Using service-linked roles for Amazon ECS - Amazon Elastic Container Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Using service-linked roles for Amazon ECS

Amazon Elastic Container Service uses Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) service-linked roles. A service-linked role is a unique type of IAM role that is linked directly to Amazon ECS. The service-linked role is predefined by Amazon ECS and includes all the permissions that the service requires to call other Amazon services on your behalf.

A service-linked role makes setting up Amazon ECS easier because you don’t have to manually add the necessary permissions. Amazon ECS defines the permissions of its service-linked roles, and unless defined otherwise, only Amazon ECS can assume its roles. The defined permissions include the trust policy and the permissions policy, and that permissions policy cannot be attached to any other IAM entity.

For information about other services that support service-linked roles, see Amazon services that work with IAM and look for the services that have Yes in the Service-linked roles column. Choose a Yes with a link to view the service-linked role documentation for that service.

Service-linked role permissions for Amazon ECS

Amazon ECS uses the service-linked role named AWSServiceRoleForECS.

The AWSServiceRoleForECS service-linked role trusts the following services to assume the role:

  • ecs.amazonaws.com

The role permissions policy named AmazonECSServiceRolePolicy allows Amazon ECS to complete the following actions on the specified resources:

  • Action: When using the awsvpc network mode for your Amazon ECS tasks, Amazon ECS manages the lifecycle of the elastic network interfaces associated with the task. This also includes tags that Amazon ECS adds to your elastic network interfaces.

  • Action: When using a load balancer with your Amazon ECS service, Amazon ECS manages the registration and deregistration of resources with the load balancer.

  • Action: When using Amazon ECS service discovery, Amazon ECS manages the required Route 53 and Amazon Cloud Map resources for service discovery to work.

  • Action: When using Amazon ECS service auto scaling, Amazon ECS manages the required Auto Scaling resources.

  • Action: Amazon ECS creates and manages CloudWatch alarms and log streams that assist in the monitoring of your Amazon ECS resources.

  • Action: When using Amazon ECS Exec, Amazon ECS manages the permissions needed to start Amazon ECS Exec sessions to your tasks.

  • Action: When using Amazon ECS Service Connect, Amazon ECS manages the required Amazon Cloud Map resources to use the feature.

You must configure permissions to allow an IAM entity (such as a user, group, or role) to create, edit, or delete a service-linked role. For more information, see Service-linked role permissions in the IAM User Guide.

Creating a service-linked role for Amazon ECS

You don't need to manually create a service-linked role. When you create a cluster or create or update a service in the Amazon Web Services Management Console, the Amazon CLI, or the Amazon API, Amazon ECS creates the service-linked role for you.

Important

This service-linked role can appear in your account if you completed an action in another service that uses the features supported by this role.

If you delete this service-linked role, and then need to create it again, you can use the same process to recreate the role in your account. When you create a cluster or create or update a service, Amazon ECS creates the service-linked role for you again.

Editing a service-linked role for Amazon ECS

Amazon ECS doesn't allow you to edit the AWSServiceRoleForECS service-linked role. After you create a service-linked role, you cannot change the name of the role because various entities might reference the role. However, you can edit the description of the role using IAM. For more information, see Editing a service-linked role in the IAM User Guide.

Deleting a service-linked role for Amazon ECS

If you no longer need to use a feature or service that requires a service-linked role, we recommend that you delete that role. That way you don’t have an unused entity that is not actively monitored or maintained. However, you must clean up the resources for your service-linked role before you can manually delete it.

Note

If the Amazon ECS service is using the role when you try to delete the resources, then the deletion might fail. If that happens, wait for a few minutes and try the operation again.

To check whether the service-linked role has an active session
  1. Open the IAM console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/iam/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Roles and choose the AWSServiceRoleForECS name (not the check box).

  3. On the Summary page, choose Access Advisor and review recent activity for the service-linked role.

    Note

    If you are unsure whether Amazon ECS is using the AWSServiceRoleForECS role, you can try to delete the role. If the service is using the role, then the deletion fails and you can view the regions where the role is being used. If the role is being used, then you must wait for the session to end before you can delete the role. You cannot revoke the session for a service-linked role.

To remove Amazon ECS resources used by the AWSServiceRoleForECS service-linked role

You must delete all Amazon ECS clusters in all Amazon Regions before you can delete the AWSServiceRoleForECS role.

  1. Scale all Amazon ECS services down to a desired count of 0 in all regions, and then delete the services. For more information, see Updating a service using the classic console and Deleting a service using the classic console.

  2. Force deregister all container instances from all clusters in all regions. For more information, see Deregister an Amazon EC2 backed container instance.

  3. Delete all Amazon ECS clusters in all regions. For more information, see Deleting a cluster using the classic console.

To manually delete the service-linked role using IAM

Use the IAM console, the Amazon CLI, or the Amazon API to delete the AWSServiceRoleForECS service-linked role. For more information, see Deleting a service-linked role in the IAM User Guide.

Supported regions for Amazon ECS service-linked roles

Amazon ECS supports using service-linked roles in all of the regions where the service is available. For more information, see Amazon regions and endpoints.

对 Amazon ECS 使用服务相关角色 - Amazon Elastic Container Service
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

对 Amazon ECS 使用服务相关角色

Amazon Elastic Container Service 使用 Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) 服务相关角色。服务相关角色是一种独特类型的 IAM 角色,它与 Amazon ECS 直接相关。服务相关角色是由 Amazon ECS 预定义的,并包含服务代表您调用其他 Amazon 服务所需的所有权限。

服务相关角色可让您更轻松地设置 Amazon ECS,因为您不必手动添加必要的权限。Amazon ECS 定义其服务相关角色的权限,除非另外定义,否则只有 Amazon ECS 可以代入该角色。定义的权限包括信任策略和权限策略,以及不能附加到任何其它 IAM 实体的权限策略。

有关支持服务相关角色的其他服务的信息,请参阅与 IAM 配合使用的 Amazon 服务,并查找 Service-linked roles(服务相关角色)列中显示为 Yes(是)的服务。请选择 Yes 与查看该服务的服务相关角色文档的链接。

Amazon ECS 的服务相关角色权限

Amazon ECS 使用名为 AWSServiceRoleForECS 的服务相关角色。

AWSServiceRoleForECS 服务相关角色信任以下服务以担任该角色:

  • ecs.amazonaws.com

名为 AmazonECSServiceRolePolicy 的角色权限策略允许 Amazon ECS 对指定资源完成以下操作:

  • 操作:针对您的 Amazon ECS 任务使用 awsvpc 网络模式时,Amazon ECS 会管理与任务关联的弹性网络接口的生命周期。这还包括 Amazon ECS 向您的弹性网络接口添加的标签。

  • 操作:通过 Amazon ECS 服务使用负载均衡器时,Amazon ECS 会管理负载均衡器中资源的注册和注销。

  • 操作:使用 Amazon ECS 服务发现时,Amazon ECS 会管理所需的 Route 53 和 Amazon Cloud Map 资源,使服务发现能正常运作。

  • 操作:使用 Amazon ECS 服务自动扩缩时,Amazon ECS 会管理所需的自动扩缩资源。

  • 操作:Amazon ECS 会创建和管理 CloudWatch 警报和日志流,以帮助监控您的 Amazon ECS 资源。

  • 操作:使用 Amazon ECS Exec 时,Amazon ECS 会管理启动任务 Amazon ECS Exec 会话所需的权限。

必须配置权限,允许 IAM 实体(如用户、组或角色)创建、编辑或删除服务相关角色。有关更多信息,请参阅 IAM 用户指南中的服务相关角色权限

为 Amazon ECS 创建服务相关角色

无需手动创建服务相关角色。当您创建集群或者在 Amazon Web Services Management Console、Amazon CLI 或 Amazon API 中创建或更新服务时,Amazon ECS 会为您创建服务相关角色。

重要

如果您在其他使用此角色支持的功能的服务中完成某个操作,此服务相关角色可以出现在您的账户中。

如果删除此服务相关角色,然后需要再次创建,可以使用相同流程在账户中重新创建此角色。当您创建集群或者创建或更新服务时,Amazon ECS 会再次为您创建服务相关角色。

为 Amazon ECS 编辑服务相关角色

Amazon ECS 不允许您编辑 AWSServiceRoleForECS 服务相关角色。创建服务相关角色后,将无法更改角色名称,因为可能有多个实体引用该角色。但是可以使用 IAM 编辑角色说明。有关更多信息,请参阅 IAM 用户指南中的编辑服务相关角色

删除适用于 Amazon ECS 的服务相关角色

如果不再需要使用某个需要服务相关角色的功能或服务,我们建议您删除该角色。这样您就没有未被主动监控或维护的未使用实体。但是,您必须先清除服务相关角色的资源,然后才能手动删除它。

注意

如果当您试图删除资源时 Amazon ECS 服务正在使用该角色,则删除操作可能会失败。如果发生这种情况,请等待几分钟后重试。

检查服务相关角色是否有活动会话

  1. 通过以下网址打开 IAM 控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/iam/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择Roles(角色)并选择 AWSServiceRoleForECS 名称(而不是复选框)。

  3. Summary 页面上,选择 Access Advisor,查看服务相关角色的近期活动。

    注意

    如果您不确定 Amazon ECS 是否正在使用 AWSServiceRoleForECS 角色,可以尝试删除该角色。如果服务正在使用该角色,则删除操作会失败,并且您可以查看正在使用该角色的区域。如果该角色已被使用,则您必须等待会话结束,然后才能删除该角色。您无法撤销服务相关角色对会话的权限。

要删除 AWSServiceRoleForECS 服务链接角色使用的 Amazon ECS 资源

在删除 AWSServiceRoleForECS 角色之前,必须先删除所有 Amazon 区域中的所有 Amazon ECS 群集。

  1. 将所有区域中的所有 Amazon ECS 服务缩小到预期数量 0,然后删除该服务。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用经典控制台更新服务使用经典控制台删除服务

  2. 强制从所有区域的所有集群中注销所有容器实例。有关更多信息,请参阅注销由 Amazon EC2 支持的容器实例

  3. 删除所有区域的所有 Amazon ECS 群集。有关更多信息,请参阅使用经典控制台删除集群

使用 IAM 手动删除服务相关角色

使用 IAM 控制台、Amazon CLI 或 Amazon API 删除 AWSServiceRoleForECS 服务相关角色。有关更多信息,请参阅 IAM 用户指南中的删除服务相关角色

Amazon ECS 服务相关角色支持的区域

Amazon ECS 支持在该服务可用的所有区域中使用服务相关角色。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon 区域和终端节点