Using hybrid post-quantum TLS with Amazon KMS - Amazon Key Management Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Using hybrid post-quantum TLS with Amazon KMS

Amazon Key Management Service (Amazon KMS) supports a hybrid post-quantum key exchange option for the Transport Layer Security (TLS) network encryption protocol. You can use this TLS option when you connect to Amazon KMS API endpoints. We're offering this feature before post-quantum algorithms are standardized so you can begin testing the effect of these key exchange protocols on Amazon KMS calls. These optional hybrid post-quantum key exchange features are at least as secure as the TLS encryption we use today and are likely to provide additional security benefits. However, they affect latency and throughput compared to the classic key exchange protocols in use today.

The data that you send to Amazon Key Management Service (Amazon KMS) is protected in transit by the encryption provided by a Transport Layer Security (TLS) connection. The classic cipher suites that Amazon KMS supports for TLS sessions make brute force attacks on the key exchange mechanisms infeasible with current technology. However, if large-scale quantum computing becomes practical in the future, the classic cipher suites used in TLS key exchange mechanisms will be susceptible to these attacks. If you’re developing applications that rely on the long-term confidentiality of data passed over a TLS connection, you should consider a plan to migrate to post-quantum cryptography before large-scale quantum computers become available for use. Amazon is working to prepare for this future, and we want you to be well-prepared, too.

To protect data encrypted today against potential future attacks, Amazon is participating with the cryptographic community in the development of quantum-resistant or post-quantum algorithms. We've implemented hybrid post-quantum key exchange cipher suites in Amazon KMS endpoints. These hybrid cipher suites, which combine classic and post-quantum elements, ensure that your TLS connection is at least as strong as it would be with classic cipher suites.

These hybrid cipher suites are available for use on your production workloads in most Amazon Web Services Regions. However, because the performance characteristics and bandwidth requirements of hybrid cipher suites are different from those of classic key exchange mechanisms, we recommend that you test them on your Amazon KMS API calls under different conditions.

Feedback

As always, we welcome your feedback and participation in our open-source repositories. We’d especially like to hear how your infrastructure interacts with this new variant of TLS traffic.

  • To provide feedback on this topic, use the Feedback link in the lower right corner of this page. You can also create an issue or a pull request in the aws-kms-developer-docs repository in GitHub.

  • We're developing these hybrid cipher suites in open source in the s2n repository on GitHub. To provide feedback on the usability of the cipher suites, or share novel test conditions or results, create an issue in the s2n repository.

  • We're writing code samples for using hybrid post-quantum TLS with Amazon KMS in the aws-kms-pq-tls-example GitHub repository. To ask questions or share ideas about configuring your HTTP client or Amazon KMS client to use the hybrid cipher suites, create an issue in the aws-kms-pq-tls-example repository.

Supported Amazon Web Services Regions

Post-quantum TLS for Amazon KMS is available in all Amazon Web Services Regions except for Amazon GovCloud (US-East), Amazon GovCloud (US-West), China (Beijing), and China (Ningxia).

For a list of Amazon KMS endpoints for each Amazon Web Services Region, see Amazon Key Management Service Endpoints and Quotas in the Amazon Web Services General Reference. For information about FIPS endpoints, see Amazon Service Endpoints in the Amazon Web Services General Reference..

About hybrid post-quantum key exchange in TLS

Amazon KMS supports hybrid post-quantum key exchange cipher suites. You can use the Amazon SDK for Java 2.x and Amazon Common Runtime (CRT) to configure an HTTP client to use these cipher suites on Linux systems. Then, whenever you connect to a Amazon KMS endpoint with your HTTP client, the hybrid cipher suites are used.

This HTTP client uses s2n, which is an open source implementation of the TLS protocol. s2n includes the pq-crypto module, which includes implementations of hybrid post-quantum algorithms for encryption in transit.

The hybrid cipher suites in s2n are implemented only for key exchange, not for direct data encryption. During key exchange, the client and server calculate the key they will use to encrypt and decrypt the data on the wire.

The algorithms that s2n uses are a hybrid that combines Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman (ECDH), a classic key exchange algorithm used today in TLS, with Kyber, a proposed post-quantum algorithm. This mechanism uses each of the algorithms independently to generate a key. Then it combines the two keys cryptographically. With s2n, you can configure an HTTP client with a cipher preference that places ECDH with Kyber first in the preference list. Classic key exchange algorithms are included in the preference list to ensure compatibility, but they are lower in the preference order.

If ongoing research reveals that the Kyber algorithm lacks the anticipated post-quantum strength, the hybrid key is still at least as strong as the single ECDH key currently in use. The National Institute for Standards and Technology (NIST) has not yet standardized post-quantum algorithms. They are still in the process of evaluating candidate approaches. Until that process is complete, we recommend using hybrid algorithms, rather than using post-quantum algorithms alone.

Using hybrid post-quantum TLS with Amazon KMS

You can use hybrid post-quantum TLS for your calls to Amazon KMS. When setting up your HTTP client test environment, be aware of the following information:

Encryption in Transit

The hybrid cipher suites in s2n are used only for encryption in transit. They protect your data while it is traveling from your client to the Amazon KMS endpoint. Amazon KMS does not use these cipher suites to encrypt data under Amazon KMS keys.

Instead, when Amazon KMS encrypts your data under KMS keys, it uses symmetric cryptography with 256-bit keys and the Advanced Encryption Standard in Galois Counter Mode (AES-GCM) algorithm, which is already quantum resistant. Theoretical future, large-scale quantum computing attacks on ciphertexts created under 256-bit AES-GCM keys reduce the effective security of the key to 128 bits. This security level is sufficient to make brute force attacks on Amazon KMS ciphertexts infeasible.

Supported Systems

Use of the hybrid cipher suites in s2n is currently supported only on Linux systems. In addition, these cipher suites are supported only in SDKs that support the Amazon Common Runtime, such as the Amazon SDK for Java 2.x. For an example, see How to configure hybrid post-quantum TLS.

Amazon KMS Endpoints

When using the hybrid cipher suites, use the standard Amazon KMS endpoint. The hybrid cipher suites in s2n are not compatible with the FIPS 140-2 validated endpoints for Amazon KMS. Post-quantum algorithms are not allowed in a validated cryptographic module.

When you configure a HTTP client with the hybrid post-quantum cipher preference in s2n, the post-quantum ciphers are first in the cipher preference list. However, the preference list includes the classic, non-hybrid ciphers lower in the preference order for compatibility. If you were to use this cipher preference with an Amazon KMS FIPS 140-2 validated endpoint, s2n negotiates a classic, non-hybrid key exchange cipher.

For a list of Amazon KMS endpoints for each Amazon Web Services Region, see Amazon Key Management Service Endpoints and Quotas in the Amazon Web Services General Reference. For information about FIPS endpoints, see Amazon Service Endpoints in the Amazon Web Services General Reference.

Expected Performance

Our early benchmark testing shows that the hybrid cipher suites in s2n are slower than classic TLS cipher suites. The effect varies based on the network profile, CPU speed, the number of cores, and your call rate. For performance test results, see Round 2 post-quantum TLS is now supported in Amazon KMS.

How to configure hybrid post-quantum TLS

In this procedure, add a Maven dependency for the preview release of the Amazon Common Runtime HTTP Client. Next, configure an HTTP client that uses the hybrid post-quantum cipher preference. Then, create an Amazon KMS client that uses the HTTP client.

To see a complete working examples of configuring and using hybrid post-quantum TLS with Amazon KMS, see the aws-kms-pq-tls-example repository.

  1. Add the Amazon Common Runtime client to your Maven dependencies. We recommend using the latest available version.

    For example, this statement adds version 2.14.13-PREVIEW of the Amazon common runtime client to your Maven dependencies.

    <dependency> <groupId>software.amazon.awssdk</groupId> <artifactId>aws-crt-client</artifactId> <version>2.14.13-PREVIEW</version> </dependency>
  2. To enable the hybrid post-quantum cipher suites, add the Amazon SDK for Java 2.x to your project and initialize it. Then enable the hybrid cipher suites as shown in the following example.

    This code ensures that you are working on a system that supports the hybrid cipher suite. The code then creates an HTTP client with the TLS_CIPHER_PREF_KMS_PQ_TLSv1_0_2020_07 cipher preference that prioritizes the ECDH with Kyber hybrid cipher suite. Finally, it creates an Amazon KMS client that uses the HTTP client for data transmission.

    This code uses the Amazon KMS asynchronous client, KmsAsyncClient, which calls Amazon KMS asynchronously. For information about this client, see the KmsAsyncClient Javadoc.

    After this code completes, your Amazon KMS API requests on the Amazon KMS asynchronous client use the hybrid cipher suite for TLS.

    // Check platform support if(!TLS_CIPHER_PREF_KMS_PQ_TLSv1_0_2020_07.isSupported()){ throw new RuntimeException("Hybrid post-quantum cipher suites are not supported on this platform"); } // Configure HTTP client SdkAsyncHttpClient awsCrtHttpClient = AwsCrtAsyncHttpClient.builder() .tlsCipherPreference(TLS_CIPHER_PREF_KMS_PQ_TLSv1_0_2020_07) .build(); // Create the Amazon KMS async client KmsAsyncClient kmsAsync = KmsAsyncClient.builder() .httpClient(awsCrtHttpClient) .build();
  3. Test your Amazon KMS calls with post-quantum TLS.

    When you call Amazon KMS API operations on the configured Amazon KMS client, your calls are transmitted to the Amazon KMS endpoint using hybrid post-quantum TLS. To test your configuration, run a simple Amazon KMS API call, such as ListKeys.

    ListKeysReponse keys = kmsAsync.listKeys().get();

Testing hybrid post-quantum TLS with Amazon KMS

Consider running the following tests with hybrid cipher suites on your applications that call Amazon KMS.

  • Run load tests and benchmarks. The hybrid cipher suites perform differently than traditional key exchange algorithms. You might need to adjust your connection timeouts to allow for the longer handshake times. If you’re running inside an Amazon Lambda function, extend the execution timeout setting.

  • Try connecting from different locations. Depending on the network path your request takes, you might discover that intermediate hosts, proxies, or firewalls with deep packet inspection (DPI) block the request. This might result from using the new cipher suites in the ClientHello part of the TLS handshake, or from the larger key exchange messages. If you have trouble resolving these issues, work with your security team or IT administrators to update the relevant configuration and unblock the new TLS cipher suites.

Learn more about post-quantum TLS in Amazon KMS

For more information about using hybrid post-quantum TLS in Amazon KMS, see the following resources.

将混合后量子 TLS 与 Amazon KMS 结合使用 - Amazon Key Management Service
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

将混合后量子 TLS 与 Amazon KMS 结合使用

Amazon Key Management Service (Amazon KMS) 支持对传输层安全 (TLS) 网络加密协议使用混合后量子密钥交换选项。当您连接到 Amazon KMS API 终端节点时,可以使用此 TLS 选项。我们在标准化后量子算法之前提供了此功能,因此您可以开始测试这些密钥交换协议对 Amazon KMS 调用产生的影响。这些混合后量子密钥交换功能是可选的,至少与我们目前使用的 TLS 加密一样安全,并且有可能会提供额外的安全优势。不过,与目前使用的传统密钥交换协议相比,它们会影响延迟和吞吐量性能。

您发送到 Amazon Key Management Service (Amazon KMS) 的数据,在传输过程中由传输层安全 (TLS) 连接提供的加密机制进行保护。借助 Amazon KMS 支持对 TLS 会话使用的传统密码套件,使得对密钥交换机制进行的暴力攻击在现有技术下是不可行的。不过,如果大规模量子计算在未来得到广泛应用,那么 TLS 密钥交换机制中使用的传统密码套件将会容易受到这些攻击。如果您正在开发的应用程序依赖于通过 TLS 连接传输的数据的长期保密性,则应考虑在大规模量子计算机投入使用之前,采用迁移到后量子密码加密技术的计划。Amazon 正在努力针对这个远景做好准备,我们希望您也能做好充分的准备。

为了保护今天加密的数据,让这些数据在未来免受可能的攻击,Amazon 正在积极参与密码社区,一起开发抗量子密码算法或后量子算法。我们已经在 Amazon KMS 终端节点中实施了混合后量子密钥交换密码套件。这些混合密码套件将传统加密算法与后量子算法相结合,可确保 TLS 连接至少与传统密码套件一样强大。

这些混合密码套件可以在大多数 Amazon Web Services 区域 中用于您的生产工作负载。不过,由于混合密码套件的性能特征及带宽要求与传统密钥交换机制的性能特征及带宽要求有所不同,我们建议您在不同条件下针对 Amazon KMS API 调用开展测试

反馈

与以前一样,我们希望您能够提供反馈并参与我们的开源存储库。我们尤其希望了解您的基础设施如何与新形式的 TLS 流量进行交互。

  • 要提供有关本主题的反馈,请使用此页面右下角的反馈链接。您还可以创建问题或在 GitHub 中的 aws-kms-developer-docs 存储库中拉取请求。

  • 我们正在 GitHub 上的 s2n 存储库中,以开源项目形式开发这些混合密码套件。要提供有关密码套件可用性方面的反馈,或者共享全新的测试条件或结果,请在 s2n 存储库中创建一个问题

  • 我们正在编写代码示例,以将与混合后量子 TLS 与 Amazon KMS 结合用于 aws-kms-pq-tls-example GitHub 存储库中。要提出问题或分享有关配置 HTTP 客户端或 Amazon KMS 客户端以使用混合密码套件的想法,请在 aws-kms-pq-tls-example 存储库中创建问题

支持 Amazon Web Services 区域

Amazon KMS 的后量子 TLS 提供在所有 Amazon Web Services 区域 中,但 Amazon GovCloud(美国东部)、Amazon GovCloud(美国西部)、中国(北京)和中国(宁夏)区域除外。

有关每项 Amazon Web Services 区域 支持的 Amazon KMS 终端节点的列表,请参阅 Amazon Web Services 一般参考中的 Amazon Key Management Service 终端节点和配额。有关使用 FIPS 终端节点的信息,请参阅 Amazon Web Services 一般参考中的 Amazon 服务终端节点

关于 TLS 中的混合后量子密钥交换

Amazon KMS 支持混合后量子密钥交换密码套件。您可以使用 Amazon SDK for Java 2.x 和 Amazon 公共运行时 (CRT) 配置 HTTP 客户端,以便在 Linux 系统上使用这些密码套件。然后,无论您何时使用 HTTP 客户端连接到 Amazon KMS 终端节点,都会使用混合密码套件。

该 HTTP 客户端使用 s2n,后者是一种 TLS 协议开源实施。s2n 包含 pq-crypto 模块,其中包含用于传输中加密的混合后量子算法的实施。

实施的 s2n 中的混合密码套件只能用于密钥交换,而不能用于直接数据加密。在密钥交换过程中,客户端和服务器会计算将用于加密和解密传输中的数据的密钥。

s2n 使用的算法是一种混合算法,它结合了椭圆曲线 Diffie-Hellman (ECDH)(目前 TLS 中使用的经典密钥交换算法)与 Kyber(提出的一种后量子算法)。此机制单独使用每个算法来生成密钥。然后,以加密方式结合使用这两个密钥。使用 s2n,您可以配置一个 HTTP 客户端,并设置密码优先顺序,将 ECDH 与 Kyber 放在优先列表中。传统密钥交换算法包含在优先列表中以确保兼容性,但它们的优先顺序较低。

虽然正在进行的研究表明 Kyber 算法缺乏预期的后量子密码强度,混合密钥仍然至少与目前使用的单个 ECDH 密钥一样强大。美国国家标准和技术研究所 (NIST) 尚未标准化后量子算法。他们仍在评估各种候选方法。在评估过程完成之前,我们建议使用混合算法,而不是单独使用后量子算法。

将混合后量子 TLS 与 Amazon KMS 结合使用

您可以对 Amazon KMS 调用使用混合后量子 TLS。在设置 HTTP 客户端测试环境时,请注意以下信息:

传输中加密

s2n 中的混合密码套件仅用于传输中加密。它们在数据从客户端传输到 Amazon KMS 终端节点的过程中保护您的数据。Amazon KMS 不会使用这些密码套件来加密使用 Amazon KMS keys 保护的数据。

相反,Amazon KMS 在使用 KMS 密钥加密您的数据时,它使用 256 位密钥的对称加密技术和 Galoas 计数器模式中的高级加密标准 (AES-GCM) 算法,该算法已具备抗量子性。理论上,在未来针对使用 256 位 AES-GCM 密钥创建的密文的大规模量子计算攻击中,密钥的有效安全性将会降至 128 位。此安全级别足以对抗对 Amazon KMS 密文进行的暴力破解攻击。

支持的系统

目前,仅在 Linux 系统上支持使用 s2n 中的混合密码套件。此外,这些密码套件仅在支持 Amazon 公共运行时的开发工具包中受支持,例如 Amazon SDK for Java 2.x。有关示例,请参阅 如何配置混合后量子 TLS

Amazon KMS 终端节点

在使用混合密码套件时,请使用标准 Amazon KMS 终端节点。s2n 中的混合密码套件与适用于 Amazon KMS 的 FIPS 140-2 验证的终端节点不兼容。在经过验证的加密模块中不允许使用后量子算法。

在 HTTP 客户端中配置 s2n 中的混合后量子密码优先顺序时,后量子密码在密码优先列表中处于第一位。但是,在优先列表中,传统非混合密码处于较低的优先顺序,以便实现兼容性。如果您将此密码优先顺序与 Amazon KMS FIPS 140-2 验证的终端节点结合使用,s2n 将协商使用一个传统的非混合密钥交换密码。

有关每项 Amazon Web Services 区域 支持的 Amazon KMS 终端节点的列表,请参阅 Amazon Web Services 一般参考中的 Amazon Key Management Service 终端节点和配额。有关 FIPS 终端节点的信息,请参阅 Amazon Web Services 一般参考中的 Amazon 服务终端节点

预期性能

我们在早期开展的基准测试表明,s2n 中的混合密码套件比传统 TLS 密码套件的速度要慢。根据网络配置文件、CPU 速度、内核数量和调度速率的不同,效果也不尽相同。有关性能测试的结果,请参阅第二轮后量子 TLS 现在在 Amazon KMS 中受支持

如何配置混合后量子 TLS

在此过程中,为预览版的 Amazon 公共运行时 HTTP 客户端添加一个 Maven 依赖项。接下来,配置使用混合后量子密码优先顺序的 HTTP 客户端。然后,创建使用 HTTP 客户端的 Amazon KMS 客户端。

要查看演示混合后量子 TLS 与 Amazon KMS 结合使用的配置过程以及具体使用方法的完整工作示例,请参阅 aws-kms-pq-tls-example 存储库。

  1. 将 Amazon 公共运行时客户端添加到您的 Maven 依赖项中。我们建议您使用最新可用版本。

    例如,以下语句将 2.14.13-PREVIEW 公共运行时客户端的版本 Amazon 添加到您的 Maven 依赖项中。

    <dependency> <groupId>software.amazon.awssdk</groupId> <artifactId>aws-crt-client</artifactId> <version>2.14.13-PREVIEW</version> </dependency>
  2. 要启用混合后量子密码套件,请将 Amazon SDK for Java 2.x 添加到您的项目中并进行初始化。然后,按照以下示例所示,启用混合密码套件。

    此代码可以确保您正在使用支持混合密码套件的系统。然后,代码会创建一个 HTTP 客户端,并且在 TLS_CIPHER_PREF_KMS_PQ_TLSv1_0_2020_07 密码优先顺序中,将 ECDH 与 Kyber 结合使用的混合密码套件设置为优先使用。最后,它创建一个 Amazon KMS 客户端,该客户端使用 HTTP 客户端进行数据传输。

    此代码使用 Amazon KMS 异步客户端 KmsAsyncClient,该客户端对 Amazon KMS 执行异步调用。有关此客户端的信息,请参阅 KmsAsyncClient Javadoc

    此代码完成后,Amazon KMS 异步客户端上的 Amazon KMS API 请求使用 TLS 的混合密码套件。

    // Check platform support if(!TLS_CIPHER_PREF_KMS_PQ_TLSv1_0_2020_07.isSupported()){ throw new RuntimeException("Hybrid post-quantum cipher suites are not supported on this platform"); } // Configure HTTP client SdkAsyncHttpClient awsCrtHttpClient = AwsCrtAsyncHttpClient.builder() .tlsCipherPreference(TLS_CIPHER_PREF_KMS_PQ_TLSv1_0_2020_07) .build(); // Create the Amazon KMS async client KmsAsyncClient kmsAsync = KmsAsyncClient.builder() .httpClient(awsCrtHttpClient) .build();
  3. 针对您的 Amazon KMS 调用测试后量子 TLS。

    在配置的 Amazon KMS 客户端上调用 Amazon KMS API 操作时,会使用混合后量子 TLS 将您的调用传输到 Amazon KMS 终端节点。要测试您的配置,请运行简单的 Amazon KMS API 调用,例如 ListKeys

    ListKeysReponse keys = kmsAsync.listKeys().get();

针对 Amazon KMS 测试混合后量子 TLS

请考虑在调用 Amazon KMS 的应用程序上,使用混合密码套件运行下面的测试。

  • 运行负载测试和基准测试。混合密码套件的执行方式与传统密钥交换算法有所不同。您可能需要调整连接超时,以便增加握手时间。如果您在 Amazon Lambda 函数内部运行,请增大执行超时设置。

  • 请尝试从不同位置进行连接。根据您的请求采用的网络路径,您可能会发现中间主机、代理或带有深度数据包检查 (DPI) 功能的防火墙阻止了请求。这可能是因为在 TLS 握手的 ClientHello 部分中使用了新的密码套件,或者密钥交换消息比较大。如果您在解决这些问题时遇到麻烦,请与安全团队或 IT 管理员一起,更新相关配置并取消阻止新的 TLS 密码套件。

了解有关 Amazon KMS 中的后量子 TLS 的更多信息

有关在 Amazon KMS 中使用混合后量子 TLS 的更多信息,请参阅以下资源。