How Amazon Backup works with supported Amazon services - Amazon Backup
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

How Amazon Backup works with supported Amazon services

Some Amazon Backup-supported Amazon services offer their own, stand-alone backup features. Those features are available to you independent of whether you use Amazon Backup. However, the backups other Amazon services create are not available for central governance through Amazon Backup.

To configure Amazon Backup to centrally manage data protection for all your supported services, you must opt in to managing that service with Amazon Backup, create an on-demand backup or schedule backups using a backup plan, and store your backups in backup vaults.

Opt in to managing services with Amazon Backup

When new Amazon services become available, you must enable Amazon Backup to use those services. If you try to create an on-demand backup or backup plan using resources from a service that is not enabled, you receive an error message and cannot complete the process.

The Amazon Backup console has two ways to include resource types in a backup plan: explicitly assign the resource type in a backup plan or include all resources. See the points below to understand how these selections work with service opt ins.

  • If resource assignments are only based on tags, then service opt-in settings are applied.

  • If a resource type is explicitly assigned to a backup plan, such as Amazon S3, Amazon EC2, or Amazon RDS, it will be included in the backup even if the opt-in is not enabled for that particular service.

  • If both a resource type and tags are specified in a resource assignment, the resource type specified in the backup plan takes priority over the tag condition. Service opt-in settings are disregarded in this situation.

Note

Service opt-in settings are Region-specific. If you change the Amazon Web Services Region that you're using, you must reconfigure the services that you use with Amazon Backup.

To configure the services used with Amazon Backup
  1. Open the Amazon Backup console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/backup.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Settings.

  3. On the Service opt-in page, choose Configure resources.

  4. Use the toggle switches to enable or disable the services used with Amazon Backup.

    Important

    RDS, Aurora, Neptune, and DocumentDB share the same Amazon Resource Name (ARN). Opting in to manage one of these resource types with Amazon Backup opts in to all of them when assigning it to a backup plan. Regardless, we recommend you opt in all of them to accurately represent your opt-in status.

  5. Choose Confirm.

Working with Amazon S3 data

Amazon Backup offers fully-managed backup and restore for Amazon S3 backups. To learn more, see Amazon S3 backups.

For detailed information about S3 data, see the Amazon S3 documentation.

Working with VMware virtual machines

Amazon Backup supports centralized and automated data protection for on-premises VMware virtual machines (VMs) along with VMs in the VMware Cloud™ (VMC) on Amazon. You can back up from your on premises and VMC virtual machines to Amazon Backup. Then, you can restore from Amazon Backup to either on premises or VMC.

Backup gateway is downloadable Amazon Backup software that you deploy to your VMware VMs to connect them to Amazon Backup. The gateway connects to your VM management server to discover VMs, discovers your VMs, encrypts data, and efficiently transfers data to Amazon Backup. The following diagram illustrates how Backup gateway connects to your VMs:

Working with Amazon DynamoDB

Amazon Backup supports backing up and restoring Amazon DynamoDB tables. DynamoDB is a fully-managed NoSQL database service that provides fast and predictable performance with seamless scalability.

Since its launch, Amazon Backup has always supported DynamoDB. Starting November 2021, Amazon Backup also introduced advanced features for DynamoDB backups. Those advanced features include copying your backups across Amazon Web Services Regions and accounts, tiering backups to cold storage, and using tags for permissions and cost management.

New Amazon Backup customers onboarding after November 2021 will have advanced DynamoDB backup features enabled by default.

We recommend all existing Amazon Backup customers enable advanced features for DynamoDB. There is no difference in warm backup storage pricing after you enable advanced features, and you can save money by tiering backups to cold storage and optimize your costs by using cost allocation tags.

For a full list of advanced features and how to enable them, see Advanced DynamoDB backup.

For detailed information about DynamoDB, see What is Amazon DynamoDB? in the Amazon DynamoDB Developer Guide.

Working with Amazon FSx file systems

Amazon Backup supports backing up and restoring Amazon FSx file systems. Amazon FSx provides fully managed third-party file systems with the native compatibility and feature sets for workloads. Amazon Backup uses the built-in backup functionality of Amazon FSx. So backups taken from the Amazon Backup console have the same level of file system consistency and performance, and the same restore options as backups that are taken through the Amazon FSx console.

If you use Amazon Backup to manage these backups, you gain additional functionality, such as unlimited retention options, and the ability to create scheduled backups as frequently as every hour. In addition, Amazon Backup retains your backups even after the source file system is deleted. This protects against accidental or malicious deletion.

Use Amazon Backup to protect Amazon FSx file systems if you want to configure backup policies and monitor backup tasks from a central backup console that also extends support for other Amazon services.

For detailed information about Amazon FSx file systems, see the Amazon FSx documentation.

Working with Amazon EC2

Using Amazon Backup, you can schedule or perform on-demand backup jobs that include entire EC2 instances and Windows applications running on Amazon EC2, along with associated configuration data. This limits the need for you to interact with the storage (Amazon EBS) volume. Similarly, you can restore an entire Amazon EC2 instance from a single recovery point. A backup job can only have one resource. So you can have a job to back up an EC2 instance, and it will back up the root volume, all data volumes, and the associated instance configurations.

Amazon Backup does not reboot EC2 instances at any time.

Backing Up Amazon EC2 resources

When backing up an Amazon EC2 instance, Amazon Backup takes a snapshot of the root Amazon EBS storage volume, the launch configurations, and all associated EBS volumes. Amazon Backup stores certain configuration parameters of the EC2 instance, including instance type, security groups, Amazon VPC, monitoring configuration, and tags. The backup data is stored as an Amazon EBS volume-backed Amazon Machine Image (AMI).

You can also back up and restore your VSS-enabled Microsoft Windows applications. You can schedule application-consistent backups, define lifecycle policies, and perform consistent restores as part of an on-demand backup or a scheduled backup plan. For more information, see Creating Windows VSS backups.

Amazon Backup does not back up the following:

  • Configuration of the Elastic Inference accelerator, if it is attached to the instance.

  • User data used when the instance was launched.

Note

For all instance types, only Amazon EBS-backed EC2 instances are supported. Ephemeral storage instances (that is, instance store-backed instances) are not supported.

When an Amazon Backup managed Amazon EC2 AMI (Amazon Machine Image) or Amazon EBS snapshot is deleted via Amazon Backup and you have the Amazon EC2 recycle bin configured, the image or snapshot might incur charges per the Amazon EC2 recycle bin policy. Snapshots and images in the Amazon EC2 recycle bin are no longer managed by Amazon Backup and will not be managed by Amazon Backup policies if you restore them from the recycle bin.

Amazon Backup managed Amazon EBS snapshots and snapshots associated with a Amazon Backup managed Amazon EC2 AMI which have Amazon EBS Snapshot Lock applied may not be deleted as part of the recovery point lifecycle if the snapshot lock duration exceeds the backup lifecycle. Instead, these recovery points will have the status of EXPIRED. These recovery points can be deleted manually if you choose to first remove the Amazon EBS snapshot lock.

Amazon Backup can encrypt EBS snapshots associated with an Amazon EC2 backup. This is similar to how it encrypts EBS snapshots. Amazon Backup uses the same encryption applied on the underlying EBS volumes when creating a snapshot of the Amazon EC2 AMI, and the configuration parameters of the original instance are persisted in the restore metadata.

A snapshot derives its encryption from the volume as you have defined, and the same encryption is applied to the corresponding snapshots. EBS snapshots of a copied AMI will always be encrypted. If you use a KMS key during the copy, the key will be applied. If you don't use a KMS key, a default KMS key is applied.

For detailed information about Amazon EC2, see What is Amazon EC2? in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Windows Instances.

Working with Amazon EFS

Amazon Backup supports Amazon Elastic File System (Amazon EFS).

For detailed information about Amazon EFS file systems, see What is Amazon Elastic File System? in the Amazon Elastic File System User Guide.

Working with Amazon EBS

Amazon Backup supports Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) volumes.

Amazon Backup managed Amazon EBS snapshots and snapshots associated with a Amazon Backup managed Amazon EC2 AMI which have Amazon EBS Snapshot Lock applied may not be deleted as part of the recovery point lifecycle if the snapshot lock duration exceeds the backup lifecycle. Instead, these recovery points will have the status of EXPIRED. These recovery points can be deleted manually if you choose to first remove the Amazon EBS snapshot lock.

For detailed information about Amazon EBS volumes, see What is Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS)? in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances.

For more information, see Creating an Amazon EBS Volume in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances.

Working with Amazon RDS and Aurora

Amazon Backup supports Amazon RDS database engines and Aurora clusters.

For more information about Amazon RDS, see What is Amazon Relational Database Service? in the Amazon RDS User Guide.

For detailed information about Aurora, see What is Amazon Aurora? in the Amazon Aurora User Guide.

Note

If you initiate a backup job from the Amazon RDS console, this can conflict with an Aurora clusters backup job, causing the error Backup job expired before completion. If this occurs, configure a longer backup window in Amazon Backup.

Note

RDS Custom for SQL Server and RDS Custom for Oracle are not currently supported by Amazon Backup.

Note

Amazon does not charge for Aurora snapshots stored inside a backup vault as long as Aurora has automated backups enabled and the retention period for Aurora automated backups is more than the retention period of Aurora snapshots. Any snapshots within the backup vault will be charged if the snapshots’ database is deleted (deletions may occur accidentally or during blue/green deployment).

Large snapshots and frequent backups from a deleted database could result in significant storage charges. Visit the Amazon Backup calculator to estimate potential Amazon Backup charges.

Working with Amazon Storage Gateway

Amazon Backup supports Storage Gateway Volume Gateway. You can also restore Amazon EBS snapshots as Storage Gateway volumes.

Working with Amazon DocumentDB

Amazon Backup supports Amazon DocumentDB clusters.

Working with Amazon Neptune

Amazon Backup supports Amazon Neptune clusters.

Working with Amazon Timestream

Amazon Backup supports Amazon Timestream tables.

Working with Amazon Organizations

Amazon Backup works with Amazon Organizations to simplify cross-account monitoring and management

Working with Amazon CloudFormation

Amazon Backup support Amazon CloudFormation templates and application stacks

Working with Amazon BackInt, Amazon Systems Manager for SAP, and SAP HANA

Amazon Backup works with Amazon BackInt and with SSM for SAP to support SAP HANA backup and restore functions.

How Amazon services back up their own resources

You might refer to the technical documentation for a specific Amazon service's backup and restore process, particularly when, during a restore, you need to configure a new instance of that Amazon service. The following is a list of documenation:

Amazon Backup 如何使用支持的 Amazon 服务 - Amazon Backup
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

Amazon Backup 如何使用支持的 Amazon 服务

某些 Amazon Backup 支持的 Amazon 服务提供自己的独立备份功能。无论您是否使用 Amazon Backup,都可以使用这些功能。但是,其他 Amazon 服务创建的备份无法用于通过 Amazon Backup 进行集中治理。

要配置 Amazon Backup 以集中管理所有受支持服务的数据保护,您必须选择使用 Amazon Backup 管理该服务,创建按需备份或使用备份计划计划备份,并将备份存储在备份保管库中。

选择使用 Amazon Backup 管理服务

当新 Amazon 服务变得可用时,您必须允许 Amazon Backup 使用这些服务。如果您尝试使用未启用的服务中的资源来创建按需备份或备份计划,则会收到错误消息,并且无法完成此过程。

Amazon Backup 控制台提供两种方法,供您在备份计划中包含资源类型:在备份计划中明确分配资源类型或包含所有资源。请参阅以下要点,了解如何将这些选择与“选择加入服务”设置一起使用。

  • 如果资源分配仅基于标签,将应用“选择加入服务”设置。

  • 如果为备份计划明确分配了资源类型,例如 Amazon S3、Amazon EC2 或 Amazon RDS,那么即使该特定服务未启用选择加入功能,该资源类型也将包含在备份中。

  • 如果在资源分配中同时指定了资源类型和标签,则备份计划中指定的资源类型优先于标签条件。在这种情况下,“选择加入服务”设置将被忽略。

注意

选择加入服务设置是特定于区域的。如果您更改正在使用的 Amazon Web Services 区域,则必须重新配置与 Amazon Backup 结合使用的服务。

配置与 Amazon Backup 结合使用的服务
  1. 打开 Amazon Backup 控制台,网址为:https://console.aws.amazon.com/backup

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择设置

  3. 选择加入服务页面上,选择配置资源

  4. 使用切换开关启用或禁用与 Amazon Backup 结合使用的服务。

    重要

    RDS、Aurora、Neptune 和 DocumentDB 共享相同的 Amazon 资源名称 (ARN)。在将其中一种资源类型分配给备份计划时,选择使用 Amazon Backup 来管理这种资源可以选择管理所有这些资源类型。无论如何,我们建议您选择所有选项,以准确反映您的选择加入状态。

  5. 选择 Confirm(确认)。

使用 Amazon S3 数据

Amazon Backup 为 Amazon S3 备份提供完全托管的备份和还原。要了解更多信息,请参阅 Amazon S3 备份

有关 S3 数据的详细信息,请参阅 Amazon S3 文档

使用 VMware 虚拟机

Amazon Backup 支持对本地 VMware 虚拟机 (VM) 以及 VMware Cloud™ (VMC) on Amazon 中的虚拟机提供集中和自动数据保护。您可以从本地和 VMC 虚拟机备份到 Amazon Backup。然后,您可以从 Amazon Backup 还原到本地或 VMC。

Backup Gateway 是一款可下载的 Amazon Backup 软件,您可以将其部署到 VMware 虚拟机,以将其连接到 Amazon Backup。该网关连接到您的虚拟机管理服务器以发现虚拟机、发现您的虚拟机、加密数据并高效地将数据传输到 Amazon Backup。下图阐述了 Backup Gateway 如何连接到您的虚拟机:

使用 Amazon DynamoDB

Amazon Backup 支持备份和还原 Amazon DynamoDB 表。DynamoDB 是一项完全托管的 NoSQL 数据库服务,提供快速而可预测的性能,能够实现无缝扩展。

自推出以来,Amazon Backup 一直支持 DynamoDB。从 2021 年 11 月起,Amazon Backup 还推出了用于 DynamoDB 备份的高级功能。这些高级功能包括跨 Amazon Web Services 区域和账户复制备份、将备份分层到冷存储,以及使用标签进行权限和成本管理。

2021 年 11 月之后注册到 Amazon Backup 的新客户会默认启用高级 DynamoDB 备份功能。

建议所有现有 Amazon Backup 客户启用 DynamoDB 的高级功能。启用高级功能后,热备份存储的定价没有区别,您可以通过将备份分层到冷存储来节省资金,并通过使用成本分配标签来优化成本。

有关高级功能的完整列表以及如何启用这些功能,请参阅高级 DynamoDB 备份

有关 DynamoDB 的详细信息,请参阅《Amazon DynamoDB 开发人员指南》中的什么是 Amazon DynamoDB?

使用 Amazon FSx 文件系统

Amazon Backup 支持 Amazon FSx 文件系统的备份和还原。Amazon FSx 为完全托管的第三方文件系统提供原生兼容性和工作负载功能集。Amazon Backup 使用 Amazon FSx 的内置备份功能。因此,从 Amazon Backup 控制台进行的备份与通过 Amazon FSx 控制台进行的备份具有相同级别的文件系统一致性和性能,以及相同的还原选项。

如果您使用 Amazon Backup 管理这些备份,将会获得其他功能,例如无限保留选项,以及每小时创建计划备份的能力。此外,即使在删除源文件系统后,Amazon Backup 也会保留您的备份。这样可以防止意外或恶意删除。

如果您想通过还扩展对其他 Amazon 服务的支持的中央备份控制台配置备份策略和监控备份任务,可使用 Amazon Backup 来保护 Amazon FSx 文件系统。

有关 Amazon FSx 文件系统的详细信息,请参阅 Amazon FSx 文档

使用 Amazon EC2

利用 Amazon Backup,您可以计划或执行包括整个 EC2 实例和在 Amazon EC2 上运行的 Windows 应用程序以及关联的配置数据的按需备份作业。这将限制您与存储 (Amazon EBS) 卷进行交互的需求。同样,您可以从单个恢复点还原整个 Amazon EC2 实例。一个备份作业只能有一个资源。因此您可以有一个备份 EC2 实例的作业,该作业将对根卷、所有数据卷以及关联的实例配置进行备份。

Amazon Backup 在任何时候都不会重启 EC2 实例。

备份 Amazon EC2 资源

备份 Amazon EC2 实例时,Amazon Backup 将为根 Amazon EBS 存储卷、启动配置和所有关联的 EBS 卷拍摄快照。Amazon Backup 将存储 EC2 实例的某些配置参数,包括实例类型、安全组、Amazon VPC、监控配置和标签。备份数据将存储为 Amazon EBS 卷支持的 Amazon Machine Image (AMI)。

您还可以备份和还原启用 VSS 的 Microsoft Windows 应用程序。作为按需备份或定时备份计划的一部分,您可以安排应用程序一致性备份,定义生命周期策略,并执行一致的还原。有关更多信息,请参阅创建 Windows VSS 备份

Amazon Backup 不会对以下内容进行备份:

  • Elastic Inference 加速器的配置(如果它已附加到实例)。

  • 启动实例时使用的用户数据。

注意

对于所有实例类型,仅 Amazon EBS 支持的 EC2 实例受支持。临时存储实例(即实例存储支持的实例)不受支持。

当通过 Amazon Backup 删除 Amazon Backup 托管的 Amazon EC2 AMI (Amazon Machine Image) 或 Amazon EBS 快照且您配置了 Amazon EC2 回收站时,根据 Amazon EC2 回收站政策,该映像或快照可能会产生费用。如果您从 Amazon EC2 回收站中还原快照和映像,则此类快照和映像将不再由 Amazon Backup 管理,也不会由 Amazon Backup 策略管理。

如果快照锁持续时间超过备份生命周期,则不能在恢复点生命周期中删除 Amazon Backup 托管 Amazon EBS 快照以及与 Amazon Backup 托管 Amazon EC2 AMI 关联的已应用 Amazon EBS 快照锁的快照。相反,这些恢复点的状态将为 EXPIRED。如果您选择先删除 Amazon EBS 快照锁,则可以手动删除这些恢复点。

Amazon Backup 可以对与 Amazon EC2 备份关联的 EBS 快照进行加密。这与它加密 EBS 快照的方式类似。Amazon Backup 在创建 Amazon EC2 AMI 快照时使用在底层 EBS 卷上应用的相同加密,并且原始实例的配置参数将保留在还原元数据中。

快照从您定义的卷中派生其加密,并且相同的加密将应用于相应的快照。将始终加密复制的 AMI 的 EBS 快照。如果在复制过程中使用 KMS 密钥,则将应用该密钥。如果未使用 KMS 密钥,则将应用默认 KMS 密钥。

有关 Amazon EC2 的详细信息,请参阅《适用于 Windows 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南》中的什么是 Amazon EC2?

使用 Amazon EFS

Amazon Backup 支持 Amazon Elastic File System (Amazon EFS)。

有关 Amazon EFS 文件系统的详细信息,请参阅《Amazon Elastic File System 用户指南》中的什么是 Amazon Elastic File System?

使用 Amazon EBS

Amazon Backup 支持 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 卷。

如果快照锁持续时间超过备份生命周期,则不能在恢复点生命周期中删除 Amazon Backup 托管 Amazon EBS 快照以及与 Amazon Backup 托管 Amazon EC2 AMI 关联的已应用 Amazon EBS 快照锁的快照。相反,这些恢复点的状态将为 EXPIRED。如果您选择先删除 Amazon EBS 快照锁,则可以手动删除这些恢复点。

有关 Amazon EBS 卷的详细信息,请参阅《适用于 Linux 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南》中的什么是 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS)?

有关更多信息,请参阅《适用于 Linux 实例的 Amazon EC2 用户指南》中的创建 Amazon EBS 卷

使用 Amazon RDS 和 Aurora

Amazon Backup 支持 Amazon RDS 数据库引擎和 Aurora 集群。

有关 Amazon RDS 的更多信息,请参阅《Amazon RDS 用户指南》中的什么是 Amazon Relational Database Service?

有关 Aurora 的详细信息,请参阅《Amazon Aurora 用户指南》中的什么是 Amazon Aurora?

注意

如果您从 Amazon RDS 控制台启动备份作业,则可能会与 Aurora 集群的备份作业发生冲突,从而导致错误备份作业在完成之前过期。如果出现这种情况,请在 Amazon Backup 中配置更长的备份时段。

注意

Amazon Backup 目前不支持 RDS Custom for SQL Server 和 RDS Custom for Oracle。

注意

只要 Aurora 启用了自动备份,并且 Aurora 自动备份的保留期超过 Aurora 快照的保留期,则 Amazon 不对存储在备份保管库中的 Aurora 快照收费。如果删除了快照的数据库(删除可能是意外发生的,也可能在蓝/绿部署期间发生),将对备份保管库中的所有快照收费。

大型快照和从已删除的数据库中频繁备份可能会导致收取大量存储费用。访问 Amazon Backup 计算器估算潜在 Amazon Backup 费用。

使用 Amazon Storage Gateway

Amazon Backup 支持 Storage Gateway 卷网关。您也可以将 Amazon EBS 快照还原到 Storage Gateway 卷。

使用 Amazon DocumentDB

Amazon Backup 支持 Amazon DocumentDB 集群。

使用 Amazon Neptune

Amazon Backup 支持 Amazon Neptune 集群。

使用 Amazon Timestream

Amazon Backup 支持 Amazon Timestream 表。

使用 Amazon Organizations

Amazon Backup 可与 Amazon Organizations 配合使用,以简化跨账户监控和管理

使用 Amazon CloudFormation

Amazon Backup 支持 Amazon CloudFormation 模板和应用程序堆栈

使用 Amazon BackInt、Amazon Systems Manager for SAP 和 SAP HANA

Amazon Backup 可与 Amazon BackInt 和 SSM for SAP 配合使用,以支持 SAP HANA 备份和还原功能。

Amazon 服务如何备份自己的资源

您可以参考技术文档,了解特定 Amazon 服务的备份和还原过程,尤其是在还原期间您需要配置该 Amazon 服务的新实例时。以下是文档列表: