.

Sign up for an Amazon Web Services account

If you do not have an Amazon Web Services account, use the following procedure to create one.

To sign up for Amazon Web Services

  1. Open http://www.amazonaws.cn/ and choose Sign Up.

  2. Follow the on-screen instructions.

Amazon sends you a confirmation email after the sign-up process is complete. At any time, you can view your current account activity and manage your account by going to http://www.amazonaws.cn/ and choosing My Account.

Create an administrative user

After you sign up for an Amazon Web Services account, create an administrative user so that you do not use the root user for everyday tasks.

To create an administrative user for yourself and add the user to an administrators group (console)

  1. Sign in to the IAM console as the account owner by choosing Root user and entering your Amazon Web Services account email address. On the next page, enter your password.

    Note

    We strongly recommend that you adhere to the best practice of using the administrator IAM user that follows and securely lock away the root user credentials. Sign in as the root user only to perform a few account and service management tasks.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Users and then choose Add users.

  3. For User name, enter Administrator.

  4. Select the check box next to Amazon Web Services Management Console access. Then select Custom password, and then enter your new password in the text box.

  5. (Optional) By default, Amazon requires the new user to create a new password when first signing in. You can clear the check box next to User must create a new password at next sign-in to allow the new user to reset their password after they sign in.

  6. Choose Next: Permissions.

  7. Under Set permissions, choose Add user to group.

  8. Choose Create group.

  9. In the Create group dialog box, for Group name enter Administrators.

  10. Choose Filter policies, and then select Amazon managed - job function to filter the table contents.

  11. In the policy list, select the check box for AdministratorAccess. Then choose Create group.

    Note

    You must activate IAM user and role access to Billing before you can use the AdministratorAccess permissions to access the Amazon Billing and Cost Management console. To do this, follow the instructions in step 1 of the tutorial about delegating access to the Billing and Cost Management console.

  12. Back in the list of groups, select the check box for your new group. Choose Refresh if necessary to see the group in the list.

  13. Choose Next: Tags.

  14. (Optional) Add metadata to the user by attaching tags as key-value pairs. For more information about using tags in IAM, see Tagging IAM entities in the IAM User Guide.

  15. Choose Next: Review to see the list of group memberships to be added to the new user. When you are ready to proceed, choose Create user.

You can use this process to create users and to give your users access to your Amazon Web Services account resources. To learn about using policies that restrict user permissions to specific Amazon resources, see Access management and Example policies.

To sign in as the IAM administrator

  • Sign in to the IAM console by choosing IAM user and entering your Amazon Web Services account ID or account alias. On the next page, enter your IAM user name and your password.

Create the credentials to connect to your EC2 instance

For Amazon ECS, a key pair is only needed if you intend on using the EC2 launch type.

A Linux instance, such as an Amazon ECS container instance, has no password to use for SSH access. You use a key pair to log in to your instance securely. You specify the name of the key pair when you launch your container instance, then provide the private key when you log in using SSH.

If you haven't created a key pair already, you can create one using the Amazon EC2 console. If you plan to launch instances in multiple regions, you'll need to create a key pair in each region. For more information about regions, see Regions and Availability Zones in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances.

To create a key pair

  • Use the Amazon EC2 console to create a key pair. For more information about creatiting a key pair, see Create a key pair in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances.

For more information, see Amazon EC2 Key Pairs in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances.

To connect to your instance using your key pair

To connect to your Linux instance from a computer running macOS or Linux, specify the .pem file to your SSH client with the -i option and the path to your private key. To connect to your Linux instance from a computer running Windows, you can use either MindTerm or PuTTY. If you plan to use PuTTY, you need to install it and use the following procedure to convert the .pem file to a .ppk file.

To prepare to connect to a Linux instance from Windows using PuTTY

  1. Download and install PuTTY from http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/. Be sure to install the entire suite.

  2. Start PuTTYgen (for example, from the Start menu, choose All Programs > PuTTY > PuTTYgen).

  3. Under Type of key to generate, choose RSA.

    
						SSH-2 RSA key in PuTTYgen
  4. Choose Load. By default, PuTTYgen displays only files with the extension .ppk. To locate your .pem file, select the option to display files of all types.

    
						Select all file types
  5. Select the private key file that you created in the previous procedure and choose Open. Choose OK to dismiss the confirmation dialog box.

  6. Choose Save private key. PuTTYgen displays a warning about saving the key without a passphrase. Choose Yes.

  7. Specify the same name for the key that you used for the key pair. PuTTY automatically adds the .ppk file extension.

Create a virtual private cloud

Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) enables you to launch Amazon resources into a virtual network that you've defined. We strongly suggest that you launch your container instances in a VPC.

Note

The Amazon ECS console first-run experience creates a VPC for your cluster, so if you intend to use the Amazon ECS console, you can skip to the next section.

If you have a default VPC, you also can skip this section and move to the next task, Create a security group. To determine whether you have a default VPC, see Supported Platforms in the Amazon EC2 Console in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances. Otherwise, you can create a nondefault VPC in your account using the steps below.

Important

If your account supports Amazon EC2 Classic in a region, then you do not have a default VPC in that region.

For information about how to create a VPC, see Create a VPC only in the Amazon VPC User Guide and use the following table to determine what options to select.

Option Value

Resources to create

VPC only
Name

Optionally provide a name for your VPC.

IPv4 CIDR block

IPv4 CIDR manual input

The CIDR block size must have a size between /16 and /28.

IPv6 CIDR block

No IPv6 CIDR block

Tenancy

Default

For more information about Amazon VPC, see What is Amazon VPC? in the Amazon VPC User Guide.

Create a security group

Security groups act as a firewall for associated container instances, controlling both inbound and outbound traffic at the container instance level. You can add rules to a security group that enable you to connect to your container instance from your IP address using SSH. You can also add rules that allow inbound and outbound HTTP and HTTPS access from anywhere. Add any rules to open ports that are required by your tasks. Container instances require external network access to communicate with the Amazon ECS service endpoint.

Note

The Amazon ECS classic console first run experience creates a security group for your instances and load balancer based on the task definition you use, so if you intend to use the Amazon ECS console, you can move ahead to the next section.

If you plan to launch container instances in multiple Regions, you need to create a security group in each Region. For more information, see Regions and Availability Zones in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances.

Tip

You need the public IP address of your local computer, which you can get using a service. For example, we provide the following service: http://checkip.amazonaws.com/ or https://checkip.amazonaws.com/. To locate another service that provides your IP address, use the search phrase "what is my IP address." If you are connecting through an internet service provider (ISP) or from behind a firewall without a static IP address, you must find out the range of IP addresses used by client computers.

For information about how to create a security group, see Create a security group in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances and use the following table to determine what options to select.

Option Value

Region

The same Region in which you created your key pair.
Name A name that is easy for you to remember, such as ecs-instances-default-cluster.
VPC The default VPC (marked with "(default)" .
Note

If your account supports Amazon EC2 Classic, select the VPC that you created in the previous task.

Amazon ECS container instances do not require any inbound ports to be open. However, you might want to add an SSH rule so you can log into the container instance and examine the tasks with Docker commands. You can also add rules for HTTP and HTTPS if you want your container instance to host a task that runs a web server. Container instances do require external network access to communicate with the Amazon ECS service endpoint. Complete the following steps to add these optional security group rules.

Add the following three inbound rules to your security group.For information about how to create a security group, see Add rules to your security group in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances.

Option Value

HTTP rule

Type: HTTP

Source: Anywhere (0.0.0.0/0)

This option automatically adds the 0.0.0.0/0 IPv4 CIDR block as the source. This is acceptable for a short time in a test environment, but it's unsafe in production environments. In production, authorize only a specific IP address or range of addresses to access your instance.

HTTPS rule

Type: HTTPS

Source: Anywhere (0.0.0.0/0)

This is acceptable for a short time in a test environment, but it's unsafe in production environments. In production, authorize only a specific IP address or range of addresses to access your instance.

SSH rule

Type: SSH

Source: Custom, specify the public IP address of your computer or network in CIDR notation. To specify an individual IP address in CIDR notation, add the routing prefix /32. For example, if your IP address is 203.0.113.25, specify 203.0.113.25/32. If your company allocates addresses from a range, specify the entire range, such as 203.0.113.0/24.

Important

For security reasons, we don't recommend that you allow SSH access from all IP addresses (0.0.0.0/0) to your instance, except for testing purposes and only for a short time.

Install the Amazon CLI

The Amazon Web Services Management Console can be used to manage all operations manually with Amazon ECS. However, installing the Amazon CLI on your local desktop or a developer box enables you to build scripts that can automate common management tasks in Amazon ECS.

To use the Amazon CLI with Amazon ECS, install the latest Amazon CLI version. For information about installing the Amazon CLI or upgrading it to the latest version, see Installing the Amazon Command Line Interface in the Amazon Command Line Interface User Guide.

设置以使用 Amazon ECS - Amazon Elastic Container Service
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

设置以使用 Amazon ECS

如果您已经注册了Amazon Web Services (Amazon),并且一直在使用Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2),那么您就接近能够使用 Amazon ECS 了。这两个服务的设置过程相似。以下指南为启动您的第一个 Amazon ECS 集群做好准备。

要开始设置 Amazon ECS,请完成以下任务。

注册Amazon

当您注册 Amazon 时,您的 Amazon 帐户将自动注册所有服务,包括 Amazon EC2 和 Amazon ECS。您只需为使用的服务付费。

如果您已有 Amazon 账户,请跳到下一个任务。如果您还没有 Amazon 账户,请使用以下步骤创建。

创建 Amazon 账户

  1. 打开 https://portal.aws.amazon.com/billing/signup

  2. 按照屏幕上的说明进行操作。

    在注册时,您将接到一通电话,要求您使用电话键盘输入一个验证码。

请记下您的 Amazon 账号,因为在下一个任务中您会用到它。

创建 IAM 用户

Amazon 中的服务(如 Amazon EC2 和 Amazon ECS)要求您在访问时提供凭证,以便服务可以确定您是否有权限访问其资源。控制台要求您的密码。您可以为您的 Amazon 账户创建访问密钥以访问命令行界面或 API。但是,我们不建议您使用 Amazon 账户的凭证访问 Amazon,而建议您改用Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM)。创建 IAM 用户,然后将该用户添加到具有管理权限的 IAM 组或授予此用户管理权限。然后,您就可以使用专门的 URL 和该 IAM 用户的凭证来访问 Amazon。

如果您已注册 Amazon 但尚未为自己创建一个 IAM 用户,则可以使用 IAM 控制台自行创建。

自行创建管理员用户并将该用户添加到管理员组 (控制台)

  1. 选择 Root user(根用户)并输入您的 Amazon Web Services 账户 电子邮件地址,以账户拥有者身份登录 IAM 控制台。在下一页上,输入您的密码。

    注意

    强烈建议您遵守以下使用 Administrator IAM 用户的最佳实践,妥善保存根用户凭证。只在执行少数账户和服务管理任务时才作为根用户登录。

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择 Users(用户),然后选择 Add users(添加用户)。

  3. 对于 User name(用户名),输入 Administrator

  4. 选中 Amazon Web Services Management Console access (Amazon Web Services Management Console 管理控制台访问)旁边的复选框。然后选择自定义密码,并在文本框中输入新密码。

  5. (可选)默认情况下,Amazon要求新用户在首次登录时创建新密码。您可以清除 User must create a new password at next sign-in(用户必须在下次登录时创建新密码)旁边的复选框以允许新用户在登录后重置其密码。

  6. 选择下一步: 权限

  7. 设置权限下,选择将用户添加到组

  8. 选择创建组

  9. Create group(创建组)对话框中,对于 Group name(组名称),输入 Administrators

  10. 选择 Filter policies(筛选策略),然后选择 Amazon managed - job function(Amazon 托管 – 工作职能)以筛选表内容。

  11. 在策略列表中,选中 AdministratorAccess 的复选框。然后选择 Create group(创建组)。

    注意

    您必须先激活 IAM 用户和角色对账单的访问权限,然后才能使用 AdministratorAccess 权限访问 Amazon Billing and Cost Management 控制台。为此,请按照“向账单控制台委派访问权限”教程第 1 步中的说明进行操作。

  12. 返回到组列表中,选中您的新组所对应的复选框。如有必要,选择 Refresh(刷新)以在列表中查看该组。

  13. 选择下一步: 标签

  14. (可选) 通过以键值对的形式附加标签来向用户添加元数据。有关在 IAM 中使用标签的更多信息,请参阅 IAM 用户指南中的标记 IAM 实体

  15. 选择 Next: Review(下一步:审核)以查看要添加到新用户的组成员资格的列表。如果您已准备好继续,请选择 Create user(创建用户)。

您可使用这一相同的流程创建更多组和用户,并允许您的用户访问 Amazon Web Services 账户 资源。要了解有关使用策略限制用户对特定 Amazon 资源的权限的信息,请参阅访问管理示例策略

要以该新 IAM 用户的身份登录,请从 Amazon 控制台注销,然后使用以下 URL,其中 your_aws_account_id 是您的 Amazon 账号,不带连字符 (例如,如果您的 Amazon 账号是 1234-5678-9012,则您的 Amazon 账户 ID 是 123456789012):

https://your_aws_account_id.signin.aws.amazon.com/console/

输入您刚创建的 IAM 用户名和密码。登录后,导航栏显示“your_user_name @ your_aws_account_id”。

如果您不希望您的登录页面 URL 包含 Amazon 账户 ID,可以创建账户别名。从 IAM 控制面板上,在注册链接的右侧,选择 Customize (自定义),然后输入别名,如您的公司名称。要在创建账户别名后登录,请使用以下 URL:

https://your_account_alias.signin.aws.amazon.com/console/

要为您的账户验证 IAM 用户的登录链接,请打开 IAM 控制台并在控制面板的 IAM 用户登录链接下进行检查。

有关 IAM 的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Identity and Access Management 用户指南

创建密钥对

对于 Amazon ECS,密钥对只有在您打算使用 EC2 启动类型时才需要。

Linux 实例(例如 Amazon ECS 容器实例)没有用于 SSH 访问的密码。您使用密钥对安全地登录到实例。您可以在启动容器实例时指定密钥对的名称,然后提供私有密钥(使用 SSH 登录时)。

如果您尚未创建密钥对,则可以通过 Amazon EC2 控制台自行创建。如果您计划在多个区域启动实例,则需要在每个区域中创建密钥对。有关区域的信息,请参阅适用于 Linux 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南中的区域和可用区

创建密钥对

  1. 使用 Amazon EC2 控制台创建密钥对。有关创建密钥对的更多信息,请参阅《适用于 Linux 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南》中的创建密钥对

  2. 如果您在 macOS 或 Linux 计算机上使用 SSH 客户端连接到您的 Linux 实例,请使用以下命令设置您私有密钥文件的权限,以确保只有您可以读取它。

    chmod 400 your_user_name-key-pair-region_name.pem

有关更多信息,请参阅适用于 Linux 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南中的 Amazon EC2 密钥对

使用密钥对连接到实例

要从运行 macOS 或 Linux 的计算机连接到 Linux 实例,需要使用 -i 选项对 SSH 客户端指定 .pem 文件和私有密钥的路径。要从运行 Windows 的计算机连接到您的 Linux 实例,可以使用 MindTerm 或 PuTTY。如果您计划使用 PuTTY,则需要安装它并遵循以下过程将 .pem 文件转换为 .ppk 文件。

准备使用 PuTTY 从 Windows 连接到 Linux 实例

  1. http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/ 下载并安装 PuTTY。确保安装整个套件。

  2. 启动 PuTTYgen(例如,在开始菜单中,依次选择All Programs > PuTTY > PuTTYgen)。

  3. Type of key to generate 下,选择 RSA

    
						PuTTYgen 中的 SSH-2 RSA 密钥
  4. 选择 Load。默认情况下,PuTTYgen 仅显示扩展名为 .ppk 的文件。要找到您的 .pem 文件,请选择显示所有类型的文件的选项。

    
						选择所有文件类型
  5. 选择您在上一个过程中创建的私有密钥文件,然后选择 Open。选择 OK 关闭确认对话框。

  6. 选择保存私有密钥。PuTTYgen 显示一条关于在没有密码的情况下保存密钥的警告。选择

  7. 指定与密钥对相同的密钥名称。PuTTY 会自动添加 .ppk 文件扩展名。

创建 Virtual Private Cloud

通过 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC),您可以将 Amazon 资源启动到您定义的虚拟网络中。强烈建议您在 VPC 中启动您的容器实例。

注意

Amazon ECS 控制台首次运行体验会为您的集群创建 VPC,因此,如果您打算使用 Amazon ECS 控制台,则可以跳到下一个部分。

如果您有默认 VPC,也可以跳过此部分并进入下一个任务,即 创建安全组。要确定您是否具有原定设置 VPC,请参阅适用于 Linux 的 Amazon EC2 用户指南中的 Amazon EC2 控制台中支持的平台。否则,您可以使用以下步骤在账户中创建非默认 VPC。

重要

如果您的账户在某个区域中支持 Amazon EC2 Classic,则您在该区域没有默认 VPC。

有关如何创建 VPC 的信息,请参阅《Amazon VPC 用户指南》中的仅创建 VPC 并使用下表确定要选择的选项。

选项

要创建的资源

仅限 VPC
名称

可以选择为您的 VPC 提供名称。

IPv4 CIDR 块

IPv4 CIDR 手动输入

CIDR 块大小必须在 /16 和 /28 之间。

IPv6 CIDR 块

无 IPv6 CIDR 块

Tenancy

默认值

有关 Amazon VPC 的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon VPC 用户指南中的什么是Amazon VPC?

创建安全组

安全组用作相关容器实例的防火墙,可在容器实例级别控制入站和出站流量。您可以向安全组添加规则,以便使用 SSH 从您的 IP 地址连接到容器实例。您还可以添加允许来自任意位置的入站和出站 HTTP 和 HTTPS 访问的规则。向任务所需的开放端口添加任意规则。容器实例需要外部网络访问来与 Amazon ECS 服务终端节点通信。

注意

Amazon ECS 经典控制台首次运行时会为您的实例创建安全组并根据您使用的任务定义创建负载均衡器,因此,如果要使用 Amazon ECS 控制台,则可以跳到下一个部分。

如果您计划在多个区域中启动容器实例,则需要在每个区域中创建安全组。有关更多信息,请参阅《适用于 Linux 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南》中的区域和可用区

提示

您需要本地计算机的公有 IP 地址,可以使用服务获得该地址。例如,我们提供以下服务:http://checkip.amazonaws.com/https://checkip.amazonaws.com/。要查找另一项可提供您的 IP 地址的服务,请使用搜索短语“what is my IP address”。如果您通过 Internet 服务提供商 (ISP) 连接或者在不使用静态 IP 地址的情况下从防火墙后面连接,则必须找出客户端计算机使用的 IP 地址范围。

有关如何创建安全组的信息,请参阅《适用于 Linux 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南》中的创建安全组并使用下表确定要选择的选项。

选项

区域

您在其中创建密钥对的相同区域。
名称 一个您容易记住的名称,例如 ecs-instances-default-cluster
VPC 默认 VPC(标有“(默认)”)。
注意

如果您的账户支持 Amazon EC2 Classic,请选择您在上一个任务中创建的 VPC。

Amazon ECS 容器实例不需要打开任何入站端口。但您可能需要添加 SSH 规则,以便登录容器实例并使用 Docker 命令检查任务。如果您希望容器实例托管运行 Web 服务器的任务,也可以添加适用于 HTTP 和 HTTPS 的规则。容器实例需要外部网络访问来与 Amazon ECS 服务终端节点通信。完成以下步骤可添加这些可选的安全组规则。

向您的安全组添加以下三条入站规则。有关如何创建安全组的信息,请参阅《适用于 Linux 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南》中的为您的安全组添加规则

选项

HTTP 规则

Type:HTTP

来源:Anywhere(任何位置)(0.0.0.0/0

此选项将自动添加 0.0.0.0/0 IPv4 CIDR 块作为源。这在测试环境中可以接受一小段时间,但是在生产环境中并不安全。在生产中,请仅授权特定 IP 地址或地址范围访问您的实例。

HTTPS 规则

类型:HTTPS

来源:Anywhere(任何位置)(0.0.0.0/0

这在测试环境中可以接受一小段时间,但是在生产环境中并不安全。在生产中,请仅授权特定 IP 地址或地址范围访问您的实例。

SSH 规则

Type:SSH

来源:Custom(自定义),使用 CIDR 表示法指定计算机的公有 IP 地址或网络。要采用 CIDR 表示法指定单个 IP 地址,请添加路由前缀 /32。例如,如果您的 IP 地址是 203.0.113.25,请指定 203.0.113.25/32。如果您的公司要分配同一范围内的地址,请指定整个范围,例如 203.0.113.0/24

重要

出于安全原因,我们不建议您允许从所有 IP 地址 (0.0.0.0/0) 对您的实例进行 SSH 访问(以测试为目的的短暂访问除外)。

安装 Amazon CLI

Amazon Web Services Management Console 可以用来手动管理 Amazon ECS 的所有操作。但是,您可以在本地桌面上安装 Amazon CLI 或开发人员工具包并生成脚本,以便在 Amazon ECS 中自动执行常见管理任务。

要对 Amazon ECS 使用 Amazon CLI,请安装最新版本的 Amazon CLI。有关安装 Amazon CLI 或升级到最新版本的信息,请参阅 Amazon Command Line Interface 用户指南.中的安装 Amazon 命令行界面