Troubleshooting key access - Amazon Key Management Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Troubleshooting key access

When authorizing access to a KMS key, Amazon KMS evaluates the following:

  • The key policy that is attached to the KMS key. The key policy is always defined in the Amazon Web Services account and Region that owns the KMS key.

  • All IAM policies that are attached to the IAM user or role making the request. IAM policies that govern a principal's use of a KMS key are always defined in the principal's Amazon Web Services account.

  • All grants that apply to the KMS key.

  • Other types of policies that might apply to the request to use the KMS key, such as Amazon Organizations service control policies and VPC endpoint policies. These policies are optional and allow all actions by default, but you can use them to restrict permissions otherwise given to principals.

Amazon KMS evaluates these policy mechanisms together to determine whether access to the KMS key is allowed or denied. To do this, Amazon KMS uses a process similar to the one depicted in the following flowchart. The following flowchart provides a visual representation of the policy evaluation process.


      Flowchart that describes the policy evaluation process

This flowchart is divided into two parts. The parts appear to be sequential, but they are typically evaluated at the same time.

  • Use authorization determines whether you are permitted to use a KMS key based on its key policy, IAM policies, grants, and other applicable policies.

  • Key trust determines whether you should trust a KMS key that you are permitted to use. In general, you trust the resources in your Amazon Web Services account. But, you can also feel confident about using KMS keys in a different Amazon Web Services account if a grant or IAM policy in your account allows you to use the KMS key.

You can use this flowchart to discover why a caller was allowed or denied permission to use a KMS key. You can also use it to evaluate your policies and grants. For example, the flowchart shows that a caller can be denied access by an explicit DENY statement, or by the absence of an explicit ALLOW statement, in the key policy, IAM policy, or grant.

The flowchart can explain some common permission scenarios.

Example 1: User is denied access to a KMS key in their Amazon Web Services account

Alice is an IAM user in the 111122223333 Amazon Web Services account. She was denied access to a KMS key in same Amazon Web Services account. Why can't Alice use the KMS key?

In this case, Alice is denied access to the KMS key because there is no key policy, IAM policy, or grant that gives her the required permissions. The key policy of the KMS key allows the Amazon Web Services account to use IAM policies to control access to the KMS key, but no IAM policy gives Alice permission to use the KMS key.


               Flowchart that describes the policy evaluation
                  process

Consider the relevant policies for this example.

  • The KMS key that Alice wants to use has the default key policy. This policy allows the Amazon Web Services account that owns the KMS key to use IAM policies to control access to the KMS key. This key policy satisfies the Does the key policy ALLOW the callers account to use IAM policies to control access to the key? condition in the flowchart.

    { "Version" : "2012-10-17", "Id" : "key-test-1", "Statement" : [ { "Sid" : "Delegate to IAM policies", "Effect" : "Allow", "Principal" : { "AWS" : "arn:aws:iam::111122223333:root" }, "Action" : "kms:*", "Resource" : "*" } ] }
  • However, no key policy, IAM policy, or grant gives Alice permission to use the KMS key. Therefore, Alice is denied permission to use the KMS key.

Example 2: User assumes role with permission to use a KMS key in a different Amazon Web Services account

Bob is a user in account 1 (111122223333). He is allowed to use a KMS key in account 2 (444455556666) in cryptographic operations. How is this possible?

Tip

When evaluating cross-account permissions, remember that the key policy is specified in the KMS key's account. The IAM policy is specified in the caller's account, even when the caller is in a different account. For details about providing cross-account access to KMS keys, see Allowing users in other accounts to use a KMS key.

  • The key policy for the KMS key in account 2 allows account 2 to use IAM policies to control access to the KMS key.

  • The key policy for the KMS key in account 2 allows account 1 to use the KMS key in cryptographic operations. However, account 1 must use IAM policies to give its principals access to the KMS key.

  • An IAM policy in account 1 allows the Engineering role to use the KMS key in account 2 for cryptographic operations.

  • Bob, a user in account 1, has permission to assume the Engineering role.

  • Bob can trust this KMS key, because even though it is not in his account, an IAM policy in his account gives him explicit permission to use this KMS key.


               Flowchart that describes the policy evaluation
                  process

Consider the policies that let Bob, a user in account 1, use the KMS key in account 2.

  • The key policy for the KMS key allows account 2 (444455556666, the account that owns the KMS key) to use IAM policies to control access to the KMS key. This key policy also allows account 1 (111122223333) to use the KMS key in cryptographic operations (specified in the Action element of the policy statement). However, no one in account 1 can use the KMS key in account 2 until account 1 defines IAM policies that give the principals access to the KMS key.

    In the flowchart, this key policy in account 2 satisfies the Does the key policy ALLOW the caller's account to use IAM policies to control access to the key? condition.

    { "Id": "key-policy-acct-2", "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "Permission to use IAM policies", "Effect": "Allow", "Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws:iam::444455556666:root" }, "Action": "kms:*", "Resource": "*" }, { "Sid": "Allow account 1 to use this KMS key", "Effect": "Allow", "Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws:iam::111122223333:root" }, "Action": [ "kms:Encrypt", "kms:Decrypt", "kms:ReEncryptFrom", "kms:ReEncryptTo", "kms:GenerateDataKey", "kms:GenerateDataKeyWithoutPlaintext", "kms:DescribeKey" ], "Resource": "*" } ] }
  • An IAM policy in the caller's Amazon Web Services account (account 1, 111122223333) gives the principal permission to perform cryptographic operations using the KMS key in account 2 (444455556666). The Action element delegates to the principal the same permissions that the key policy in account 2 gave to account 1. To give these permission to the Engineering role in account 1, this inline policy is embedded in the Engineering role.

    Cross-account IAM policies like this one are effective only when the key policy for the KMS key in account 2 gives account 1 permission to use the KMS key. Also, account 1 can only give its principals permission to perform the actions that the key policy gave to the account.

    In the flowchart, this satisfies the Does an IAM policy allow the caller to perform this action? condition.

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "kms:Encrypt", "kms:Decrypt", "kms:ReEncryptFrom", "kms:ReEncryptTo", "kms:GenerateDataKey", "kms:GenerateDataKeyWithoutPlaintext", "kms:DescribeKey" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:kms:us-west-2:444455556666:key/1234abcd-12ab-34cd-56ef-1234567890ab" ] } ] }
  • The last required element is the definition of the Engineering role in account 1. The AssumeRolePolicyDocument in the role allows Bob to assume the Engineering role.

    { "Role": { "Arn": "arn:aws:iam::111122223333:role/Engineering", "CreateDate": "2019-05-16T00:09:25Z", "AssumeRolePolicyDocument": { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": { "Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws:iam::111122223333:user/bob" }, "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "sts:AssumeRole" } }, "Path": "/", "RoleName": "Engineering", "RoleId": "AROA4KJY2TU23Y7NK62MV" } }

密钥访问故障排除 - Amazon Key Management Service
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

密钥访问故障排除

在授予对 KMS 密钥的访问权限时,Amazon KMS 将评估以下内容:

  • 附加到 KMS 密钥的密钥策略。密钥策略始终在拥有 KMS 密钥的 Amazon Web Services 账户 和区域中定义。

  • 附加到发出请求的 IAM 用户或角色的所有 IAM 策略。管理委托人对 KMS 密钥的使用的 IAM 策略始终在委托人的 Amazon Web Services 账户 中定义。

  • 应用于 KMS 密钥的所有授权

  • 可能应用于请求以使用 KMS 密钥的其他类型的策略,例如 Amazon Organizations 服务控制策略VPC 终端节点策略。这些策略是可选的,并且在默认情况下允许执行所有操作,但您可以使用它们限制授予委托人的权限。

Amazon KMS 同时评估这些策略机制,以确定是允许还是拒绝对 KMS 密钥的访问。为执行此操作,Amazon KMS 使用与以下流程图中所示流程相似的流程。以下流程图提供策略评估流程的可视化表示。


      描述策略评估流程的流程图

此流程图分为两个部分。这两个部分按顺序显示,但通常会同时对它们进行评估。

  • 使用授权根据其密钥策略、IAM 策略、授权和其他适用的策略来确定是否允许您使用 KMS 密钥。

  • 密钥信任确定您是否应信任允许您使用的 KMS 密钥。一般而言,您信任 Amazon Web Services 账户 中的资源。但是,如果您的账户中的授权或 IAM 策略允许您使用 KMS 密钥,您也可以自信地使用不同 Amazon Web Services 账户 中的 KMS 密钥。

您可以使用此流程图了解为什么允许或拒绝向发起人授予使用 KMS 密钥的权限。您还可以使用它评估您的策略和授权。例如,此流程图显示某个调用方可能被显式 DENY 语句拒绝访问,或者由于在密钥策略、IAM 策略或授权中没有显式 ALLOW 语句而被拒绝访问。

流程图可以解释一些常见的许可方案。

示例 1:用户被拒绝访问其 Amazon Web Services 账户 中的 KMS 密钥

Alice 是 111122223333 Amazon Web Services 账户 中的 IAM 用户。她被拒绝访问同一 Amazon Web Services 账户 中的 KMS 密钥。为什么 Alice 无法使用 KMS 密钥?

在这种情况下,Alice 被拒绝访问该 KMS 密钥,因为没有密钥策略、IAM 策略或为她授予所需权限的授权。KMS 密钥的密钥策略允许 Amazon Web Services 账户 使用 IAM 策略控制对 KMS 密钥的访问,但任何 IAM 策略均未向 Alice 授予使用 KMS 密钥的权限。


               描述策略评估流程的流程图

考虑用于此示例的相关策略。

  • Alice 想要使用的 KMS 密钥具有默认密钥策略。此政策允许拥有 KMS 密钥的 Amazon Web Services 账户 使用 IAM 策略控制对 KMS 密钥的访问。此密钥策略满足流程图中的密钥策略是否允许调用方账户使用 IAM 策略来控制对密钥的访问?条件。

    { "Version" : "2012-10-17", "Id" : "key-test-1", "Statement" : [ { "Sid" : "Delegate to IAM policies", "Effect" : "Allow", "Principal" : { "AWS" : "arn:aws:iam::111122223333:root" }, "Action" : "kms:*", "Resource" : "*" } ] }
  • 但是,没有任何密钥策略、IAM 策略或授权向 Alice 授予 KMS 密钥使用权限。因此,Alice 被拒绝使用 KMS 密钥的权限。

示例 2:用户代入的角色具有使用不同 Amazon Web Services 账户 中的 KMS 密钥的权限

Bob 是账户 1 (111122223333) 中的一个用户。他可以在加密操作中使用账户 2 (444455556666) 中的 KMS 密钥。如何才能实现?

提示

在评估跨账户权限时,请记住,密钥策略在 KMS 密钥的账户中指定。IAM 策略在调用方账户中指定,即使调用方使用的是不同的账户。有关提供对 KMS 密钥的跨账户访问的详细信息,请参阅 允许其他账户中的用户使用 KMS 密钥

  • 账户 2 中 KMS 密钥的密钥策略允许账户 2 使用 IAM 策略来控制对 KMS 密钥的访问。

  • 账户 2 中 KMS 密钥的密钥策略允许账户 1 在加密操作中使用 KMS 密钥。但是,账户 1 必须使用 IAM 策略授予其委托人对 KMS 密钥的访问权限。

  • 账户 1 中的 IAM 策略允许 Engineering 角色将账户 2 中的 KMS 密钥用于加密操作。

  • Bob 是账户 1 中的用户,有权限代入 Engineering 角色。

  • Bob 可以信任此 KMS 密钥,因为即使它不在他的账户中,他账户中的一个 IAM 策略也会向他授予使用此 KMS 密钥的显式权限。


               描述策略评估流程的流程图

考虑一下 Bob(账户 1 中的用户)使用账户 2 中 KMS 密钥的策略。

  • KMS 密钥的密钥策略允许账户 2(444455556666,拥有 KMS 密钥的账户)使用 IAM 策略来控制对 KMS 密钥的访问。此密钥策略还允许账户 1 (111122223333) 在加密操作中使用 KMS 密钥(在策略语句的 Action 元素中指定)。但是,账户 1 中的任何人都无法使用账户 2 中的 KMS 密钥,直到账户 1 定义授权委托人访问 KMS 密钥的 IAM 策略。

    在流程图中,账户 2 中的此密钥策略满足密钥策略是否允许调用方账户使用 IAM 策略来控制对密钥的访问?条件。

    { "Id": "key-policy-acct-2", "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "Permission to use IAM policies", "Effect": "Allow", "Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws:iam::444455556666:root" }, "Action": "kms:*", "Resource": "*" }, { "Sid": "Allow account 1 to use this KMS key", "Effect": "Allow", "Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws:iam::111122223333:root" }, "Action": [ "kms:Encrypt", "kms:Decrypt", "kms:ReEncryptFrom", "kms:ReEncryptTo", "kms:GenerateDataKey", "kms:GenerateDataKeyWithoutPlaintext", "kms:DescribeKey" ], "Resource": "*" } ] }
  • 调用方的 Amazon Web Services 账户(账户 1,111122223333)中的 IAM 策略委托人授予使用账户 2 (444455556666) 中的 KMS 密钥执行加密操作的权限。Action 元素向该委托人委派的权限与账户 2 中的密钥策略向账户 1 授予的权限相同。要将这些权限授予账户 1 中的 Engineering 角色,将此内联策略嵌入Engineering 角色中。

    仅当账户 2 中的 KMS 密钥的密钥策略向账户 1 授予使用此 KMS 密钥的权限时,类似于此策略的跨账户 IAM 策略才有效。此外,账户 1 只能向其委托人授予执行此密钥策略已授予该账户的操作的权限。

    在流程图中,这满足 IAM 策略是否允许调用方执行此操作?条件。

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "kms:Encrypt", "kms:Decrypt", "kms:ReEncryptFrom", "kms:ReEncryptTo", "kms:GenerateDataKey", "kms:GenerateDataKeyWithoutPlaintext", "kms:DescribeKey" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:kms:us-west-2:444455556666:key/1234abcd-12ab-34cd-56ef-1234567890ab" ] } ] }
  • 最后一个必需元素是账户 1 中 Engineering 角色的定义。此角色中的 AssumeRolePolicyDocument 允许 Bob 代入 Engineering 角色。

    { "Role": { "Arn": "arn:aws:iam::111122223333:role/Engineering", "CreateDate": "2019-05-16T00:09:25Z", "AssumeRolePolicyDocument": { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": { "Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws:iam::111122223333:user/bob" }, "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "sts:AssumeRole" } }, "Path": "/", "RoleName": "Engineering", "RoleId": "AROA4KJY2TU23Y7NK62MV" } }