Data tiering - Amazon ElastiCache for Redis
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Data tiering

Clusters that comprise a replication group and use a node type from the r6gd family have their data tiered between memory and local SSD (solid state drives) storage. Data tiering provides a new price-performance option for Redis workloads by utilizing lower-cost solid state drives (SSDs) in each cluster node in addition to storing data in memory. It is ideal for workloads that access up to 20 percent of their overall dataset regularly, and for applications that can tolerate additional latency when accessing data on SSD.

On clusters with data tiering, ElastiCache monitors the last access time of every item it stores. When available memory (DRAM) is fully consumed, ElastiCache uses a least-recently used (LRU) algorithm to automatically move infrequently accessed items from memory to SSD. When data on SSD is subsequently accessed, ElastiCache automatically and asynchronously moves it back to memory before processing the request. If you have a workload that accesses only a subset of its data regularly, data tiering is an optimal way to scale your capacity cost-effectively.

Note that when using data tiering, keys themselves always remain in memory, while the LRU governs the placement of values on memory vs. disk. In general, we recommend that your key sizes are smaller than your value sizes when using data tiering.

Data tiering is designed to have minimal performance impact to application workloads. For example, assuming 500-byte String values, you can expect an additional 300 microseconds of latency on average for requests to data stored on SSD compared to requests to data in memory.

With the largest data tiering node size (cache.r6gd.16xlarge), you can store up to 1 petabyte in a single 500-node cluster (500 TB when using 1 read replica). Data tiering is compatible with all Redis commands and data structures supported in ElastiCache. You don't need any client-side changes to use this feature.

Best practices

We recommend the following best practices:

  • Data tiering is ideal for workloads that access up to 20 percent of their overall dataset regularly, and for applications that can tolerate additional latency when accessing data on SSD.

  • When using SSD capacity available on data-tiered nodes, we recommend that value size be larger than the key size. When items are moved between DRAM and SSD, keys will always remain in memory and only the values are moved to the SSD tier.

Limitations

Data tiering has the following limitations:

  • You can only use data tiering on clusters that are part of a replication group.

  • The node type you use must be from the r6gd family, which is available in the following regions: us-east-2, us-east-1, us-west-2, us-west-1, eu-west-1, eu-central-1, eu-west-3, ap-northeast-1, ap-southeast-1, ap-southeast-2, ap-south-1, ca-central-1 and sa-east-1.

  • You must use the Redis 6.2 or later engine.

  • You cannot restore a backup of an r6gd cluster into another cluster unless it also uses r6gd.

  • You cannot export a backup to Amazon S3 for data-tiering clusters.

  • Online migration is not supported for clusters running on the r6gd node type.

  • Scaling is not supported from a data tiering cluster (for example, a cluster using an r6gd node type) to a cluster that does not use data tiering (for example, a cluster using an r6g node type). For more information, see Scaling ElastiCache for Redis clusters.

  • Auto scaling is not supported for clusters running using data tiering. For more information, see Auto Scaling ElastiCache for Redis clusters

  • Data tiering only supports volatile-lru, allkeys-lru and noeviction maxmemory policies.

  • Forkless save is not supported. For more information, see How synchronization and backup are implemented.

  • Items larger than 128 MiB are not moved to SSD.

Pricing

R6gd nodes have 4.8x more total capacity (memory + SSD) and can help you achieve over 60 percent savings when running at maximum utilization compared to R6g nodes (memory only). For more information, see ElastiCache pricing.

Monitoring

ElastiCache for Redis offers metrics designed specifically to monitor the performance clusters that use data tiering. To monitor the ratio of items in DRAM compared to SSD, you can use the CurrItems metric at Metrics for Redis. You can calculate the percentage as: (CurrItems with Dimension: Tier = Memory * 100) / (CurrItems with no dimension filter). When the percentage of items in memory decreases below 5 percent, we recommend that you consider scale out for Cluster Mode Enabled clusters or scale up for Cluster Mode disabled clusters . For more information, see Metrics for Redis clusters that use data tiering at Metrics for Redis.

Using data tiering

When creating a cluster as part of a replication group, you use data tiering by selecting a node type from the r6gd family, such as cache.r6gd.xlarge. Selecting that node type automatically enables data tiering.

For more information on creating a cluster, see Creating a cluster.

When creating a replication group using the Amazon CLI, you use data tiering by selecting a node type from the r6gd family, such as cache.r6gd.xlarge and setting the --data-tiering-enabled parameter.

You cannot opt out of data tiering when selecting a node type from the r6gd family. If you set the --no-data-tiering-enabled parameter, the operation will fail.

For Linux, OS X, or Unix:

aws elasticache create-replication-group \ --replication-group-id redis-dt-cluster \ --replication-group-description "Redis cluster with data tiering" \ --num-node-groups 1 \ --replicas-per-node-group 1 \ --cache-node-type cache.r6gd.xlarge \ --engine redis \ --cache-subnet-group-name default \ --automatic-failover-enabled \ --data-tiering-enabled

For Windows:

aws elasticache create-replication-group ^ --replication-group-id redis-dt-cluster ^ --replication-group-description "Redis cluster with data tiering" ^ --num-node-groups 1 ^ --replicas-per-node-group 1 ^ --cache-node-type cache.r6gd.xlarge ^ --engine redis ^ --cache-subnet-group-name default ^ --automatic-failover-enabled ^ --data-tiering-enabled

After running this operation, you will see a response similar to the following:

{ "ReplicationGroup": { "ReplicationGroupId": "redis-dt-cluster", "Description": "Redis cluster with data tiering", "Status": "creating", "PendingModifiedValues": {}, "MemberClusters": [ "redis-dt-cluster" ], "AutomaticFailover": "enabled", "DataTiering": "enabled", "SnapshotRetentionLimit": 0, "SnapshotWindow": "06:00-07:00", "ClusterEnabled": false, "CacheNodeType": "cache.r6gd.xlarge", "TransitEncryptionEnabled": false, "AtRestEncryptionEnabled": false } }

Restoring data from backup into clusters with data tiering enabled

You can restore a backup to a new cluster with data tiering enabled using the (Console), (Amazon CLI) or (ElastiCache API). When you create a cluster using node types in the r6gd family, data tiering is enabled.

To restore a backup to a new cluster with data tiering enabled (console)

  1. Sign in to the Amazon Web Services Management Console and open the ElastiCache console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/elasticache/.

  2. From the navigation pane, choose Backups.

  3. In the list of backups, choose the box to the left of the backup name you want to restore from.

  4. Choose Restore.

  5. Complete the Restore Cluster dialog box. Be sure to complete all the Required fields and any of the others you want to change from the defaults.

    1. Cluster ID – Required. The name of the new cluster.

    2. Cluster mode enabled (scale out) – Choose this for a Redis (cluster mode enabled) cluster.

    3. Node Type – Specify cache.r6gd.xlarge or any other node type from the r6gd family.

    4. Number of Shards – Choose the number of shards you want in the new cluster (API/CLI: node groups).

    5. Replicas per Shard – Choose the number of read replica nodes you want in each shard.

    6. Slots and keyspaces – Choose how you want keys distributed among the shards. If you choose to specify the key distributions complete the table specifying the key ranges for each shard.

    7. Availability zone(s) – Specify how you want the cluster's Availability Zones selected.

    8. Port – Change this only if you want the new cluster to use a different port.

    9. Choose a VPC – Choose the VPC in which to create this cluster.

    10. Parameter Group – Choose a parameter group that reserves sufficient memory for Redis overhead for the node type you selected.

  6. When the settings are as you want them, choose Create.

For more information on creating a cluster, see Creating a cluster.

When creating a replication group using the Amazon CLI, data tiering is by default used by selecting a node type from the r6gd family, such as cache.r6gd.xlarge and setting the --data-tiering-enabled parameter.

You cannot opt out of data tiering when selecting a node type from the r6gd family. If you set the --no-data-tiering-enabled parameter, the operation will fail.

For Linux, OS X, or Unix:

aws elasticache create-replication-group \ --replication-group-id redis-dt-cluster \ --replication-group-description "Redis cluster with data tiering" \ --num-node-groups 1 \ --replicas-per-node-group 1 \ --cache-node-type cache.r6gd.xlarge \ --engine redis \ --cache-subnet-group-name default \ --automatic-failover-enabled \ --data-tiering-enabled \ --snapshot-name my-snapshot

For Linux, OS X, or Unix:

aws elasticache create-replication-group ^ --replication-group-id redis-dt-cluster ^ --replication-group-description "Redis cluster with data tiering" ^ --num-node-groups 1 ^ --replicas-per-node-group 1 ^ --cache-node-type cache.r6gd.xlarge ^ --engine redis ^ --cache-subnet-group-name default ^ --automatic-failover-enabled ^ --data-tiering-enabled ^ --snapshot-name my-snapshot

After running this operation, you will see a response similar to the following:

{ "ReplicationGroup": { "ReplicationGroupId": "redis-dt-cluster", "Description": "Redis cluster with data tiering", "Status": "creating", "PendingModifiedValues": {}, "MemberClusters": [ "redis-dt-cluster" ], "AutomaticFailover": "enabled", "DataTiering": "enabled", "SnapshotRetentionLimit": 0, "SnapshotWindow": "06:00-07:00", "ClusterEnabled": false, "CacheNodeType": "cache.r6gd.xlarge", "TransitEncryptionEnabled": false, "AtRestEncryptionEnabled": false } }

数据分层 - Amazon ElastiCache for Redis
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

数据分层

组成一个复制组并使用 r6gd 系列节点类型的集群将在内存和本地 SSD(固态硬盘)存储之间进行数据分层。借助数据分层功能,除可在内存中存储数据外,还可以在每个集群节点中使用成本更低的固态硬盘 (SSD),从而为 Redis 工作负载提供新的高性价比选择。它非常适合经常访问的数据不超过总体数据集的 20% 的工作负载,以及能够容忍访问 SSD 中数据时所出现的额外延迟的应用程序。

对于启用了数据分层功能的集群,ElastiCache 会监控集群所存储每个项目的最近访问时间。当可用内存 (DRAM) 耗尽时,ElastiCache 将使用最近最少使用 (LRU) 算法,自动将不频繁访问的项目从内存移动到 SSD 中。随后访问 SSD 上的数据时,ElastiCache 会在处理请求之前自动异步将其移回内存中。如果您的工作负载只会经常访问部分数据,则数据分层将是经济高效地扩缩容量的极佳方法。

请注意,使用数据分层时,键本身始终保留在内存中,而 LRU 将控制值在内存和磁盘上的位置。通常,在使用数据分层时,我们建议您的键大小小于值。

数据分层旨在将对应用程序工作负载的性能影响降至最低。例如,假设 500 字节的字符串值,与请求存储在内存中的数据相比,请求存储在 SSD 上的数据预计平均会增加 300 微秒的延迟。

如果使用最大型号的数据分层节点 (cache.r6gd.16xlarge),您可以在单个 500 节点集群中存储最高 1PB 的数据(使用 1 个只读副本时 500TB)。数据分层功能兼容 ElastiCache 中支持的所有 Redis 命令和数据结构。使用此功能无需任何客户端更改。

最佳实践

我们建议您遵循以下最佳实践:

  • 数据分层非常适合经常访问的数据不超过总体数据集的 20% 的工作负载,以及能够容忍访问 SSD 中数据时所出现的额外延迟的应用程序。

  • 在数据分层节点上使用可用的 SSD 容量时,我们建议值大小大于键。在 DRAM 和 SSD 之间移动项目时,键将始终保留在内存中,并且只有值会移动到 SSD 层。

限制

数据分层功能存在以下限制:

  • 您只能在复制组中的集群上使用数据分层。

  • 您使用的节点类型必须属于 r6gd 系列,目前可在以下区域使用:us-east-2us-east-1us-west-2us-west-1eu-west-1eu-central-1eu-west-3ap-northeast-1ap-southeast-1ap-southeast-2ap-south-1ca-central-1sa-east-1

  • 您必须使用 Redis 6.2 或更高版本的引擎。

  • 除非两个集群都为 r6gd 集群,否则不能将 r6gd 集群的备份还原到其他集群。

  • 不能将使用数据分层功能的集群备份导出到 Amazon S3。

  • 在 r6gd 节点类型上运行的集群不支持在线迁移。

  • 不支持将使用数据分层功能的集群(例如,使用 r6gd 节点类型的集群)扩缩至不使用数据分层功能的集群(例如,使用 r6g 节点类型的集群)。有关更多信息,请参阅ElastiCache for Redis 集群的扩缩

  • 使用数据分层功能的集群不支持弹性伸缩。有关更多信息,请参阅 ElastiCache for Redis 集群的弹性伸缩

  • 数据分层仅支持 volatile-lruallkeys-lrunoeviction maxmemory 策略。

  • 不支持无分支保存。有关更多信息,请参阅如何实施同步和备份

  • 大于 128MiB 的项目不会移动到 SSD。

定价

与 R6g 节点(仅内存)相比,R6gd 节点的总存储容量(内存 + SSD)提高了 4.8 倍,以最大利用率运行时可帮助实现超过 60% 的节省。有关更多信息,请参阅 ElastiCache 定价

监控

ElastiCache for Redis 提供了若干专用于监控使用数据分层功能的高性能集群的指标。要监控 DRAM 中的项目与 SSD 的比例,可以使用 Redis 的指标中的 CurrItems 指标。您可以按以下方式计算百分比:(带维度的 CurrItems:分层 = 内存 * 100)/(不带维度筛选器的 CurrItems)。当内存中的项目百分比降至 5% 以下时,我们建议您考虑横向扩展已启用集群模式的集群或者纵向扩展已禁用集群模式的群集。有关更多信息,请参阅 Redis 的指标中的适用于使用数据分层功能的 Redis 集群的指标

数据分层功能的使用

您可在创建复制组中的集群时选择 r6gd 系列的节点类型(例如 cache.r6gd.xlarge),从而使用数据分层功能。选择该节点类型将会自动启用数据分层功能。

有关创建集群的更多信息,请参阅创建集群

您可在使用 Amazon CLI 创建复制组时选择 r6gd 系列的节点类型(例如 cache.r6gd.xlarge)并设置 --data-tiering-enabled 参数,从而使用数据分层功能。

选择 r6gd 系列的节点类型时,您将不能选择停止使用数据分层功能。如果您设置 --no-data-tiering-enabled 参数,操作将会失败。

对于 Linux、macOS 或 Unix:

aws elasticache create-replication-group \ --replication-group-id redis-dt-cluster \ --replication-group-description "Redis cluster with data tiering" \ --num-node-groups 1 \ --replicas-per-node-group 1 \ --cache-node-type cache.r6gd.xlarge \ --engine redis \ --cache-subnet-group-name default \ --automatic-failover-enabled \ --data-tiering-enabled

对于 Windows:

aws elasticache create-replication-group ^ --replication-group-id redis-dt-cluster ^ --replication-group-description "Redis cluster with data tiering" ^ --num-node-groups 1 ^ --replicas-per-node-group 1 ^ --cache-node-type cache.r6gd.xlarge ^ --engine redis ^ --cache-subnet-group-name default ^ --automatic-failover-enabled ^ --data-tiering-enabled

运行此操作后,您将会看到一条与以下类似的响应:

{ "ReplicationGroup": { "ReplicationGroupId": "redis-dt-cluster", "Description": "Redis cluster with data tiering", "Status": "creating", "PendingModifiedValues": {}, "MemberClusters": [ "redis-dt-cluster" ], "AutomaticFailover": "enabled", "DataTiering": "enabled", "SnapshotRetentionLimit": 0, "SnapshotWindow": "06:00-07:00", "ClusterEnabled": false, "CacheNodeType": "cache.r6gd.xlarge", "TransitEncryptionEnabled": false, "AtRestEncryptionEnabled": false } }

将数据从备份还原到启用数据分层的集群

您可以通过(控制台)、(Amazon CLI) 或 (ElastiCache API) 将数据从备份还原到启用数据分层的新集群。当您使用 r6gd 系列的节点类型创建集群时,系统会启用数据分层。

从备份还原到启用数据分层的集群(控制台)

  1. 登录 Amazon Web Services Management Console 并打开 ElastiCache 控制台 (https://console.aws.amazon.com/elasticache/)。

  2. 从导航窗格中,选择 Backups(备份)。

  3. 在备份列表中,选择您要从中进行还原的备份名称左侧的复选框。

  4. 选择 Restore(还原)。

  5. 完成 Restore Cluster(还原集群)对话框。务必要填写所有 Required(必填)字段以及您希望更改原定设置的任何其他字段。

    1. Cluster ID(集群 ID)– 必填。新集群的名称。

    2. Cluster mode enabled(scale out)[已启用集群模式(横向扩展)] – 对 Redis(已启用集群模式)集群选择此项。

    3. Node Type(节点类型)– 选择 cache.r6gd.xlarge 或 r6gd 系列中的任何其他节点类型。

    4. Number of Shards(分片数量)– 选择您希望新集群拥有的分片(API/CLI:节点组)数量。

    5. Replicas per Shard(每个分区的副本数)– 选择您希望各分区拥有的只读副本节点数量。

    6. Slots and keyspaces(槽和键空间) – 选择您希望如何在分区之间分布键。如果您选择指定键分配,请完成为各分片指定键范围的表。

    7. Availability zone(s)(可用区)– 指定您希望如何选择集群的可用区。

    8. Port(端口)– 仅当您希望新集群使用不同端口时才更改此项。

    9. Choose a VPC(选择 VPC)– 选择要在其中创建此集群的 VPC。

    10. Parameter Group(参数组)– 选择为所选节点类型预留了足够 Redis 内存开销的参数组。

  6. 根据需要进行设置后,选择 Create(创建)。

有关创建集群的更多信息,请参阅创建集群

使用 Amazon CLI 创建复制组时,选择 r6gd 系列的节点类型(例如 cache.r6gd.xlarge)并设置 --data-tiering-enabled 参数后,系统会默认启用数据分层。

选择 r6gd 系列的节点类型时,您将不能选择停止使用数据分层功能。如果您设置 --no-data-tiering-enabled 参数,操作将会失败。

对于 Linux、macOS 或 Unix:

aws elasticache create-replication-group \ --replication-group-id redis-dt-cluster \ --replication-group-description "Redis cluster with data tiering" \ --num-node-groups 1 \ --replicas-per-node-group 1 \ --cache-node-type cache.r6gd.xlarge \ --engine redis \ --cache-subnet-group-name default \ --automatic-failover-enabled \ --data-tiering-enabled \ --snapshot-name my-snapshot

对于 Linux、macOS 或 Unix:

aws elasticache create-replication-group ^ --replication-group-id redis-dt-cluster ^ --replication-group-description "Redis cluster with data tiering" ^ --num-node-groups 1 ^ --replicas-per-node-group 1 ^ --cache-node-type cache.r6gd.xlarge ^ --engine redis ^ --cache-subnet-group-name default ^ --automatic-failover-enabled ^ --data-tiering-enabled ^ --snapshot-name my-snapshot

运行此操作后,您将会看到一条与以下类似的响应:

{ "ReplicationGroup": { "ReplicationGroupId": "redis-dt-cluster", "Description": "Redis cluster with data tiering", "Status": "creating", "PendingModifiedValues": {}, "MemberClusters": [ "redis-dt-cluster" ], "AutomaticFailover": "enabled", "DataTiering": "enabled", "SnapshotRetentionLimit": 0, "SnapshotWindow": "06:00-07:00", "ClusterEnabled": false, "CacheNodeType": "cache.r6gd.xlarge", "TransitEncryptionEnabled": false, "AtRestEncryptionEnabled": false } }