Cost optimization - Amazon Web Services Support
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Cost optimization

You can use the following checks for the cost optimization category.

Amazon EC2 instances over-provisioned for Microsoft SQL Server

Description

Checks your Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances that are running SQL Server in the past 24 hours. An SQL Server database has a compute capacity limit for each instance. An instance with SQL Server Standard edition can use up to 48 vCPUs. An instance with SQL Server Web can use up to 32 vCPUs. This check alerts you if an instance exceeds this vCPU limit.

If your instance is over-provisioned, you pay full price without realizing an improvement in performance. You can manage the number and size of your instances to help lower costs.

Estimated monthly savings are calculated by using the same instance family with the maximum number of vCPUs that an SQL Server instance can use and the On-Demand pricing. Actual savings will vary if you’re using Reserved Instances (RI) or if the instance isn’t running for a full day.

Note

Results for this check are automatically refreshed several times daily, and refresh requests are not allowed. It might take a few hours for changes to appear. Currently, you can’t exclude resources from this check.

Check ID

Qsdfp3A4L1

Alert Criteria
  • Red: An instance with SQL Server Standard edition has more than 48 vCPUs.

  • Red: An instance with SQL Server Web edition has more than 32 vCPUs.

Recommended Action

For SQL Server Standard edition, consider changing to an instance in the same instance family with 48 vCPUs. For SQL Server Web edition, consider changing to an instance in the same instance family with 32 vCPUs. If it is memory intensive, consider changing to memory optimized R5 instances. For more information, see Best Practices for Deploying Microsoft SQL Server on Amazon EC2.

Additional Resources
Report columns
  • Status

  • Region

  • Instance ID

  • Instance Type

  • vCPU

  • SQL Server Edition

  • Maximum vCPU

  • Recommended Instance Type

  • Estimated Monthly Savings

  • Last Updated Time

Idle Load Balancers

Description

Checks your Elastic Load Balancing configuration for load balancers that are idle.

Any load balancer that is configured accrues charges. If a load balancer has no associated back-end instances, or if network traffic is severely limited, the load balancer is not being used effectively. This check currently only checks for Classic Load Balancer type within ELB service. It does not include other ELB types (Application Load Balancer, Network Load Balancer).

Check ID

hjLMh88uM8

Alert Criteria
  • Yellow: A load balancer has no active back-end instances.

  • Yellow: A load balancer has no healthy back-end instances.

  • Yellow: A load balancer has had less than 100 requests per day for the last 7 days.

Recommended Action

If your load balancer has no active back-end instances, consider registering instances or deleting your load balancer. See Registering Your Amazon EC2 Instances with Your Load Balancer or Delete Your Load Balancer.

If your load balancer has no healthy back-end instances, see Troubleshooting Elastic Load Balancing: Health Check Configuration.

If your load balancer has had a low request count, consider deleting your load balancer. See Delete Your Load Balancer.

Additional Resources
Report columns
  • Region

  • Load Balancer Name

  • Reason

  • Estimated Monthly Savings

Unassociated Elastic IP Addresses

Description

Checks for Elastic IP addresses (EIPs) that are not associated with a running Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instance.

EIPs are static IP addresses designed for dynamic cloud computing. Unlike traditional static IP addresses, EIPs mask the failure of an instance or Availability Zone by remapping a public IP address to another instance in your account. A nominal charge is imposed for an EIP that is not associated with a running instance.

Check ID

Z4AUBRNSmz

Alert Criteria

Yellow: An allocated Elastic IP address (EIP) is not associated with a running Amazon EC2 instance.

Recommended Action

Associate the EIP with a running active instance, or release the unassociated EIP. For more information, see Associating an Elastic IP Address with a Different Running Instance and Releasing an Elastic IP Address.

Additional Resources

Elastic IP Addresses

Report columns
  • Region

  • IP Address

成本优化 - Amazon Web Services Support
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

成本优化

您可以使用以下成本优化类别检查。

使用 Microsoft SQL Server 的 Amazon EC2 实例超限预置

描述

检查过去 24 小时内运行 SQL Server 的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud(Amazon EC2)实例。SQL Server 数据库对每个实例都有计算容量限制。使用 SQL Server Standard 版的实例最多可以使用 48 个 vCPU。使用 SQL Server Web 版的实例最多可以使用 32 个 vCPU。如果实例超过此 vCPU 限制,则此检查会提示您。

如果您的实例超限预置,则您需要支付全部费用,但并没有实现性能提升。您可以管理实例的数量和大小以帮助降低成本。

预估每月节省基于同一实例系列以及一个 SQL Server 实例可以使用的最大 vCPU 数和按需定价。如果您使用的是预留实例(RI),或者实例未全天运行,则实际节省将会不同。

注意

此检查的结果将每天自动刷新多次,并且不允许刷新请求。更改可能需要几个小时才能显示。当前,您无法从此检查中排除资源。

检查 ID

Qsdfp3A4L1

提醒条件
  • 红色:使用 SQL Server Standard 版的实例具有超过 48 个 vCPU。

  • 红色:使用 SQL Server Web 版的实例具有超过 32 个 vCPU。

Recommended Action(建议的操作)

对于 SQL Server Standard 版,请考虑更改为同一实例系列中具有 48 个 vCPU 的实例。对于 SQL Server Web 版,请考虑更改为同一实例系列中具有 32 个 vCPU 的实例。如果占用大量内存,请考虑更改为内存优化的 R5 实例。有关更多信息,请参阅在 Amazon EC2 上部署 Microsoft SQL Server 的最佳实践

其他资源
报告列
  • 状态

  • 区域

  • 实例 ID

  • 实例类型

  • vCPU

  • SQL Server 版本

  • 最大 vCPU 数

  • 推荐的实例类型

  • 预估每月节省

  • 上次更新时间

闲置的负载均衡器

描述

检查 Elastic Load Balancing 配置中有无闲置的负载均衡器。

配置的任何负载均衡器都会产生费用。如果负载均衡器没有关联的后端实例,或者如果网络流量受到严重限制,则无法有效地使用负载均衡器。此检查目前仅检查 ELB 服务中的经典负载均衡器类型。它不包括其他 ELB 类型(Application Load Balancer、Network Load Balancer)。

检查 ID

hjLMh88uM8

提醒条件
  • 黄色:负载均衡器没有活跃的后端实例。

  • 黄色:负载均衡器没有运行状况正常的后端实例。

  • 黄色:在过去 7 天内,负载均衡器每天的请求数少于 100 个。

Recommended Action(建议的操作)

如果您的负载均衡器没有活跃的后端实例,则考虑注册实例或删除负载均衡器。请参阅使用负载均衡器注册 Amazon EC2 实例删除负载均衡器

如果您的负载均衡器没有运行正常的后端实例,请参阅对 Elastic Load Balancing 进行问题排查:运行状况检查配置

如果您的负载均衡器的请求数较低,则考虑删除负载均衡器。请参阅删除负载均衡器

其他资源
报告列
  • 区域

  • 负载均衡器名称

  • Reason

  • 预估每月节省

未关联的弹性 IP 地址

描述

检查与正在运行的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例没有关联的弹性 IP 地址 (EIP)。

EIP 是专为动态云计算设计的静态 IP 地址。与传统的静态 IP 地址不同,EIP 通过将公有 IP 地址重新映射到您的账户中的另一个实例来屏蔽实例或可用区故障。针对与正在运行的实例无关的 EIP,将收取名义费用。

检查 ID

Z4AUBRNSmz

提醒条件

黄色:分配的弹性 IP 地址(EIP)没有与正在运行的 Amazon EC2 实例关联。

Recommended Action(建议的操作)

将 EIP 与运行的活跃实例关联,或释放未关联的 EIP。有关更多信息,请参阅将弹性 IP 地址与不同的运行实例关联释放弹性 IP 地址

其他资源

弹性 IP 地址

报告列
  • 区域

  • IP 地址