Evaluate your Streams usage - Amazon DynamoDB
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Evaluate your Streams usage

This section provides an overview of how to evaluate your DynamoDB Streams usage. There are certain usage patterns which are not optimal for DynamoDB, and they allow room for optimization from both a performance and cost perspective.

You have two native streaming integrations for streaming and event-driven use cases:

This page will just focus on cost optimization strategies for these options. If you'd like to instead find out how to choose between the two options, see Streaming options for change data capture.

Optimizing costs for DynamoDB Streams

As mentioned in the pricing page for DynamoDB Streams, regardless of the table’s throughput capacity mode, DynamoDB charges on the number of read requests made towards the table’s DynamoDB Stream. Read requests made towards a DynamoDB Stream are different from the read requests made towards a DynamoDB table.

Each read request in terms of the stream is in the form of a GetRecords API call that can return up to 1000 records or 1 MB worth of records in the response, whichever is reached first. None of the other DynamoDB Stream APIs are charged and DynamoDB Streams are not charged for being idle. In other words, if no read requests are made to a DynamoDB Stream, no charges will be incurred for having a DynamoDB Stream enabled on a table.

Here are a few consumer applications for DynamoDB Streams:

  • Amazon Lambda function(s)

  • Amazon Kinesis Data Streams-based applications

  • Customer consumer applications built using an Amazon SDK

Read requests made by Amazon Lambda-based consumers of DynamoDB Streams are free, whereas calls made by consumers of any other kind are charged. Every month, the first 2,500,000 read requests made by non-Lambda consumers are also free of cost. This applies to all read requests made to any DynamoDB Streams in an Amazon Account for each Amazon Region.

Monitoring your DynamoDB Streams usage

DynamoDB Streams charges on the billing console are grouped together for all DynamoDB Streams across the Amazon Region in an Amazon Account. Currently, tagging DynamoDB Streams is not supported, so cost allocation tags cannot be used to identify granular costs for DynamoDB Streams. The volume of GetRecords calls can be obtained at the DynamoDB Stream level to compute the charges per stream. The volume is represented by the DynamoDB Stream’s CloudWatch metric SuccessfulRequestLatency and its SampleCount statistic. This metric will also include GetRecords calls made by global tables to perform on-going replication as well as calls made by Amazon Lambda consumers, both of which are not charged. For information on other CloudWatch metrics published by DynamoDB Streams, see DynamoDB Metrics and dimensions.

Using Amazon Lambda as the consumer

Evaluate if using Amazon Lambda functions as the consumers for DynamoDB Streams is feasible because that can eliminate costs associated with reading from the DynamoDB Stream. On the other hand, DynamoDB Streams Kinesis Adapter or SDK based consumer applications will be charged on the number of GetRecords calls they make towards the DynamoDB Stream.

Lambda function invocations will be charged based on standard Lambda pricing, however no charges will be incurred by DynamoDB Streams. Lambda will poll shards in your DynamoDB Stream for records at a base rate of 4 times per second. When records are available, Lambda invokes your function and waits for the result. If processing succeeds, Lambda resumes polling until it receives more records.

Tuning DynamoDB Streams Kinesis Adapter-based consumer applications

Since read requests made by non-Lambda based consumers are charged for DynamoDB Streams, it is important to find a balance between the near real-time requirement and the number of times the consumer application must poll the DynamoDB Stream.

The frequency of polling DynamoDB Streams using a DynamoDB Streams Kinesis Adapter based application is determined by the configured idleTimeBetweenReadsInMillis value. This parameter determines the amount of time in milliseconds that the consumer should wait before processing a shard in case the previous GetRecords call made to the same shard did not return any records. By default, this value for this parameter is 1000 ms. If near real-time processing is not required, this parameter could be increased to have the consumer application make fewer GetRecords calls and optimize on DynamoDB Streams calls.

Optimizing costs for Kinesis Data Streams

When a Kinesis Data Stream is set as the destination to deliver change data capture events for a DynamoDB table, the Kinesis Data Stream may need separate sizing management which will affect the overall costs. DynamoDB charges in terms of Change Data capture Units (CDUs) where each unit is a made of up a 1 KB DynamoDB item size attempted by the DynamoDB service to the destination Kinesis Data Stream.

In addition to charges by the DynamoDB service, standard Kinesis Data Stream charges will be incurred. As mentioned in the pricing page, the service pricing differs based on the capacity mode - provisioned and on-demand, which are distinct from DynamoDB table capacity modes and are user-defined. At a high level, Kinesis Data Streams charges an hourly rate based on the capacity mode, as well as on data ingested into the stream by DynamoDB service. There may be additional charges like data retrieval (for on-demand mode), extended data retention (beyond default 24 hours), and enhanced fan-out consumer retrievals depending on the user configuration for the Kinesis Data Stream.

Monitoring your Kinesis Data Streams usage

Kinesis Data Streams for DynamoDB publishes metrics from DynamoDB in addition to standard Kinesis Data Stream CloudWatch Metrics. It may be possible that a Put attempt by the DynamoDB service is throttled by the Kinesis service because of insufficient Kinesis Data Streams capacity, or by dependent components like a Amazon KMS service that may be configured to encrypt the Kinesis Data Stream data at rest.

To learn more about CloudWatch metrics published by DynamoDB service for the Kinesis Data Stream, see Monitoring change data capture with Kinesis Data Streams. In order to avoid additional costs of service retries due to throttles, it is important to right size the Kinesis Data Stream in case of Provisioned Mode.

Choosing the right capacity mode for Kinesis Data Streams

Kinesis Data Streams are supported in two capacity modes – provisioned mode and on-demand mode.

  • If the workload involving Kinesis Data Stream has predictable application traffic, traffic that is consistent or ramps gradually, or traffic that can be forecasted accurately, then Kinesis Data Streams’ provisioned mode is suitable and will be more cost efficient

  • If the workload is new, has unpredictable application traffic, or you prefer not to manage capacity, then Kinesis Data Streams’ on-demand mode is suitable and will be more cost efficient

A best practice to optimize costs would be to evaluate if the DynamoDB table associated with the Kinesis Data Stream has a predictable traffic pattern that can leverage provisioned mode of Kinesis Data Streams. If the workload is new, you could use on-demand mode for the Kinesis Data Streams for a few initial weeks, review the CloudWatch metrics to understand traffic patterns, and then switch the same Stream to provisioned mode based on the nature of the workload. In the case of provisioned mode, estimation on number shards can be made by following shard management considerations for Kinesis Data Streams.

Evaluate your consumer applications using Kinesis Data Streams for DynamoDB

Since Kinesis Data Streams don’t charge on the number of GetRecords calls like DynamoDB Streams, consumer applications could make as many number of calls as possible, provided the frequency is under the throttling limits for GetRecords. In terms of on-demand mode for Kinesis Data Streams, data reads are charged on a per GB basis. For provisioned mode Kinesis Data Streams, reads are not charged if the data is less than 7 days old. In the case of Lambda functions as Kinesis Data Streams consumers, Lambda polls each shard in your Kinesis Stream for records at a base rate of once per second.

Cost optimization strategies for both types of Streams usage

Event filtering for Amazon Lambda consumers

Lambda event filtering allows you to discard events based on a filter criteria from being available in the Lambda function invocation batch. This optimizes Lambda costs for processing or discarding unwanted stream records within the consumer function logic. To learn more about configuring event filtering and writing your filtering criteria, see Lambda event filtering.

Tuning Amazon Lambda consumers

Costs could be further be optimized by tuning Lambda configuration parameters like increasing the BatchSize to process more per invocation, enabling BisectBatchOnFunctionError to prevent processing duplicates (which incurs additional costs), and setting MaximumRetryAttempts to not run into too many retries. By default, failed consumer Lambda invocations are retried infinitely until the record expires from the stream, which is around 24 hours for DynamoDB Streams and configurable from 24 hours to up to 1 year for Kinesis Data Streams. Additional Lambda configuration options available including the ones mentioned above for DynamoDB Stream consumers are in the Amazon Lambda developer guide.

评估您的 Streams 使用情况 - Amazon DynamoDB
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

评估您的 Streams 使用情况

本节概述如何评估您的 DynamoDB Streams 使用情况。有些使用模式对于 DynamoDB 来说不是最佳的,在性能和成本方面还有优化的空间。

对于流式传输和事件驱动的使用场景,您有两个原生流式传输集成:

本页仅侧重介绍这些选项的成本优化策略。如果您只是想知道如何在这两个选项之间作出选择,请参阅 更改数据捕获的流式传输选项

优化 DynamoDB Streams 的成本

正如 DynamoDB Streams 的定价页面所述,无论表的吞吐能力模式,DynamoDB 都基于对表的 DynamoDB Stream 的读取请求量来收费。对 DynamoDB Stream 的读取请求与对 DynamoDB 表的读取请求不同。

对 Stream 的每个读取请求采用的是 GetRecords API 调用形式,响应中可以返回最多 1000 条记录或 1MB 的记录,以先到达者为准。其他 DynamoDB Stream API 均不收费,也不对闲置的 DynamoDB Streams 收费。换言之,如果不对 DynamoDB Stream 发出读取请求,则表上启用了 DynamoDB Stream 并不会产生任何费用。

以下是 DynamoDB Streams 的一些使用器应用程序:

  • Amazon Lambda 函数

  • 基于 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 的应用程序

  • 使用 Amazon SDK 构建的客户使用器应用程序

由 DynamoDB Streams 的基于 Amazon Lambda 的使用器发出的读取请求是免费的,而由任何其他类型的使用器发出的调用都是收费的。每个月,由非 Lambda 使用器发出的前 250 万次读取请求也是免费的。这适用于每个 Amazon 区域的一个 Amazon 账户中对于任何 DynamoDB Streams 发出的所有读取请求。

监控您的 DynamoDB Streams 使用情况

在账单控制台上,Amazon 区域内一个 Amazon 账户中的所有 DynamoDB Streams 费用集中组成一组。目前,暂不支持标记 DynamoDB Streams,因此不能使用成本分配标签来进一步细分 DynamoDB Streams 的成本。可以获得 DynamoDB Stream 级别的 GetRecords 调用量来计算每个流的费用。音量由 DynamoDB 直播 CloudWatch 的SuccessfulRequestLatency指标及其统计数据表示。SampleCount该指标还将包括全局表为执行持续复制而进行的 GetRecords 调用,以及 Amazon Lambda 使用器进行的调用,两者均不收费。有关 DynamoDB Stream CloudWatch s 发布的其他指标的信息,请参阅。DynamoDB 指标与维度

使用 Amazon Lambda 作为使用器

评估使用 Amazon Lambda 函数作为 DynamoDB Streams 的使用器是否可行,因为这可以消除与读取 DynamoDB Stream 相关的成本。另一方面,对于基于 DynamoDB Streams Kinesis Adapter 或 SDK 的使用器应用程序,将根据它们对 DynamoDB Stream 的 GetRecords 调用次数来收费。

将根据标准 Lambda 定价对 Lambda 函数调用收费,但是 DynamoDB Streams 不会产生任何费用。Lambda 将以每秒 4 次的基本频率轮询 DynamoDB Stream 中的分片来获取记录。如果记录可用,Lambda 会调用函数并等待结果。如果处理成功,Lambda 会恢复轮询,直到其收到更多记录。

调整基于 DynamoDB Streams Kinesis Adapter 的使用器应用程序

因为对基于非 Lambda 的使用器发出的读取请求要收取 DynamoDB Streams 费用,所以,如何在近实时要求和使用者应用程序必须轮询 DynamoDB Stream 的次数之间找到一个平衡点非常重要。

使用基于 DynamoDB Streams Kinesis Adapter 的应用程序轮询 DynamoDB Streams 的频率由配置的 idleTimeBetweenReadsInMillis 值决定。该参数决定了使用器在对某个分片的 GetRecords 调用未返回任何记录时,需等待多久(以毫秒为单位)才能再次处理该分片。该参数的默认值为 1000ms。如果不需要近实时处理,则可以提高该参数值,以减少使用器应用程序的 GetRecords 调用次数,并对 DynamoDB Streams 调用进行优化。

优化 Kinesis Data Streams 的成本

将一个 Kinesis Data Stream 设置为目的地来传送 DynamoDB 表的变化数据捕获事件时,该 Kinesis Data Stream 可能需要单独的规模调整管理,而这将影响总体成本。DynamoDB 费用按变化数据捕获单位 (CDU) 来收取,每个单位由 DynamoDB 服务向目的地 Kinesis Data Stream 尝试传送的一个 DynamoDB 项目(大小最多 1KB)构成。

除了 DynamoDB 服务费用,还将产生标准 Kinesis Data Stream 费用。如定价页面所述,服务定价因容量模式(预置和按需模式)而异,这种容量模式与 DynamoDB 表容量模式不同,它们是由用户定义的。概言之,Kinesis Data Streams 费用是一种小时费率,基于容量模式以及 DynamoDB 服务摄取到流中的数据量。根据用户对 Kinesis Data Stream 的配置,可能会存在其他费用,例如数据检索(对于按需模式)、数据保留时间延长(超过默认的 24 小时)和增强的扇出式使用器检索等。

监控 Kinesis Data Streams 使用情况

除了标准的 Kinesis 数据流指标外,DynamoDB 版 Kinesis Data Streams 还会发布来自 DynamoDB 的指标。 CloudWatch DynamoDB 服务的 Put 尝试受到 Kinesis 服务节流(因 Kinesis Data Streams 容量不足),或者受到依赖组件(例如可能配置为加密静态 Kinesis Data Stream 数据的 Amazon KMS 服务)节流是有可能的。

要详细了解 DynamoDB 服务为 Kinesis 数据流发布的 CloudWatch 指标,请参阅。使用 Kinesis Data Streams 监控更改数据捕获为避免因节流而导致额外的服务重试费用,在预置模式下适当调整 Kinesis Data Stream 的大小非常重要。

为 Kinesis Data Streams 选择适当的容量模式

Kinesis Data Streams 有两种受支持的容量模式 - 预置模式和按需模式。

  • 如果涉及 Kinesis Data Stream 的工作负载具有可预测的应用程序流量、稳定或逐渐增加的流量或者可以准确预测的流量,那么选择 Kinesis Data Streams 预置模式合适,并且具有较好的成本效益

  • 如果工作负载是新的,具有不可预测的应用程序流量,或者您不想管理容量,那么 Kinesis Data Streams 的按需模式合适,并且具有较好的成本效益

优化成本的一种最佳实践是,评估与 Kinesis Data Stream 关联的 DynamoDB 表是否具有可预测的流量模式,且该模式可以利用 Kinesis Data Streams 的预置模式。如果工作负载是新的,则可以在最初的几周内对 Kinesis Data Streams 使用按需模式,查看 CloudWatch 指标以了解流量模式,然后根据工作负载的性质将同一 Stream 切换到预配置模式。在预置模式下,遵循 Kinesis Data Streams 的分片管理注意事项来估算分片数量。

使用 Kinesis Data Streams for DynamoDB 评估使用器应用程序

由于 Kinesis Data Streams 不对像 DynamoDB Streams 这样的 GetRecords 调用收费,所以使用器应用程序可以进行任意次调用,但前提是频率低于 GetRecords 的节流限制。在 Kinesis Data Streams 的按需模式下,按 GB 量收取数据读取费。对于 Kinesis Data Streams 的预置模式,如果数据存储时间少于 7 天,则不收取读取费用。当 Lambda 函数作为 Kinesis Data Streams 使用器时,Lambda 按每秒一次的基本频率轮询 Kinesis Stream 中的每个分片以获取记录。

两种 Streams 使用模式的成本优化策略

用于 Amazon Lambda 使用器的事件筛选

Lambda 事件筛选允许您基于筛选条件丢弃 Lambda 函数调用批处理中的事件。这将优化在使用者函数逻辑中处理或丢弃不需要的流记录的 Lambda 成本。要了解有关配置事件筛选和编写筛选条件的更多信息,请参阅 Lambda 事件筛选

调整 Amazon Lambda 使用器

可以通过调整 Lambda 配置参数来进一步优化成本,例如提高 BatchSize 来增加每次调用的处理量,启用 BisectBatchOnFunctionError 来防止处理重复项(这会产生额外成本),以及设置 MaximumRetryAttempts 以免过多重试。默认情况下,失败的使用器 Lambda 调用会重试无限次,直到记录在流中过期,对于 DynamoDB Streams,记录的过期时间大约为 24 小时,对于 Kinesis Data Streams,过期时间可以配置为从 24 小时到最长 1 年。有关其他可用的 Lambda 配置选项,包括上面提到的 DynamoDB Stream 使用器的配置选项,请参阅 Amazon Lambda 开发人员指南