Use Lambda recursive loop detection to prevent infinite loops - Amazon Lambda
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Use Lambda recursive loop detection to prevent infinite loops

When you configure a Lambda function to output to the same service or resource that invokes the function, it's possible to create an infinite recursive loop. For example, a Lambda function might write a message to an Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS) queue, which then invokes the same function. This invocation causes the function to write another message to the queue, which in turn invokes the function again.

Unintentional recursive loops can result in unexpected charges being billed to your Amazon Web Services account. Loops can also cause Lambda to scale and use all of your account's available concurrency. To help reduce the impact of unintentional loops, Lambda can detect certain types of recursive loops shortly after they occur. When Lambda detects a recursive loop, it stops your function being invoked and notifies you.

If your design intentionally uses recursive patterns, then you can request to turn off Lambda recursive loop detection. To request this change, contact Amazon Web Services Support.

Important

If your design intentionally uses a Lambda function to write data back to the same Amazon resource that invokes the function, then use caution and implement suitable guard rails to prevent unexpected charges being billed to your Amazon Web Services account. To learn more about best practices for using recursive invocation patterns, see Recursive patterns that cause run-away Lambda functions in Serverless Land.

Understanding recursive loop detection

Recursive loop detection in Lambda works by tracking events. Lambda is an event-driven compute service that runs your function code when certain events occur. For example, when an item is added to an Amazon SQS queue or Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) topic. Lambda passes events to your function as JSON objects, which contain information about the change in the system state. When an event causes your function to run, this is called an invocation.

To detect recursive loops, Lambda uses Amazon X-Ray tracing headers. When Amazon Web Services that support recursive loop detection send events to Lambda, those events are automatically annotated with metadata. When your Lambda function writes one of these events to another supported Amazon Web Service using a supported version of an Amazon SDK, it updates this metadata. The updated metadata includes a count of the number of times that the event has invoked the function.

Note

You don't need to enable X-Ray active tracing for this feature to work. Recursive loop detection is turned on by default for all Amazon customers. There is no charge to use the feature.

A chain of requests is a sequence of Lambda invocations caused by the same triggering event. For example, imagine that an Amazon SQS queue invokes your Lambda function. Your Lambda function then sends the processed event back to the same Amazon SQS queue, which invokes your function again. In this example, each invocation of your function falls in the same chain of requests.

If your function is invoked more than 16 times in the same chain of requests, then Lambda automatically stops the next function invocation in that request chain and notifies you. If your function is configured with multiple triggers, then invocations from other triggers aren't affected.

Note

When the maxReceiveCount setting on the source queue's redrive policy is higher than 16, Lambda recursion protection does not prevent Amazon SQS from retrying the message after a recursive loop is detected and terminated. When Lambda detects a recursive loop and drops subsequent invocations, it returns a RecursiveInvocationException to the event source mapping. This increments the receiveCount value on the message. Lambda continues to retry the message, and continues to block function invocations, until Amazon SQS determines that the maxReceiveCount is exceeded and sends the message to the configured dead-letter queue.

If you have an on-failure destination or dead-letter queue configured for your function, then Lambda also sends the event from the stopped invocation to your destination or dead-letter queue. When configuring a destination or dead-letter queue for your function, be sure not to use an Amazon SNS topic or Amazon SQS queue that your function also uses as an event trigger or event source mapping. If you send events to the same resource that invokes your function, then you can create another recursive loop.

Supported Amazon Web Services and SDKs

Lambda can detect only recursive loops that include certain supported Amazon Web Services. For recursive loops to be detected, your function must also use one of the supported Amazon SDKs.

Supported Amazon Web Services

Lambda currently detects recursive loops between your functions, Amazon SQS, and Amazon SNS. Lambda also detects loops comprised only of Lambda functions, which may invoke each other synchronously or asynchronously. The following diagrams show some examples of loops that Lambda can detect:

Diagrams of recursive loops between a Lambda function, Amazon SNS, and an Amazon SQS queue.

When another Amazon Web Service such as Amazon DynamoDB or Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) forms part of the loop, Lambda can't currently detect and stop it.

Because Lambda currently detects only recursive loops involving Amazon SQS and Amazon SNS, it's still possible that loops involving other Amazon Web Services can result in unintended usage of your Lambda functions.

To guard against unexpected charges being billed to your Amazon Web Services account, we recommend that you configure Amazon CloudWatch alarms to alert you to unusual usage patterns. For example, you can configure CloudWatch to notify you about spikes in Lambda function concurrency or invocations. You can also configure a billing alarm to notify you when spending in your account exceeds a threshold that you specify. Or, you can use Amazon Cost Anomaly Detection to alert you to unusual billing patterns.

Supported Amazon SDKs

For Lambda to detect recursive loops, your function must use one of the following SDK versions or higher:

Runtime Minimum required Amazon SDK version

Node.js

2.1147.0 (SDK version 2)

3.105.0 (SDK version 3)

Python

1.24.46 (boto3)

1.27.46 (botocore)

Java 8 and Java 11

1.12.200 (SDK version 1)

2.17.135 (SDK version 2)

Java 17

2.20.81

Java 21

2.21.24

.NET

3.7.293.0

Ruby

3.134.0

PHP

3.232.0

Some Lambda runtimes such as Python and Node.js include a version of the Amazon SDK. If the SDK version included in your function's runtime is lower than the minimum required, then you can add a supported version of the SDK to your function's deployment package. You can also add a supported SDK version to your function using a Lambda layer. For a list of the SDKs included with each Lambda runtime, see Lambda runtimes.

Lambda recursion detection is not supported for the Lambda Go runtime.

Recursive loop notifications

When Lambda stops a recursive loop, you receive notifications through the Amazon Health Dashboard and through email. You can also use CloudWatch metrics to monitor the number of recursive invocations that Lambda has stopped.

Amazon Health Dashboard notifications

When Lambda stops a recursive invocation, the Amazon Health Dashboard displays a notification on the Your account health page, under Open and recent issues. Note that it can take up to three hours after Lambda stops a recursive invocation before this notification is displayed. For more information about viewing account events in the Amazon Health Dashboard, see Getting started with your Amazon Health Dashboard – Your account health in the Amazon Health User Guide.

Email alerts

When Lambda first stops a recursive invocation of your function, it sends you an email alert. Lambda sends a maximum of one email every 24 hours for each function in your Amazon Web Services account. After Lambda sends an email notification, you won't receive any more emails for that function for another 24 hours, even if Lambda stops further recursive invocations of the function. Note that it can take up to three hours after Lambda stops a recursive invocation before you receive this email alert.

Lambda sends recursive loop email alerts to your Amazon Web Services account's primary account contact and alternate operations contact. For information about viewing or updating the email addresses in your account, see Updating contact information in the Amazon General Reference.

Amazon CloudWatch metrics

The CloudWatch metric RecursiveInvocationsDropped records the number of function invocations that Lambda has stopped because your function has been invoked more than 16 times in a single chain of requests. Lambda emits this metric as soon as it stops a recursive invocation. To view this metric, follow the instructions for Viewing metrics on the CloudWatch console and choose the metric RecursiveInvocationsDropped.

Responding to recursive loop detection notifications

When your function is invoked more than 16 times by the same triggering event, Lambda stops the next function invocation for that event to break the recursive loop. To prevent a reoccurrence of a recursive loop that Lambda has broken, do the following:

  • Reduce your function's available concurrency to zero, which throttles all future invocations.

  • Remove or disable the trigger or event source mapping that's invoking your function.

  • Identify and fix code defects that write events back to the Amazon resource that's invoking your function. A common source of defects occurs when you use variables to define a function's event source and target. Check that you're not using the same value for both variables.

Additionally, if the event source for your Lambda function is an Amazon SQS queue, then consider configuring a dead-letter queue on the source queue.

Note

Make sure that you configure the dead-letter queue on the source queue, not on the Lambda function. The dead-letter queue that you configure on a function is used for the function's asynchronous invocation queue, not for event source queues.

If the event source is an Amazon SNS topic, then consider adding an on-failure destination for your function.

To reduce your function's available concurrency to zero (console)
  1. Open the Functions page of the Lambda console.

  2. Choose the name of your function.

  3. Choose Throttle.

  4. In the Throttle your function dialog box, choose Confirm.

To remove a trigger or event source mapping for your function (console)
  1. Open the Functions page of the Lambda console.

  2. Choose the name of your function.

  3. Choose the Configuration tab, then choose Triggers.

  4. Under Triggers, select the trigger or event source mapping that you want to delete, then choose Delete.

  5. In the Delete triggers dialog box, choose Delete.

To disable an event source mapping for your function (Amazon CLI)
  1. To find the UUID for the event source mapping that you want to disable, run the Amazon Command Line Interface (Amazon CLI) list-event-source-mappings command.

    aws lambda list-event-source-mappings
  2. To disable the event source mapping, run the following Amazon CLI update-event-source-mapping command.

    aws lambda update-event-source-mapping --function-name MyFunction \ --uuid a1b2c3d4-5678-90ab-cdef-EXAMPLE11111 --no-enabled

Lambda 递归循环检测 - Amazon Lambda
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

Lambda 递归循环检测

当您配置 Lambda 函数输出到调用该函数的同一服务或资源时,就可能会创建无限递归循环。例如,Lambda 函数可能会向 Amazon Simple Queue Service(Amazon SQS)队列写入一条消息,该队列随即调用同一函数。此调用导致该函数向队列写入另一条消息,而队列反过来再次调用该函数。

意外发生的递归循环可能会让您的 Amazon Web Services 账户 产生意外费用。循环还可能导致 Lambda 扩展并使用您账户的所有可用并发。为了帮助减轻意外循环的影响,Lambda 可以在某些类型的递归循环发生后不久将其检测出。在检测到递归循环时,Lambda 会停止调用函数并向您发送通知。

如果您的设计有意使用递归模式,则可以请求关闭 Lambda 递归循环检测。要请求进行此更改,请联系 Amazon Web Services Support

重要

如果您的设计有意使用 Lambda 函数将数据写回调用该函数的同一 Amazon 资源,则务必谨慎操作,并实施适当的防护措施,防止您的 Amazon Web Services 账户 产生意外费用。要了解使用递归调用模式的最佳实践的更多信息,请参阅 Serverless Land 中的 Recursive patterns that cause run-away Lambda functions

了解递归循环检测

Lambda 中的递归循环检测通过跟踪事件来工作。Lambda 是一种事件驱动型计算服务,可在某些事件发生时运行您的函数代码。例如,将项目添加到 Amazon SQS 队列或 Amazon Simple Notification Service(Amazon SNS)主题时,就会如此。Lambda 将事件作为 JSON 对象传递给您的函数,其中包含有关系统状态变化的信息。如果某一事件导致您的函数运行时,这就称为调用

为了检测递归循环,Lambda 会使用 Amazon X-Ray 跟踪标头。当支持递归循环检测的 Amazon Web Services 将事件发送到 Lambda 时,这些事件将自动使用元数据进行注释。当您的 Lambda 函数使用支持的 Amazon 开发工具包版本将其中一个事件写入另一个支持的 Amazon Web Service 时,就会更新此元数据。更新后的元数据包括事件调用该函数的次数计数。

注意

您无需启用 X-Ray 主动追踪,即可使用此功能。默认情况下,所有 Amazon 客户都启用递归循环检测。使用该功能不会产生任何费用。

请求链是由同一触发事件引起的一系列 Lambda 调用。例如,假设 Amazon SQS 队列调用了您的 Lambda 函数。然后,Lambda 函数将处理过的事件发送回同一 Amazon SQS 队列,该队列将再次调用您的函数。在此示例中,函数的每次调用都属于同一请求链。

如果您的函数在同一请求链中被调用的次数超过 16 次,则 Lambda 会自动停止该请求链中的下一次函数调用并向您发送通知。如果您的函数配置了多个触发器,来自其他触发器的调用则不会受到影响。

注意

当源队列的重新驱动策略的 maxReceiveCount 设置高于 16 时,Lambda 递归保护不会阻止 Amazon SQS 在检测到递归循环并终止后重试消息。当 Lambda 检测到递归循环并丢弃后续调用时,它会向事件源映射返回 RecursiveInvocationException。这会增加 maxReceiveCount 值。但是,Amazon SQS 会继续重试该消息,直到超过 maxReceiveCount 且消息被发送到死信队列。

如果您为函数配置了失败时的目标死信队列,则 Lambda 还会将已停止调用的事件发送到您的目标或死信队列。为函数配置目标或死信队列时,确保不要将函数也在使用的 Amazon SNS 主题或 Amazon SQS 队列,用作事件触发器或事件源映射。如果您将事件发送到调用函数的同一资源,则可以创建另一个递归循环。

受支持的 Amazon Web Services 和开发工具包

Lambda 只能检测包含某些受支持的 Amazon Web Services 的递归循环。为了检测到递归循环,您的函数还必须使用一种受支持的 Amazon 开发工具包。

支持 Amazon Web Services

Lambda 目前可检测您的函数、Amazon SQS 和 Amazon SNS 之间的递归循环。Lambda 还会检测仅由 Lambda 函数组成的循环,这些函数可以同步或异步地相互调用。下图显示了 Lambda 可以检测的一些循环示例:


          Lambda 函数、Amazon SNS 和 Amazon SQS 队列之间的递归循环图。

当 Amazon DynamoDB 或 Amazon Simple Storage Service(Amazon S3)等其他 Amazon Web Service 构成循环的一部分时,Lambda 目前无法对其进行检测和阻止。

由于 Lambda 目前仅检测涉及 Amazon SQS 和 Amazon SNS 的递归循环,因此涉及其他 Amazon Web Services 的循环仍有可能导致您的 Lambda 函数遭意外使用。

为了防止向您收取意外费用Amazon Web Services 账户,我们建议您配置 Amazon CloudWatch 警报,提醒您注意异常的使用模式。例如,您可以配置为通知您有关 Lambda 函数 CloudWatch 并发或调用的峰值。您还可以配置账单警报,以便在账户中的支出超过指定的阈值时通知您。您也可以使用 Amazon Cost Anomaly Detection 来提醒自己注意异常的计费模式。

受支持的 Amazon 开发工具包

要让 Lambda 检测递归循环,您的函数必须使用以下开发工具包版本中的一种版本或更高版本:

运行时系统 所需 Amazon 开发工具包的最低版本

Node.js

2.1147.0(开发工具包版本 2)

3.105.0(开发工具包版本 3)

Python

1.24.46(boto3)

1.27.46(botocore)

Java 8 和 Java 11

1.12.200(开发工具包版本 1)

2.17.135(开发工具包版本 2)

Java 17

2.20.81

Java 21

2.21.24

.NET

3.7.293.0

Ruby

3.134.0

PHP

3.232.0

某些 Lambda 运行时系统(例如 Python 和 Node.js)包含 Amazon 开发工具包的一个版本。如果函数运行时系统中包含的开发工具包版本低于所需的最低版本,您可以将受支持的开发工具包版本添加到函数的部署包中。您还可以使用 Lambda 层将受支持的开发工具包版本添加到自己的函数中。有关每个 Lambda 运行时系统包含的开发工具包的列表,请参阅 Lambda 运行时

Lambda Go 运行时系统不支持 Lambda 递归检测。

递归循环通知

当 Lambda 停止递归循环时,您会通过 Amazon Health Dashboard 或电子邮件收到通知。您还可以使用 CloudWatch 指标来监控 Lambda 已停止的递归调用的数量。

Amazon Health Dashboard 通知

当 Lambda 停止递归调用时,Amazon Health Dashboard 会在账户运行状况页面的未决问题和近期问题下显示一条通知。请注意,在 Lambda 停止递归调用后,最多可能需要三个小时才能显示此通知。有关在 Amazon Health Dashboard 中查看账户事件的更多信息,请参阅《Amazon 运行状况用户指南》中的 Getting started with your Amazon Health Dashboard – Your account health

电子邮件警报

在首次停止函数的递归调用时,Lambda 会向您发送电子邮件警报。Lambda 每 24 小时最多为您 Amazon Web Services 账户 中的每个函数发送一封电子邮件。在 Lambda 发送电子邮件通知后,即使 Lambda 停止对该函数的进一步递归调用,您也不会在接下来的 24 小时内再收到该函数的更多电子邮件。请注意,在 Lambda 停止递归调用后,最多可能需要三个小时您才会收到此通知。

Lambda 会向您 Amazon Web Services 账户 的主要账户联系人和备用运营联系人发送递归循环电子邮件警报。有关查看或更新账户中电子邮件地址的信息,请参阅《Amazon 一般参考》中的 Updating contact information

亚马逊 CloudWatch 指标

CloudWatch 指标RecursiveInvocationsDropped记录了 Lambda 因您的函数在单个请求链中被调用超过 16 次而停止的函数调用次数。Lambda 会在停止递归调用后立即发出此指标。要查看此指标,请按照在 CloudWatch控制台上查看指标的说明进行操作,然后选择该指标RecursiveInvocationsDropped

响应递归循环检测通知

当同一触发事件调用您的函数超过 16 次时,Lambda 会停止该事件的下一次函数调用,以便中断递归循环。为防止 Lambda 中断的递归循环再次出现,请执行以下操作:

  • 将函数的可用并发减少到零,即可限制未来发生的所有调用。

  • 移除或禁用会调用函数的触发器或事件源映射。

  • 识别并修复会将事件写回会调用函数的 Amazon 资源的代码缺陷。在使用变量定义函数的事件源和目标时,就会出现常见的缺陷来源。请检查并确认您为两个变量使用的是不同值。

此外,如果您的 Lambda 函数的事件源是 Amazon SQS 队列,则可以考虑在源队列上配置死信队列

注意

确保在源队列上配置死信队列,而不是在 Lambda 函数上配置。您在函数上配置的死信队列用于函数的异步调用队列,而不是用于事件源队列。

如果事件源是 Amazon SNS 主题,请考虑为您的函数添加失败时的目标

将函数的可用并发减少到零(控制台)
  1. 打开 Lamba 控制台的函数页面

  2. 选择函数的名称。

  3. 选择限制

  4. 限制函数对话框中,选择确认

删除函数的触发器或事件源映射(控制台)
  1. 打开 Lamba 控制台的函数页面

  2. 选择函数的名称。

  3. 选择配置选项卡,然后选择触发器

  4. 触发器下,选择要删除的触发器或事件源映射,然后选择删除

  5. 删除触发器对话框中,选择删除

禁用函数的事件源映射(Amazon CLI)
  1. 要查找要禁用的事件源映射的 UUID,请运行 Amazon Command Line Interface (Amazon CLI) list-event-source-mappings命令。

    aws lambda list-event-source-mappings
  2. 要禁用事件源映射,请运行以下Amazon CLIupdate-event-source-mapping命令。

    aws lambda update-event-source-mapping --function-name MyFunction \ --uuid a1b2c3d4-5678-90ab-cdef-EXAMPLE11111 --no-enabled