Application load balancing on Amazon EKS - Amazon EKS
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Application load balancing on Amazon EKS

When you create a Kubernetes ingress, an Amazon Application Load Balancer (ALB) is provisioned that load balances application traffic. To learn more, see What is an Application Load Balancer? in the Application Load Balancers User Guide and Ingress in the Kubernetes documentation. ALBs can be used with pods that are deployed to nodes or to Amazon Fargate. You can deploy an ALB to public or private subnets.

Application traffic is balanced at L7 of the OSI model. To load balance network traffic at L4, you deploy a Kubernetes service of the LoadBalancer type. This type provisions an Amazon Network Load Balancer. For more information, see Network load balancing on Amazon EKS. To learn more about the differences between the two types of load balancing, see Elastic Load Balancing features on the Amazon website.

Prerequisites

Before you can load balance application traffic to an application, you must meet the following requirements.

  • Have an existing cluster. If you don't have an existing cluster, see Getting started with Amazon EKS. If you need to update the version of an existing cluster, see Updating an Amazon EKS cluster Kubernetes version.

  • Have the Amazon Load Balancer Controller deployed on your cluster. For more information, see Installing the Amazon Load Balancer Controller add-on. We recommend version 2.4.2 or later for 1.19 or later clusters. If your cluster is earlier than 1.19, then we recommend using version 2.3.1.

  • At least two subnets in different Availability Zones. The Amazon Load Balancer Controller chooses one subnet from each Availability Zone. When multiple tagged subnets are found in an Availability Zone, the controller chooses the subnet whose subnet ID comes first lexicographically. Each subnet must have at least eight available IP addresses.

    If you're using multiple security groups attached to worker node, exactly one security group must be tagged as follows. Replace cluster-name with your cluster name.

    • Keykubernetes.io/cluster/cluster-name

    • Valueshared or owned

  • If you're using the Amazon Load Balancer Controller version 2.1.1 or earlier, subnets must be tagged in the format that follows. If you're using version 2.1.2 or later, tagging is optional. However, we recommend that you tag a subnet if any of the following is the case. You have multiple clusters that are running in the same VPC, or have multiple Amazon services that share subnets in a VPC. Or, you want more control over where load balancers are provisioned for each cluster. Replace cluster-name with your cluster name.

    • Keykubernetes.io/cluster/cluster-name

    • Valueshared or owned

  • Your public and private subnets must meet the following requirements. This is unless you explicitly specify subnet IDs as an annotation on a service or ingress object. Assume that you provision load balancers by explicitly specifying subnet IDs as an annotation on a service or ingress object. In this situation, Kubernetes and the Amazon load balancer controller use those subnets directly to create the load balancer and the following tags aren't required.

    • Private subnets – Must be tagged in the following format. This is so that Kubernetes and the Amazon load balancer controller know that the subnets can be used for internal load balancers. If you use eksctl or an Amazon EKS Amazon CloudFormation template to create your VPC after March 26, 2020, the subnets are tagged appropriately when created. For more information about the Amazon EKS Amazon CloudFormation VPC templates, see Creating a VPC for your Amazon EKS cluster.

      • Keykubernetes.io/role/internal-elb

      • Value1

    • Public subnets – Must be tagged in the following format. This is so that Kubernetes knows to use only the subnets that were specified for external load balancers. This way, Kubernetes doesn't choose a public subnet in each Availability Zone (lexicographically based on their subnet ID). If you use eksctl or an Amazon EKS Amazon CloudFormation template to create your VPC after March 26, 2020, the subnets are tagged appropriately when created. For more information about the Amazon EKS Amazon CloudFormation VPC templates, see Creating a VPC for your Amazon EKS cluster.

      • Keykubernetes.io/role/elb

      • Value1

    If the subnet role tags aren't explicitly added, the Kubernetes service controller examines the route table of your cluster VPC subnets. This is to determine if the subnet is private or public. We recommend that you don't rely on this behavior. Rather, explicitly add the private or public role tags. The Amazon Load Balancer Controller doesn't examine route tables. It also requires the private and public tags to be present for successful auto discovery.

Considerations

  • The Amazon Load Balancer Controller creates ALBs and the necessary supporting Amazon resources whenever a Kubernetes ingress resource is created on the cluster with the kubernetes.io/ingress.class: alb annotation. The ingress resource configures the ALB to route HTTP or HTTPS traffic to different pods within the cluster. To ensure that your ingress objects use the Amazon Load Balancer Controller, add the following annotation to your Kubernetes ingress specification. For more information, see Ingress specification on GitHub.

    annotations: kubernetes.io/ingress.class: alb
    Note

    If you're load balancing to IPv6 pods, add the following annotation to your ingress spec. You can only load balance over IPv6 to IP targets, not instance targets. Without this annotation, load balancing is over IPv4.

    alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/ip-address-type: dualstack
  • The Amazon Load Balancer Controller supports the following traffic modes:

    • Instance – Registers nodes within your cluster as targets for the ALB. Traffic reaching the ALB is routed to NodePort for your service and then proxied to your pods. This is the default traffic mode. You can also explicitly specify it with the alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/target-type: instance annotation.

      Note

      Your Kubernetes service must specify the NodePort or "LoadBalancer" type to use this traffic mode.

    • IP – Registers pods as targets for the ALB. Traffic reaching the ALB is directly routed to pods for your service. You must specify the alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/target-type: ip annotation to use this traffic mode. The IP target type is required when target pods are running on Fargate.

  • To tag ALBs created by the controller, add the following annotation to the controller: alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/tags. For a list of all available annotations supported by the Amazon Load Balancer Controller, see Ingress annotations on GitHub.

  • Upgrading or downgrading the ALB controller version can introduce breaking changes for features that rely on it. For more information about the breaking changes that are introduced in each release, see the ALB controller release notes on GitHub.

To share an application load balancer across multiple service resources using IngressGroups

To join an ingress to a group, add the following annotation to a Kubernetes ingress resource specification.

alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/group.name: my-group

The group name must:

  • Be 63 or fewer characters in length.

  • Consist of lower case letters, numbers, -, and .

  • Start and end with a letter or number.

The controller automatically merges ingress rules for all ingresses in the same ingress group. It supports them with a single ALB. Most annotations that are defined on an ingress only apply to the paths defined by that ingress. By default, ingress resources don't belong to any ingress group.

Warning

Potential security risk: Specify an ingress group for an ingress only when all the Kubernetes users that have RBAC permission to create or modify ingress resources are within the same trust boundary. If you add the annotation with a group name, other Kubernetes users might create or modify their ingresses to belong to the same ingress group. Doing so can cause undesirable behavior, such as overwriting existing rules with higher priority rules.

You can add an order number of your ingress resource.

alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/group.order: '10'

The number can be 1-1000. The lowest number for all ingresses in the same ingress group is evaluated first. All ingresses without this annotation are evaluated with a value of zero. Duplicate rules with a higher number can overwrite rules with a lower number. By default, the rule order between ingresses within the same ingress group is determined lexicographically based namespace and name.

Important

Ensure that each ingress in the same ingress group has a unique priority number. You can't have duplicate order numbers across ingresses.

(Optional) Deploy a sample application

Prerequisites

To deploy a sample application

You can run the sample application on a cluster that has Amazon EC2 nodes, Fargate pods, or both.

  1. If you're not deploying to Fargate, skip this step. If you're deploying to Fargate, create a Fargate profile. You can create the profile by running the following command or in the Amazon Web Services Management Console using the same values for name and namespace that are in the command. Replace the example values with your own.

    eksctl create fargateprofile \ --cluster my-cluster \ --region region-code \ --name alb-sample-app \ --namespace game-2048
  2. Deploy the game 2048 as a sample application to verify that the Amazon Load Balancer Controller creates an Amazon ALB as a result of the ingress object. Complete the steps for the type of subnet you're deploying to.

    1. If you're deploying to pods in a cluster that you created with the IPv6 family, skip to the next step.

      • Public

        kubectl apply -f https://raw.githubusercontent.com/kubernetes-sigs/aws-load-balancer-controller/v2.4.2/docs/examples/2048/2048_full.yaml
      • Private

        1. Download the manifest.

          curl -o 2048_full.yaml https://raw.githubusercontent.com/kubernetes-sigs/aws-load-balancer-controller/v2.4.2/docs/examples/2048/2048_full.yaml
        2. Edit the file and find the line that says alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/scheme: internet-facing.

        3. Change internet-facing to internal and save the file.

        4. Apply the manifest to your cluster.

          kubectl apply -f 2048_full.yaml
    2. If you're deploying to pods in a cluster that you created with the IPv6 family, complete the following steps.

      1. Download the manifest.

        curl -o 2048_full.yaml https://raw.githubusercontent.com/kubernetes-sigs/aws-load-balancer-controller/v2.4.2/docs/examples/2048/2048_full.yaml
      2. Open the file in an editor and add the following line to the annotations in the ingress spec.

        alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/ip-address-type: dualstack
      3. If you're load balancing to internal pods, rather than internet facing pods, change the line that says alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/scheme: internet-facing to alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/scheme: internal

      4. Save the file.

      5. Apply the manifest to your cluster.

        kubectl apply -f 2048_full.yaml
  3. After a few minutes, verify that the ingress resource was created with the following command.

    kubectl get ingress/ingress-2048 -n game-2048

    The example output is as follows.

    NAME CLASS HOSTS ADDRESS PORTS AGE ingress-2048 <none> * k8s-game2048-ingress2-xxxxxxxxxx-yyyyyyyyyy.region-code.elb.amazonaws.com.cn 80 2m32s
    Note

    If you created the load balancer in a private subnet, the value under ADDRESS in the previous output is prefaced with internal-.

    If your ingress wasn't successfully created after several minutes, run the following command to view the Amazon Load Balancer Controller logs. These logs might contain error messages that you can use to diagnose issues with your deployment.

    kubectl logs -n kube-system deployment.apps/aws-load-balancer-controller
  4. If you deployed to a public subnet, open a browser and navigate to the ADDRESS URL from the previous command output to see the sample application. If you don't see anything, refresh your browser and try again. If you deployed to a private subnet, then you'll need to view the page from a device within your VPC, such as a bastion host. For more information, see Linux Bastion Hosts on Amazon.

    
                        2048 sample application
  5. When you finish experimenting with your sample application, delete it by running one of the the following commands.

    • If you applied the manifest, rather than applying a copy that you downloaded, use the following command.

      kubectl delete -f https://raw.githubusercontent.com/kubernetes-sigs/aws-load-balancer-controller/v2.4.2/docs/examples/2048/2048_full.yaml
    • If you downloaded and edited the manifest, use the following command.

      kubectl delete -f 2048_full.yaml

Amazon EKS 上的应用程序负载均衡 - Amazon EKS
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

Amazon EKS 上的应用程序负载均衡

当您创建 Kubernetes ingress 时,会预置一个 Amazon Application Load Balancer ALB),以实现应用程序流量负载均衡。要了解详情,请参阅 Application Load Balancer 用户指南中的“什么是 Application Load Balancer?”,以及 Kubernetes 文档中的入口。ALB 可以与部署到节点或 Amazon Fargate 的容器一起使用。您可以将 ALB 部署到公有子网或私有子网。

应用程序流量在 OSI 模型的 L7 上实现均衡。要在 L4 上加载均衡的网络流量,您可以部署 LoadBalancer 的 Kubernetes service。这种类型将预置 Amazon Network Load Balancer。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EKS 上的网络负载均衡。要了解更多有关两种负载均衡类型之间差异的信息,请参阅 Amazon 网站上的 Elastic Load Balancing 功能

先决条件

在对应用程序的应用程序流量进行负载均衡之前,您必须符合以下要求。

  • 拥有现有集群。如果没有现有集群,请参阅 开始使用 Amazon EKS。如果您需要更新现有集群的版本,请参阅 更新集群

  • 在集群上部署 Amazon Load Balancer Controller。有关更多信息,请参阅 安装 Amazon Load Balancer Controller 附加组件。对于 1.19 或更高版本的集群,我们建议使用 2.4.0 或更高版本。如果您的集群早于 1.19 版本,则我们建议使用 2.3.1 版本。

  • 至少两个子网位于不同的可用区。Amazon负载均衡器控制器从每个可用区中选择一个子网。如果在一个可用区中发现多个标记子网,则该控制器会按子网 ID 的字典顺序选择第子网。每个子网必须具有至少 8 个可用 IP 地址。

    如果您使用的是挂载到 Worker 节点的多个安全组,则必须按如下方式标记一个安全组。将 cluster-name 替换为您的集群名称。

    • 密钥kubernetes.io/cluster/cluster-name

    • sharedowned

  • 如果您使用的是 Amazon 负载均衡器控制器版本 v2.1.1 或更早版本,则必须按如下格式标记子网。如果使用版本 2.1.2 或更高版本,则此标记是可选的。但是,如果出现以下任一情况,我们建议您标记子网。您有多个集群在同一 VPC 中运行,或者有多个 Amazon 服务在 VPC 中共享子网。或者,您希望更好地控制为每个集群配置的负载均衡器的位置。将 cluster-name 替换为您的集群名称。

    • 密钥kubernetes.io/cluster/cluster-name

    • sharedowned

  • 您的公有子网和私有子网必须满足以下要求。除非您明确指定子网 ID 作为服务或入口对象的注释。假设您通过明确指定子网 ID 作为服务或入口对象的注释来预置负载均衡器。在这种情况下,Kubernetes 和 Amazon 负载均衡器控制器会直接使用这些子网创建负载均衡器,并且不需要以下标签。

    • 私有子网:必须采用以下格式标记。这样 Kubernetes 和 Amazon 负载均衡器控制器就会知道子网可用于内部负载均衡器。如果您在 2020 年 3 月 26 日之后使用 eksctl 或 Amazon EKS Amazon CloudFormation 模板创建 VPC,则在创建子网时会对子网进行适当标记。有关 Amazon EKS Amazon CloudFormation VPC 模板的更多信息,请参阅 为 Amazon EKS 集群创建 VPC

      • 密钥kubernetes.io/role/internal-elb

      • 1

    • 公有子网:必须采用以下格式标记。如此一来,Kubernetes 将知道仅使用为外部负载均衡器指定的子网。这样,Kubernetes 不会在每个可用区中选择一个公有子网(根据其子网 ID 按字典顺序排列)。如果您在 2020 年 3 月 26 日之后使用 eksctl 或 Amazon EKS Amazon CloudFormation 模板创建 VPC,则在创建子网时会对子网进行适当标记。有关 Amazon EKS Amazon CloudFormation VPC 模板的更多信息,请参阅 为 Amazon EKS 集群创建 VPC

      • 密钥kubernetes.io/role/elb

      • 1

    如果未显式添加子网角色标签,则 Kubernetes 服务控制器将检查您的集群 VPC 子网的路由表。这是为了确定子网是私有还是公有。我们建议您不要依赖此行为。相反,明确添加私有或公有角色标签。Amazon 负载均衡器控制器不检查路由表。它还需要私有标签和公有标签才能成功实现自动发现。

注意事项

  • 每当使用 kubernetes.io/ingress.class: alb 注释在集群上创建 Kubernetes 入口资源时,Amazon 负载均衡器控制器就会创建 ALB 和必要的支持 Amazon 资源。入口资源会配置 ALB 以便将 HTTP 或 HTTPS 流量路由到集群中的其他容器。要确保您的入口对象使用 Amazon 负载均衡器控制器,请将以下注释添加到您的 Kubernetes 入口规范。有关更多信息,请参阅 GitHub 上的入口规范

    annotations: kubernetes.io/ingress.class: alb
    注意

    如果要对 IPv6 容器进行负载均衡,请将以下注释添加到您的入口规范。您只能通过 IPv6 对 IP 目标进行负载均衡,无法对实例目标进行负载均衡。如果没有此注释,则通过 IPv4 进行负载均衡。

    alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/ip-address-type: dualstack
  • Amazon负载均衡器控制器支持以下流量模式:

    • 实例 – 将您的集群中的节点注册为 ALB 的目标。传输到 ALB 的流量将路由到您的服务的 NodePort,然后转发到您的 Pod。这是默认流量模式。您也可以使用 alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/target-type: instance 注释明确地指定该模式。

      注意

      您的 Kubernetes 服务必须指定 NodePort 或“LoadBalancer”类型,才能使用此流量模式。

    • IP – 将 Pod 注册为 ALB 的目标。传输到 ALB 的流量将直接路由到您的服务的 Pod。您必须指定 alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/target-type: ip 注释,才能使用此流量模式。当目标 Pod 在 Fargate 上运行时,必须使用 IP 目标类型。

  • 要标记由控制器创建的 ALB,请向控制器添加以下注释:alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/tags。有关Amazon负载均衡器控制器支持的所有可用注释的列表,请参阅 GitHub 上的入口注释

  • 升级或降级 ALB 控制器版本可能会对依赖它的功能带来重大变化。有关在每个版本中引入的突发性更改的更多信息,请参阅 GitHub 上的 ALB 控制器发布说明

使用 IngressGroups 跨多个服务资源共享 Application Load Balancer

要将入口加入到组,请将以下注释添加到 Kubernetes 入口资源规范中。

alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/group.name: my-group

组名称必须为:

  • 长度不超过 63 个字符。

  • 它们包含小写字母、数字、-.

  • 以字母或数字开头和结尾。

控制器将自动合并同一入口组中所有入口的入口规则。它用单个 ALB 提供支持。在入口上定义的大多数注释仅适用于由该入口定义的路径。默认情况下,入口资源不属于任何入口组。

警告

潜在的安全风险:仅当所有具有创建或修改入口资源的 RBAC 权限的 Kubernetes 用户均在同一信任边界内时,为入口指定一个入口组。如果添加具有组名称的注释,则其他 Kubernetes 用户可创建或修改其入口,以使其属于同一入口组。这样做可能会导致不良行为,例如使用优先级更高的规则覆盖现有规则。

您可以添加入口资源的编号。

alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/group.order: '10'

该号码可以为 1-1000。首先计算同一入口组中所有入口的最小数目。没有此注释的所有入口将使用零值进行评估。数字越大的重复规则可以覆盖具有较小数字的规则。默认情况下,同一入口组中不同入口之间的规则顺序由入口的命名空间和名称的字典顺序决定。

重要

确保同一入口组中的每个入口都具有唯一的优先级编号。不同入口中不能有重复的编号。

(可选)部署示例应用程序

先决条件

部署示例应用程序

您可以在具有 Amazon EC2 节点、Fargate 容器或这两者的集群上运行示例应用程序。

  1. 如果您不部署到 Fargate,请跳过此步骤。如果您要部署到 Fargate,请创建一个 Fargate 配置文件。您可以通过运行以下命令来创建配置文件,也可以在 Amazon Web Services Management Console 中,使用该命令中 namenamespace 的相同值创建配置文件。将示例值替换为您自己的值。

    eksctl create fargateprofile \ --cluster my-cluster \ --region region-code \ --name alb-sample-app \ --namespace game-2048
  2. 将游戏 2048 部署为示例应用程序,以确认作为入口对象的结果,Amazon 负载均衡器控制器是否会创建 Amazon ALB。完成您要部署到的子网类型的步骤。

    1. 如果要部署到使用 IPv6 系列创建的集群中的容器,请跳至下一步。

      • ,公共

        kubectl apply -f https://raw.githubusercontent.com/kubernetes-sigs/aws-load-balancer-controller/v2.4.0/docs/examples/2048/2048_full.yaml
      • 私密

        1. 下载清单。

          curl -o 2048_full.yaml https://raw.githubusercontent.com/kubernetes-sigs/aws-load-balancer-controller/v2.4.0/docs/examples/2048/2048_full.yaml
        2. 编辑文件并找到显示 alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/scheme: internet-facing 的行。

        3. internet-facing 更改为 internal 然后保存文件。

        4. 将清单应用于集群。

          kubectl apply -f 2048_full.yaml
    2. 如果要部署到使用 IPv6 系列创建的集群中的容器,请完成以下步骤。

      1. 下载清单。

        curl -o 2048_full.yaml https://raw.githubusercontent.com/kubernetes-sigs/aws-load-balancer-controller/v2.4.0/docs/examples/2048/2048_full.yaml
      2. 在编辑器中打开文件,并将以下行添加到入口规范的注释中。

        alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/ip-address-type: dualstack
      3. 如果要对内部容器(而不是面向互联网的容器)进行负载均衡,请将显示 alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/scheme: internet-facing 的行更改为 alb.ingress.kubernetes.io/scheme: internal

      4. 保存该文件。

      5. 将清单应用于集群。

        kubectl apply -f 2048_full.yaml
  3. 几分钟后,验证是否已使用以下命令创建入口资源。

    kubectl get ingress/ingress-2048 -n game-2048

    输出:

    NAME CLASS HOSTS ADDRESS PORTS AGE ingress-2048 <none> * k8s-game2048-ingress2-xxxxxxxxxx-yyyyyyyyyy.region-code.elb.amazonaws.com 80 2m32s
    注意

    如果您在私有子网中创建了负载均衡器,则之前输出中 ADDRESS 下的值前面加上 internal-

    如果在几分钟后尚未成功创建入口,请运行以下命令以查看负载均衡器控制器日志。这些日志包含可让您诊断部署中问题的错误消息。

    kubectl logs -n kube-system deployment.apps/aws-load-balancer-controller
  4. 如果您部署到了公有子网,请打开浏览器并从上一命令输出导航到 ADDRESS URL 以查看示例应用程序。如果您没有看到任何内容,请刷新浏览器并重试。如果您已部署到私有子网,则需要从 VPC 中的设备(例如堡垒主机)查看页面。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon 上的 Linux 堡垒主机

    
                        2048 示例应用程序
  5. 在完成对示例应用程序的试验后,通过运行以下命令之一将其删除。

    • 如果您应用了清单,而不是应用下载的副本,请使用以下命令。

      kubectl delete -f https://raw.githubusercontent.com/kubernetes-sigs/aws-load-balancer-controller/v2.4.0/docs/examples/2048/2048_full.yaml
    • 如果您下载并编辑了清单,请使用以下命令。

      kubectl delete -f 2048_full.yaml