Creating a trail for an organization - Amazon CloudTrail
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Creating a trail for an organization

If you have created an organization in Amazon Organizations, you can create a trail that logs all events for all Amazon accounts in that organization. This is sometimes called an organization trail. You can also choose to edit an existing trail in the management account and apply it to an organization, making it an organization trail. Organization trails log events for the management account and all member accounts in the organization. For more information about Amazon Organizations, see Organizations Terminology and Concepts.

Note

You must be logged in with the management account for the organization to create an organization trail. You must also have sufficient permissions for the IAM user or role in the management account to successfully create an organization trail. If you do not have sufficient permissions, you cannot see the option to apply a trail to an organization.

When you create an organization trail, a trail with the name that you give it is created in every Amazon account that belongs to your organization. Users with CloudTrail permissions in member accounts can see this trail when they log into the Amazon CloudTrail console from their Amazon accounts, or when they run Amazon CLI commands such as describe-trail. However, users in member accounts do not have sufficient permissions to delete the organization trail, turn logging on or off, change what types of events are logged, or otherwise change the organization trail in any way.

By default, when you create an organization trail in the CloudTrail console, the trail is a multi-region trail; that is, it logs events from all regions in each account in the organization, but only in the Amazon partition in which the trail is created. To log events across all regions in all Amazon partitions in your organization, create a multi-region organization trail in each partition.

When you create an organization trail in the console, or when you enable CloudTrail as a trusted service in Organizations, this creates a service-linked role to perform logging tasks in your organization's member accounts. This role is named AWSServiceRoleForCloudTrail, and is required for CloudTrail to log events for an organization. If an Amazon account is added to an organization, the organization trail and service-linked role are added to that Amazon account, and logging starts for that account automatically in the organization trail. If an Amazon account is removed from an organization, the organization trail and service-linked role are deleted from the Amazon account that is no longer part of the organization. However, log files for the removed account that were created before the account's removal remain in the Amazon S3 bucket where log files are stored for the trail.

In the following example, a user in the management account 111111111111 creates a trail named MyOrganizationTrail for the organization o-exampleorgid. The trail logs activity for all accounts in the organization in the same Amazon S3 bucket. All accounts in the organization can see MyOrganizationTrail in their list of trails, but member accounts cannot remove or modify the organization trail. Only the management account can change or delete the trail for the organization, just as only the management account can remove a member account from an organization. Similarly, by default, only the management account has access to the Amazon S3 bucket my-organization-bucket for the trail, and the logs contained within it. The high-level bucket structure for log files contains a folder named with the organization ID, and subfolders named with the account IDs for each account in the organization. Events for each member account are logged in the folder that corresponds to the member account ID. If member account 444444444444 is removed from the organization, MyOrganizationTrail and the service-linked role no longer appear in Amazon account 444444444444, and no further events are logged for that account by the organization trail. However, the 444444444444 folder remains in the Amazon S3 bucket, with all logs created before the removal of the account from the organization.

In this example, the ARN of the trail created in the management account is aws:cloudtrail:us-east-2:111111111111:trail/MyOrganizationTrail. This ARN is the ARN for the trail in all member accounts as well.

Organization trails are similar to regular trails in many ways. You can create multiple trails for your organization, and choose whether to create an organization trail in all regions or a single region, and what kinds of events you want logged in your organization trail, just as in any other trail. However, there are some differences. For example, when you create a trail in the console and choose whether to log data events for Amazon S3 buckets or Amazon Lambda functions, the only resources listed in the CloudTrail console are those for the management account, but you can add the ARNs for resources in member accounts. Data events for specified member account resources are logged without having to manually configure cross-account access to those resources. For more information about logging management events, Insights events, and data events, see Working with CloudTrail log files.

Note

In the console, you create a trail that logs all regions. This is a recommended best practice; logging activity in all regions helps you keep your Amazon environment more secure. To create a single-region trail, use the Amazon CLI.

You can also configure other Amazon services to further analyze and act upon the event data collected in CloudTrail logs for an organization trail the same way you would for any other trail. For example, you can analyze the data in an organization trail using Amazon Athena. For more information, see Amazon service integrations with CloudTrail Logs.

Event history and organization trails

Organization trails make the most recent 90 days of management events visible in Event history the same way that individual accounts do. When you view events in Event history for an organization in Amazon Organizations, you can view the events only for the Amazon Web Services account with which you are signed in. For example, if you are signed in with the organization management account, Event history shows the last 90 days of management events for the management account. Organization member account events are not shown in Event history for the management account. To view member account events in Event history, sign in with the member account.

Best practices for moving from member account trails to organization trails

If you already have CloudTrail trails configured for individual member accounts, but want to move to an organization trail to log events in all accounts, you do not want to lose events by deleting individual member account trails before you create an organization trail. But when you have two trails, you incur higher costs because of the additional copy of events delivered to the organization trail.

To help manage costs, but avoid losing events before log delivery starts on the organization trail, consider keeping both your individual member account trails and your organization trail for up to one day. This ensures that the organization trail logs all events, but you incur duplicate event costs only for one day. After the first day, you can stop logging on (or delete) any individual member account trails.

为组织创建跟踪 - Amazon CloudTrail
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

为组织创建跟踪

如果您已在 Amazon Organizations 中创建企业,则可以创建跟踪记录,此跟踪将录入该企业中所有 Amazon 账户的所有事件。这有时称为企业跟踪记录。您还可以选择在管理账户中编辑现有跟踪并将其应用于组织,从而使其成为组织跟踪。组织跟踪记录记录组织内的管理账户和所有成员账户的日志事件。有关 Amazon Organizations 的更多信息,请参阅 Organizations 术语和概念

注意

您必须使用组织的管理账户登录,才能创建组织跟踪。您还必须对管理账户中的 IAM 用户或角色具有足够的权限,才能成功创建组织跟踪。如果您没有足够的权限,则无法显示用于将跟踪应用到组织的选项。

当您创建企业跟踪记录时,将在属于您企业的每个 Amazon 账户中创建具有您所指定名称的跟踪记录。在成员账户中具有 CloudTrail 权限的用户在从其 Amazon 账户登录 Amazon CloudTrail 控制台时,或者当他们运行 Amazon CLI 命令(如 describe-trail)时,将能够看到此跟踪记录。但是,成员账户中的用户没有足够的权限删除企业跟踪记录、启用和关闭日志记录、更改要录入的事件类型,或以任何其他方式更改企业跟踪记录。

默认情况下,当您在 CloudTrail 控制台中创建企业跟踪记录时,该跟踪记录为多区域跟踪记录;也就是说,它会录入企业里每个账户中所有区域的事件,但仅在创建跟踪记录所在的 Amazon 分区中执行操作。要录入您企业中所有 Amazon 分区的所有区域的事件,请在每个分区中创建多区域企业跟踪记录。

当您在控制台中创建企业跟踪记录时,或当您在 Organizations 中将 CloudTrail 作为可信服务启用时,这样做会创建服务相关角色,以在您企业的成员账户中执行日志记录任务。该角色名为 AWSServiceRoleForCloudTrail,是 CloudTrail 录入企业事件所必需的。如果某个 Amazon 账户已添加到企业,则会将企业跟踪记录和服务相关角色添加到该 Amazon 账户,并将在企业跟踪记录中自动开始针对该账户的日志录入。如果从企业中删除了 Amazon 账户,则将会从不再是该企业一部分的 Amazon 账户中删除企业跟踪记录和服务相关角色。但是,在删除账户之前创建的已删除账户的日志文件仍将保留在 Simple Storage Service(Amazon S3)存储桶(其中存储了日志文件以用于跟踪)中。

在下面的示例中,管理账户 111111111111 中的用户为组织 o-exampleorgid 创建名为 MyOrganizationTrail 的跟踪。此跟踪将组织中所有账户的活动记录在同一 Simple Storage Service(Amazon S3)存储桶中。企业中的所有账户均可以在其跟踪记录列表中看到 MyOrganizationTrail,但成员账户无法删除或修改企业跟踪记录。只有管理账户才能更改或删除企业的跟踪记录,正如只有管理账户才可以从企业中删除成员账户一样。同样,默认情况下,只有管理账户可以访问跟踪记录的 Simple Storage Service(Amazon S3)存储桶 my-organization-bucket 以及其中包含的日志。日志文件的高级存储桶结构包含一个以企业 ID 命名的文件夹,其子文件夹以企业中每个账户的账户 ID 命名。每个成员账户的事件均记录在与相应成员账户 ID 对应的文件夹中。如果从企业中删除了成员账户 444444444444,则 MyOrganizationTrail 和服务相关角色将不再显示在 Amazon 账户 444444444444 中,并且企业跟踪记录不会再进一步录入该账户的其他事件。但是,444444444444 文件夹将与从组织中删除该账户之前创建的所有日志一起保留在 Simple Storage Service(Amazon S3)存储桶中。

在此示例中,管理账户中所创建跟踪的 ARN 为 aws:cloudtrail:us-east-2:111111111111:trail/MyOrganizationTrail。此 ARN 也是所有成员账户中的跟踪的 ARN。

组织跟踪记录在很多方面都类似于常规跟踪记录。可以为您的组织创建多个跟踪记录,并选择是在所有区域还是在单个区域中创建组织跟踪记录,以及您希望在组织跟踪记录中记录哪些类型的事件,就像在任何其他跟踪记录中一样。但存在一些区别。例如,在控制台中创建跟踪和选择是否记录 Simple Storage Service(Amazon S3)存储桶或 Amazon Lambda 函数的数据事件时,CloudTrail 控制台中列出的仅有资源是管理账户的资源,但您可以在成员账户中添加资源的 ARN。将记录指定成员账户资源的数据事件,而无需手动配置对这些资源的跨账户访问。有关记录管理事件、见解事件和数据事件的更多信息,请参阅使用 CloudTrail 日志文件

注意

在控制台中,您创建可记录所有区域的跟踪。这是推荐的最佳实践;所有区域中的日志记录活动都有助于保持 Amazon 环境更加安全。要创建单区域跟踪,请使用 Amazon CLI

您还可以配置其他 Amazon 服务,以便进一步分析在 CloudTrail 日志中为组织跟踪收集的事件数据并采取相应的措施(所采用的方式与对其他任何跟踪的方式相同)。例如,您可以使用 Amazon Athena 分析组织跟踪中的数据。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon 服务与 CloudTrail Logs 的集成

事件历史记录和组织跟踪记录

组织跟踪记录使最近 90 天的管理事件像在个人账户中那样出现在 Event history(事件历史记录)中。当您在中查看 Amazon Organizations 中的组织在 Event history(事件历史记录)中的事件时,只能查看您登录时使用的 Amazon Web Services 账户 的事件。例如,如果您使用组织管理账户登录,Event history(事件历史记录)将显示该管理账户的过去 90 天的管理事件。组织成员账户事件不会显示在管理账户的 Event history(事件历史记录)中。要查看 Event history(事件历史记录)中的会员账户事件,请使用会员账户登录。

从成员账户跟踪转到组织跟踪记录的最佳实践

如果您已经为各个成员账户配置了 CloudTrail 跟踪记录,但希望转到组织跟踪以记录所有账户中的事件,则在创建组织跟踪记录之前,您不希望通过删除各个成员账户跟踪记录来丢失事件。但是,当您有两个跟踪记录时,您会由于传递到组织跟踪记录的事件的额外副本而产生更高的成本。

为了帮助管理成本,但要避免在组织跟踪记录中开始日志传输之前丢失事件,请考虑同时保留单个成员账户跟踪记录和组织跟踪记录最多一天。这可确保组织跟踪记录所有事件,但您只会在一天内产生重复事件成本。第一天过后,您可以停止登录(或删除)任何单个会员账户跟踪记录。