Troubleshooting Amazon Backup - Amazon Backup
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Troubleshooting Amazon Backup

When you use Amazon Backup, you might encounter issues. The following sections can help you troubleshoot some common issues that might occur.

For general questions about Amazon Backup, see the Amazon Backup FAQ. You can also search for answers and post questions in the Amazon Backup forum.

Troubleshooting general issues

When you back up and restore resources, you not only need permission to use Amazon Backup, you must also have permission to access the resources that you want to protect. The easiest way to have the proper permissions is to choose the Default role when you assign resources to a backup plan. For more information about access control using Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) with Amazon Backup, see Access control.

If you run into issues with backing up and restoring a particular resource type, it can be helpful to review the backup and restore troubleshooting topic for that resource. For more information, see the links under How Amazon Backup works with supported Amazon services.

If Amazon Backup fails to create or delete a resource, you can learn more about the issue by using Amazon CloudTrail to view error messages or logs. For more information about using CloudTrail with Amazon Backup, see Logging Amazon Backup API calls with CloudTrail.

Troubleshoot creating resources

The following information can help you troubleshoot problems with creating backups.

  • In general, Amazon database services cannot start backups 1 hour before or during their maintenance window or automatic backup window. Amazon FSx cannot start backups 4 hours before or during the maintenance window or automatic backup window (Amazon Aurora is exempt from this maintenance window restriction). Snapshot backups scheduled during those times will fail. One exception: when you opt in to using Amazon Backup for both snapshot and continuous backups for a supported service, you no longer need to worry about those windows because Amazon Backup will schedule them for you. See Point-in-Time Recovery for a list of supported services and instructions on how to use Amazon Backup to take continuous backups.

  • Creating backups for DynamoDB tables will fail while tables are being created. Creating a DynamoDB table typically takes a couple of minutes.

  • Backing up Amazon EFS file systems can take up to 7 days when the file systems are very large. Only one concurrent backup at a time can be queued for an Amazon EFS file system. If a subsequent backup is queued while a previous one is still in progress, the backup window can expire and no backup is created.

  • Amazon EBS has a soft quota of 100,000 backups per Amazon Web Services Region per account, and additional backups fail when this quota is reached. If you reach this quota, you can delete excess backups or request a quota increase. For more information about requesting a quota increase, see Amazon Service Quotas.

  • When creating Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS) backups, consider the following:

    • If you do not use Amazon Backup to manage both Amazon RDS snapshots and continuous backups with point-in-time recovery, your backups will fail if initiated if scheduled or made on-demand during the daily, user-configurable 30-minute backup window. For more information about automated Amazon RDS backups, see Working With Backups in the Amazon RDS User Guide. You can avoid this limitation by using Amazon Backup to manage both Amazon RDS snapshots and continuous backups with point-in-time recovery.

    • If you initiate a backup job from the Amazon RDS console, this can conflict with an Aurora clusters backup job, causing the error Backup job expired before completion. If this occurs, configure a longer backup window in Amazon Backup.

    • Amazon Backup does not currently pass on the TDE option group when a copy job is created. If you intend to use this option group for copy job creation, you must use the Amazon RDS console or Amazon RDS API instead of Amazon Backup tools. See Copying an option group in the Amazon Relational Database Service User Guide for more information.

    • ERROR: On-demand backups complete but scheduled backups fail with error "The source snapshot KMS key does not exist, is not enabled or you do not have permissions to access it." The on-demand job is completed because it uses the API call CopyDBSnapshot, which doesn't require KMS access.

      REMEDY: Add the IAM role to your KMS key. This can be done by allowing the role on your KMS key policy.

      To edit your policy,

      1. Open the KMS console.

      2. Select customer managed keys in the left navigation.

      3. Click the customer managed key you wish to edit.

      4. Under Key policy, click Switch to policy view.

      5. Click Edit.

      6. Add the role.

Troubleshooting deleting resources

Recovery points that are created by Amazon Backup cannot be deleted in the console window of the protected resource. You can delete them on the Amazon Backup console by selecting them in the vault where they are stored and then choosing Delete.

To delete a recovery point or a backup vault, you need the appropriate permissions. For more information about access control using IAM with Amazon Backup, see Access control.

Troubleshooting restoring resources

Restoring using API

To restore a backup programmatically, use the StartRestoreJob API operation.

To get the configuration metadata that your backup was created with, you can call GetRecoveryPointRestoreMetadata.

See Restoring a backup for more information.

Restoring using the Console

排除 Amazon Backup 的故障 - Amazon Backup
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

排除 Amazon Backup 的故障

在您使用 Amazon Backup 时,可能会遇到问题。以下部分可帮助您解决可能出现的一些常见问题。

有关 Amazon Backup 的一般性问题,请参阅 Amazon Backup 常见问题。您还可以在 Amazon Backup 论坛上搜索答案和发布问题。

排查一般问题

备份和还原资源时,您不仅需要 Amazon Backup 的使用权限,还必须具有访问要保护的资源的权限。获得适当权限的最简单方法是在将资源分配给备份计划时选择默认角色。有关将 Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) 与 Amazon Backup 配合使用进行访问控制的更多信息,请参阅访问控制

如果在备份和还原特定资源类型时遇到问题,查看该资源的备份和还原故障排除主题会很有帮助。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Backup 如何使用支持的 Amazon 服务下的链接。

如果 Amazon Backup 无法创建或删除资源,您可以通过使用 Amazon CloudTrail 查看错误消息或日志来了解有关该问题的详细信息。有关将 CloudTrail 与 Amazon Backup 配合使用的更多信息,请参阅使用记录 Amazon Backup API 调用 CloudTrail

创建资源故障排除

以下信息可帮助您排查创建备份问题。

  • 通常,Amazon 数据库服务在其维护时段或自动备份时段之前 1 小时或期间无法启动备份。Amazon FSx 在维护时段或自动备份时段之前 4 小时或期间无法启动备份(Amazon Aurora 不受此维护时段限制的约束)。在这段时间内安排的快照备份将失败。一个例外:当您选择使用 Amazon Backup 为支持的服务进行快照和连续备份时,您不必再担心这些时段,因为 Amazon Backup 会为您做出安排。有关支持的服务列表以及如何使用 Amazon Backup 进行连续备份的说明,请参阅时间点故障恢复

  • 正在创建 DynamoDB 表时,为这些表创建备份将失败。创建 DynamoDB 表通常需要几分钟。

  • Amazon EFS 文件系统非常大时,备份这些文件系统最多可能需要 7 天时间。一次只能对 Amazon EFS 文件系统的一个并发备份进行排队。如果后续备份在前一个备份仍在进行时排队,则备份窗口可能会过期,并且不会创建备份。

  • Amazon EBS 具有每个账户每个 Amazon Web Services 区域 100000 个备份的软配额,当达到此配额时,其他备份将失败。如果达到此配额,您可以删除多余备份或请求增加配额。有关请求增加配额的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon 服务限额

  • 创建 Amazon Relational Database Service (RDS) 备份时,请考虑以下几点:

    • 如果不使用 Amazon Backup 管理 Amazon RDS 快照和具有时间点故障恢复功能的连续备份,则在用户可配置的 30 分钟每日备份时段内按计划启动备份或按需进行备份时,备份将失败。有关自动 Amazon RDS 备份的更多信息,请参阅《Amazon RDS 用户指南》中的 Working With Backups。您可以使用 Amazon Backup 管理 Amazon RDS 快照和带时间点故障恢复功能的连续备份,从而避免这一限制。

    • 如果从 Amazon RDS 控制台启动备份作业,则可能会与 Aurora 集群的备份作业发生冲突,从而导致错误 Backup job expired before completion.。如果发生这种情况,请在 Amazon Backup 中配置更长的备份时段。

    • 在创建复制作业时,Amazon Backup 当前不会传递 TDE 选项组。如果您打算使用此选项组创建复制作业,则必须使用 Amazon RDS 控制台或 Amazon RDS API 而不是 Amazon Backup 工具。有关更多信息,请参阅《Amazon Relational Database Service 用户指南》中的复制选项组

    • 错误:按需备份完成,但计划备份失败,并显示错误“源快照 KMS 密钥不存在、未启用或您无权访问它”。按需作业之所以完成,是因为它使用的是 API 调用 CopyDBSnapshot,不需要 KMS 访问权限。

      补救措施:将 IAM 角色添加到您的 KMS 密钥。可以通过在您的 KMS 密钥策略中允许该角色来完成。

      要编辑策略,请执行以下操作:

      1. 打开 KMS 控制台

      2. 在左侧导航栏中,选择客户托管密钥

      3. 单击要编辑的客户托管密钥。

      4. 密钥策略下,单击切换到策略视图

      5. 单击编辑

      6. 添加角色。

删除资源故障排除

由 Amazon Backup 创建的恢复点无法在受保护资源的控制台窗口中删除。您可以在 Amazon Backup 控制台上删除它们,方法是在存储它们的保管库中选择它们,然后选择 Delete (删除)

要删除恢复点或备份保管库,您需要相应的权限。有关将 IAM 与 Amazon Backup 配合使用进行访问控制的更多信息,请参阅访问控制

还原资源故障排除

使用 API 进行还原

要以编程方式还原备份,请使用 StartRestoreJob API 操作。

要获取创建备份时使用的配置元数据,可以调用 GetRecoveryPointRestoreMetadata

有关更多信息,请参阅还原备份

使用控制台进行还原