Global tables - multi-Region replication for DynamoDB - Amazon DynamoDB
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Global tables - multi-Region replication for DynamoDB

There are two versions of DynamoDB global tables available: Version 2019.11.21 (Current) and Version 2017.11.29. To find out which version you are using, see Determining the version.

Amazon DynamoDB global tables provide a fully managed solution for deploying a multi-Region, multi-active database, without having to build and maintain your own replication solution. You can specify the Amazon Regions where you want the tables to be available and DynamoDB will propagate ongoing data changes to all of them.

DynamoDB global tables are ideal for massively scaled applications with globally dispersed users. In such an environment, users expect very fast application performance. Global tables provide automatic multi-active replication to Amazon Regions worldwide. They enable you to deliver low-latency data access to your users no matter where they are located.

The following video will give you an introductory look at global tables.

Replicate data seamlessly across Regions with global tables

Suppose you have a large customer base spread across three geographic areas—the US East Coast, the US West Coast, and Western Europe. These customers can update their profile information using your application. To satisfy this use case, you need to create three identical DynamoDB tables named CustomerProfiles, in three different Amazon Regions where the customers are located. These three tables would be entirely separate from each other—changes to the data in one table would not be reflected in the others. Without a managed replication solution, you would have to write code to replicate the data changes. However, doing this would be a time-consuming and labor-intensive effort.

Instead of writing your own code, you could create a global table consisting of your three Region-specific CustomerProfiles tables. DynamoDB would then automatically replicate data changes among those tables so that changes to CustomerProfiles data in one Region would seamlessly propagate to the other Regions. In addition, if one of the Amazon Regions were to become temporarily unavailable, your customers could still access the same CustomerProfiles data in the other Regions.

If the replicas in different regions have different access patterns, each replica can use a different table class to optimize cost and performance. For example, an infrequently accessed replica can use the DynamoDB Standard-Infrequent Access table class, while other replicas use the DynamoDB Standard table class for frequently-accessed data, where throughput is the dominant cost.

Note
  • Region support for global tables Version 2017.11.29 is limited to US East (N. Virginia), US East (Ohio), US West (N. California), US West (Oregon), Europe (Ireland), Europe (London), Europe (Frankfurt), Asia Pacific (Singapore), Asia Pacific (Sydney), Asia Pacific (Tokyo), and Asia Pacific (Seoul).

  • Transactional operations provide atomicity, consistency, isolation, and durability (ACID) guarantees only within the region where the write is made originally. Transactions are not supported across regions in global tables. For example, if you have a global table with replicas in the US East (Ohio) and US West (Oregon) regions and perform a TransactWriteItems operation in the US East (N. Virginia) Region, you may observe partially completed transactions in US West (Oregon) Region as changes are replicated. Changes will only be replicated to other regions once they have been committed in the source region.

  • If you disable an Amazon Region, DynamoDB will remove this replica from the replication group, 20 hours after detecting the Amazon Region as inaccessible. The replica will not be deleted and replication will stop from and to this region.

  • You must wait 24 hours from the time you add a read replica to successfully delete a source table. If you attempt to delete a table during the first 24 hours after adding a read replica, you will receive an error message stating: "Replica cannot be deleted because it has acted as a source region for new replicas being added in the table in the last 24 hours".

For information about the Amazon Region availability and pricing, see Amazon DynamoDB Pricing.

Provide security and access for your global tables with Amazon KMS

  • You can perform Amazon KMS operations on your global tables by using the AWSServiceRoleForDynamoDBReplication service-linked role against the customer managed key or the Amazon managed key used to encrypt the replica.

  • If the customer managed key used to encrypt a replica is inaccessible, DynamoDB will remove this replica from the replication group. The replica will not be deleted and replication will stop from and to this region, 20 hours after detecting the KMS key as inaccessible.

  • If you want to disable your customer managed key that is used to encrypt a replica table, you must do so only if the key is no longer used to encrypt a replica table. After issuing a command to delete a replica table, you must wait for the delete operation to complete and for the global table to become Active before disabling the key. Not doing so could result in partial data replication from and to the replica table.

  • If you want to modify or delete your IAM role policy for the replica table, you must do so when the replica table is in the Active state. If you don’t do this, creating, updating, or deleting the replica table could fail.

Note

Customer Managed Key (CMK) is not supported in Version 2017.11.29. If you want to use a CMK in a DynamoDB Global Table, you need to upgrade the table to Version 2019.11.21 (Current) and then enable it.

全局表 - DynamoDB 的多区域复制 - Amazon DynamoDB
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

全局表 - DynamoDB 的多区域复制

DynamoDB 全局表有两种版本:版本 2019.11.21(当前)版本 2017.11.29。要找出正在使用的版本,请参阅 确定版本

Amazon DynamoDB 全局表 为部署多区域、多活跃数据库提供了完全托管式解决方案,而不必构建和维护您自己的复制解决方案。您可以指定您希望表可用且 DynamoDB 将持续数据更改传播到所有这些表的 Amazon 区域。

DynamoDB 全局表非常适合用户遍布全球各地的大规模应用程序。在此类环境中,用户需要非常快的应用程序性能。全局表向全球各地的 Amazon 区域提供自动的多活跃复制。这使得您可以向用户提供低延迟的数据访问,而无论他们身在何处。

以下视频将向您介绍全局表。

使用全局表跨区域无缝复制数据

假设您有一个大型客户群跨越三个地理区域:美国东海岸、美国西海岸和西欧。这些客户可以使用您的应用程序更新其配置文件信息。为了满足该使用案例,您需要在客户所在的三个不同的 Amazon 区域中创建三个名为 CustomerProfiles 的完全相同的 DynamoDB 表。这三个表将完全彼此独立 — 对一个表中数据进行的更改不会反映在其他表中。如果没有托管式复制解决方案,您将不得不编写代码以复制数据更改。但是,这会是一个非常耗时的劳动密集型工作。

现在,您可以创建由三个特定于区域的 CustomerProfiles 表组成的全局表,而无需编写自己的代码。然后,DynamoDB 会自动在这些表中复制数据更改,这样一个区域的 CustomerProfiles 数据更改将无缝传播到其他区域。此外,如果某个 Amazon 区域临时变得不可用,您的客户仍可以在其他区域中访问相同的 CustomerProfiles 数据。

如果不同区域的副本具有不同的访问模式,则每个副本可以使用不同的表类别来优化成本和性能。例如,不经常访问的副本可以使用 DynamoDB 标准-不经常访问表类别,而其他副本使用 DynamoDB 标准表类别来获取经常访问的数据,其中吞吐量占据主要成本。

注意
  • 对全局表 版本 2017.11.29 的区域支持仅限于美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)、美国东部(俄亥俄)、美国西部(加利福尼亚北部)、美国西部(俄勒冈)、欧洲(爱尔兰)、欧洲(伦敦)、欧洲(法兰克福)、亚太地区(新加坡)、亚太地区(悉尼)、亚太地区(东京)和亚太地区(首尔)。

  • 事务操作仅在最初写入的区域内提供原子性、一致性、隔离性和持久性 (ACID) 保证。全局表中不支持跨区域的事务。例如,如果您有一个全局表,该表在美国东部(俄亥俄州)和美国西部(俄勒冈州)区域中具有副本,并且在美国东部(弗吉尼亚州北部)区域中执行 TransactWriteItems 操作,则在复制更改时,可能会在美国西部(俄勒冈州)区域观察到部分完成的事务。更改仅在源区域中提交后才会复制到其他区域。

  • 如果您禁用 Amazon 区域,DynamoDB 将在检测到 Amazon 区域为无法访问 20 小时后从复制组删除此副本。复制副本将不会被删除,将停止与此区域之间复制。

  • 在添加只读副本后,您必须等待 24 小时才能成功删除源表。如果在添加只读副本后的前 24 小时内尝试删除表,您将收到一条错误消息,指出:“无法删除副本,因为它已作为过去 24 小时内添加到表中的新副本的源区域”。

有关 Amazon 区域可用性和定价的信息,请参阅 Amazon DynamoDB 定价

使用 Amazon KMS 为全局表提供安全性和访问权限

  • 您可以对用于加密复制副本的客户托管式密钥Amazon 托管式密钥使用 AWSServiceRoleForDynamoDBReplication 服务相关角色,从而对全局表执行 Amazon KMS 操作。

  • 如果用于加密复制副本的客户托管式密钥无法访问,DynamoDB 将从复制组中删除此复制副本。复制副本将不会被删除,并且将在检测到 KMS 密钥为无法访问 20 小时后停止在此区域之间复制。

  • 如果希望禁用用于加密副本表的客户托管密钥,则只有当密钥不再用于加密副本表时,才必须执行此操作。发出删除副本表的命令后,必须等待删除操作完成并使全局表变为 Active,之后才能禁用密钥。不这样做可能会导致与副本表之间部分复制数据

  • 如果要修改或删除副本表的 IAM 角色策略,则必须在副本表位于 Active 状态。如果不执行此操作,则创建、更新或删除副本表可能会失败。

注意

版本 2017.11.29 中不支持客户托管式密钥 (CMK)。如果您想在 DynamoDB 全局表中使用 CMK,则需要将表升级到版本 2019.11.21(当前),然后启用它。