Exception Handling and Retries - Amazon Neptune
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Exception Handling and Retries

When transactions are canceled because of unresolvable conflicts or lock-wait timeouts, Amazon Neptune responds with a ConcurrentModificationException. For more information, see Engine Error Codes. As a best practice, clients should always catch and handle these exceptions.

In many cases, when the number of ConcurrentModificationException instances is low, an exponential backoff-based retry mechanism works well as a way to handle them. In such a retry approach, the maximum number of retries and waiting time generally depends on the maximum size and duration of the transactions.

However, if your application has highly concurrent update workloads, and you observe a large number of ConcurrentModificationException events, you might be able to modify your application to reduce the number of conflicting concurrent modifications.

For example, consider an application that makes frequent updates to a set of vertices and uses multiple concurrent threads for these updates to optimize the write throughput. If each thread continuously executes queries that update one or more node properties, concurrent updates of the same node can produce ConcurrentModificationExceptions. This in turn can degrade write performance.

You can greatly reduce the likelihood of such collisions if you can serialize updates that are likely to conflict with each other. For example, if you can ensure that all update queries for a given node are made on the same thread (maybe using a hash-based assignment), you can be sure that they will be executed one after another rather than concurrently. Although it is still possible that a range lock taken on a neighboring node can cause a ConcurrentModificationException, you eliminate concurrent updates to the same node.

异常处理和重试 - Amazon Neptune
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

异常处理和重试

如果由于无法解决的冲突或锁定等待超时而取消交易,Amazon Neptune 将使用ConcurrentModificationException. 有关更多信息,请参阅 引擎错误代码。作为最佳实践,客户端应始终捕获并处理这些异常。

在许多情况下,当 ConcurrentModificationException 实例数量很少时,基于指数回退的重试机制能够很好地处理它们。在这种重试方法中,最大重试次数和等待时间通常取决于事务的最大大小和持续时间。

但是,如果您的应用程序具有很高的并发更新工作负载,并且您观察到大量 ConcurrentModificationException 事件,则可以修改应用程序来减少冲突性并发修改的数量。

例如,请考虑这样的应用程序:它经常对一组顶点进行更新,并使用多个并发线程进行更新来优化写入吞吐量。如果每个线程连续执行更新一个或多个节点属性的查询,则并发更新同一节点可能会产生 ConcurrentModificationException。这反过来会降低写入性能。

如果您能够将可能相互冲突的更新更改为顺序执行,则可大大降低发生此类冲突的可能性。例如,如果您可以确保对给定节点的所有更新查询都在同一线程上进行(例如使用基于哈希的分配),则可以确保它们一个接一个地执行,而不是并发执行。虽然对相邻节点进行范围锁定仍然可能导致 ConcurrentModificationException,但是您消除了对同一节点的并发更新。