Adding jobs in Amazon Glue - Amazon Glue
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Adding jobs in Amazon Glue

An Amazon Glue job encapsulates a script that connects to your source data, processes it, and then writes it out to your data target. Typically, a job runs extract, transform, and load (ETL) scripts. Jobs can also run general-purpose Python scripts (Python shell jobs.) Amazon Glue triggers can start jobs based on a schedule or event, or on demand. You can monitor job runs to understand runtime metrics such as completion status, duration, and start time.

You can use scripts that Amazon Glue generates or you can provide your own. With a source schema and target location or schema, the Amazon Glue code generator can automatically create an Apache Spark API (PySpark) script. You can use this script as a starting point and edit it to meet your goals.

Amazon Glue can write output files in several data formats, including JSON, CSV, ORC (Optimized Row Columnar), Apache Parquet, and Apache Avro. For some data formats, common compression formats can be written.

There are three types of jobs in Amazon Glue: Spark, Streaming ETL, and Python shell.

  • A Spark job is run in an Apache Spark environment managed by Amazon Glue. It processes data in batches.

  • A streaming ETL job is similar to a Spark job, except that it performs ETL on data streams. It uses the Apache Spark Structured Streaming framework. Some Spark job features are not available to streaming ETL jobs.

  • A Python shell job runs Python scripts as a shell and supports a Python version that depends on the Amazon Glue version you are using. You can use these jobs to schedule and run tasks that don't require an Apache Spark environment.

Defining job properties for Spark jobs

When you define your job on the Amazon Glue console, you provide values for properties to control the Amazon Glue runtime environment.

The following list describes the properties of a Spark job. For the properties of a Python shell job, see Defining job properties for Python shell jobs. For properties of a streaming ETL job, see Defining job properties for a streaming ETL job.

The properties are listed in the order in which they appear on the Add job wizard on Amazon Glue console.

Name

Provide a UTF-8 string with a maximum length of 255 characters.

IAM role

Specify the IAM role that is used for authorization to resources used to run the job and access data stores. For more information about permissions for running jobs in Amazon Glue, see Managing access permissions for Amazon Glue resources.

Type

Specify the type of job environment to run:

  • Choose Spark to run an Apache Spark ETL script with the job command glueetl.

  • Choose Spark Streaming to run a Apache Spark streaming ETL script with the job command gluestreaming. For more information, see Streaming ETL jobs in Amazon Glue.

  • Choose Python shell to run a Python script with the job command pythonshell. For more information, see Python shell jobs in Amazon Glue.

Amazon Glue version

Amazon Glue version determines the versions of Apache Spark and Python that are available to the job, as specified in the following table.

Amazon Glue version Supported Spark and Python versions
0.9
  • Spark 2.2.1

  • Python 2.7

1.0
  • Spark 2.4.3

  • Python 2.7

  • Python 3.6

2.0
  • Spark 2.4.3

  • Python 3.7

3.0
  • Spark 3.1.1

  • Python 3.7

Jobs that were created without specifying a Amazon Glue version default to Amazon Glue 2.0.

This job runs (generated or custom script)

The code in the ETL script defines your job's logic. The script can be coded in Python or Scala. You can choose whether the script that the job runs is generated by Amazon Glue or provided by you. You provide the script name and location in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3). Confirm that there isn't a file with the same name as the script directory in the path. To learn more about writing scripts, see Editing Spark scripts in the Amazon Glue console.

Scala class name

If the script is coded in Scala, you must provide a class name. The default class name for Amazon Glue generated scripts is GlueApp.

Temporary directory

Provide the location of a working directory in Amazon S3 where temporary intermediate results are written when Amazon Glue runs the script. Confirm that there isn't a file with the same name as the temporary directory in the path. This directory is used when Amazon Glue reads and writes to Amazon Redshift and by certain Amazon Glue transforms.

Note

Amazon Glue creates a temporary bucket for jobs if a bucket doesn't already exist in a region. This bucket might permit public access. You can either modify the bucket in Amazon S3 to set the public access block, or delete the bucket later after all jobs in that region have completed.

Note

Source and target are not listed under the console Details tab for a job. Review the script to see source and target details.

Advanced Properties
Job bookmark

Specify how Amazon Glue processes state information when the job runs. You can have it remember previously processed data, update state information, or ignore state information. For more information, see Tracking processed data using job bookmarks.

Monitoring options
Job metrics

Turn on or turn off the creation of Amazon CloudWatch metrics when this job runs. To see profiling data, you must enable this option. For more information about how to turn on and visualize metrics, see Job monitoring and debugging.

Continuous logging

Turn on continuous logging to Amazon CloudWatch. If this option is not enabled, logs are available only after the job completes. For more information, see Continuous logging for Amazon Glue jobs.

Spark UI

Turn on the use of Spark UI for monitoring this job. For more information, see Enabling the Apache Spark web UI for Amazon Glue jobs.

Tags

Tag your job with a Tag key and an optional Tag value. After tag keys are created, they are read-only. Use tags on some resources to help you organize and identify them. For more information, see Amazon tags in Amazon Glue.

Security configuration, script libraries, and job parameters
Security configuration

Choose a security configuration from the list. A security configuration specifies how the data at the Amazon S3 target is encrypted: no encryption, server-side encryption with Amazon KMS-managed keys (SSE-KMS), or Amazon S3-managed encryption keys (SSE-S3).

Server-side encryption

If you select this option, when the ETL job writes to Amazon S3, the data is encrypted at rest using SSE-S3 encryption. Both your Amazon S3 data target and any data that is written to an Amazon S3 temporary directory is encrypted. This option is passed as a job parameter. For more information, see Protecting Data Using Server-Side Encryption with Amazon S3-Managed Encryption Keys (SSE-S3) in the Amazon Simple Storage Service User Guide.

Important

This option is ignored if a security configuration is specified.

Python library path, Dependent jars path, and Referenced files path

Specify these options if your script requires them. You can define the comma-separated Amazon S3 paths for these options when you define the job. You can override these paths when you run the job. For more information, see Providing your own custom scripts.

Worker type

The following worker types are available:

  • Standard – When you choose this type, you also provide a value for Maximum capacity. Maximum capacity is the number of Amazon Glue data processing units (DPUs) that can be allocated when this job runs. A DPU is a relative measure of processing power that consists of 4 vCPUs of compute capacity and 16 GB of memory. The Standard worker type has a 50 GB disk and 2 executors.

  • G.1X – When you choose this type, you also provide a value for Number of workers. Each worker maps to 1 DPU (4 vCPU, 16 GB of memory, 64 GB disk), and provides 1 executor per worker. We recommend this worker type for memory-intensive jobs. This is the default Worker type for Amazon Glue Version 2.0 or later jobs.

  • G.2X – When you choose this type, you also provide a value for Number of workers. Each worker maps to 2 DPU (8 vCPU, 32 GB of memory, 128 GB disk), and provides 1 executor per worker. We recommend this worker type for memory-intensive jobs and jobs that run machine learning transforms.

  • G.025X – When you choose this type, you also provide a value for Number of workers. Each worker maps to 0.25 DPU (2 vCPU, 4 GB of memory, 64 GB disk), and provides 1 executor per worker. We recommend this worker type for low volume streaming jobs. This worker type is only available for Amazon Glue version 3.0 streaming jobs.

You are charged an hourly rate based on the number of DPUs used to run your ETL jobs. For more information, see the Amazon Glue pricing page.

For Amazon Glue version 1.0 or earlier jobs, when you configure a job using the console and specify a Worker type of Standard, the Maximum capacity is set and the Number of workers becomes the value of Maximum capacity - 1. If you use the Amazon Command Line Interface (Amazon CLI) or Amazon SDK, you can specify the Max capacity parameter, or you can specify both Worker type and the Number of workers.

For Amazon Glue version 2.0 or later jobs, you cannot instead specify a Maximum capacity. Instead, you should specify a Worker type and the Number of workers. For more information, see Jobs.

Number of workers

For G.1X and G.2X worker types, you must specify the number of workers that are allocated when the job runs.

Execution class

When you configure a job using Amazon Studio or the API you may specify a standard or flexible job execution class. Your jobs may have varying degrees of priority and time sensitivity. The standard execution-class is ideal for time-sensitive workloads that require fast job startup and dedicated resources.

The flexible execution class is appropriate for non-urgent jobs such as pre-production jobs, testing, and one-time data loads. Flexible job runs are supported for jobs using Amazon Glue version 3.0 or later and G.1X or G.2X worker types.

Flex job runs are billed based on the number of workers running at any point in time. Number of workers may be added or removed for a running flexible job run. Instead of billing as a simple calculation of Max Capacity * Execution Time, each worker will contribute for the time it ran during the job run. The bill is the sum of (Number of DPUs per worker * time each worker ran).

For more information, see the help panel in Amazon Studio, or Jobs and Job runs.

Maximum capacity

For Amazon Glue version 1.0 or earlier jobs, using the standard worker type, you must specify the maximum number of Amazon Glue data processing units (DPUs) that can be allocated when this job runs. You are charged an hourly rate based on the number of DPUs used to run your ETL jobs. For more information, see the Amazon Glue pricing page.

Choose an integer from 2 to 100. The default is 10. This job type cannot have a fractional DPU allocation.

For Amazon Glue version 2.0 or later jobs, you cannot instead specify a Maximum capacity. Instead, you should specify a Worker type and the Number of workers. For more information, see Jobs.

Max concurrency

Sets the maximum number of concurrent runs that are allowed for this job. The default is 1. An error is returned when this threshold is reached. The maximum value you can specify is controlled by a service limit. For example, if a previous run of a job is still running when a new instance is started, you might want to return an error to prevent two instances of the same job from running concurrently.

Job timeout

Sets the maximum execution time in minutes. The default is 2880 minutes (48 hours) for batch jobs. When the job execution time exceeds this limit, the job run state changes to TIMEOUT.

For streaming jobs that run indefinitely, leave the value blank, which is the default value for streaming jobs.

Delay notification threshold

Sets the threshold (in minutes) before a delay notification is sent. You can set this threshold to send notifications when a RUNNING, STARTING, or STOPPING job run takes more than an expected number of minutes.

Number of retries

Specify the number of times, from 0 to 10, that Amazon Glue should automatically restart the job if it fails. Jobs that reach the timeout limit are not restarted.

Job parameters

A set of key-value pairs that are passed as named parameters to the script. These are default values that are used when the script is run, but you can override them in triggers or when you run the job. You must prefix the key name with --; for example: --myKey. You pass job parameters as a map when using the Amazon Command Line Interface.

For examples, see Python parameters in Passing and accessing Python parameters in Amazon Glue.

Non-overrideable Job parameters

A set of special job parameters that cannot be overridden in triggers or when you run the job. These key-value pairs are passed as named parameters to the script. These values are used when the script is run, and you cannot override them in triggers or when you run the job. You must prefix the key name with --; for example: --myKey. getResolvedOptions() returns both job parameters and non-overrideable job parameters in a single map. For more information, see Accessing parameters using getResolvedOptions.

Catalog options
Use Amazon Glue data catalog as the Hive metastore

Select to use the Amazon Glue Data Catalog as the Hive metastore. The IAM role used for the job must have the glue:CreateDatabase permission. A database called “default” is created in the Data Catalog if it does not exist.

Data source

Choose a Data Catalog table.

Transform type

Choose one of the following:

Change schema

Adds the ApplyMapping transform to the generated script. Allows you to change the schema of the source data and create a new target dataset.

Find matching records

Allows you to choose a machine learning transform to use to find matching records within your source data.

Target

Do one of the following:

  • To specify an Amazon S3 path or JDBC data store, choose Create tables in your data target.

  • To specify a catalog table, choose Use tables in the data catalog and update your data target.

For Amazon S3 target locations, provide the location of a directory where your output is written. Confirm that there isn't a file with the same name as the target path directory in the path. For JDBC targets, Amazon Glue creates schema objects as needed if the specified objects do not exist.

For more information about adding a job using the Amazon Glue console, see Working with jobs on the Amazon Glue console.

Restrictions for jobs that access Lake Formation managed tables

Keep in mind the following notes and restrictions when creating jobs that read from or write to tables managed by Amazon Lake Formation:

在 Amazon Glue 中添加作业 - Amazon连接词
AWS 文档中描述的 AWS 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 AWS 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

在 Amazon Glue 中添加作业

Amazon Glue 作业将封装连接到源数据的脚本,处理该脚本,然后将其写入数据目标。通常,作业运行提取、转换和加载 (ETL) 脚本。作业还可以运行通用 Python 脚本(Python shell 作业)。Amazon Glue 触发器 可以根据计划或事件或者按需启动作业。您可以监控作业运行以了解运行时指标(例如完成状态、持续时间和开始时间)。

您可以使用Amazon Glue生成,也可以提供您自己的。给定源架构和目标位置或架构,Amazon Glue代码生成器可以自动创建 Apache Spark API (PySpark) 脚本。您可以将此脚本用作起点,并对其进行编辑以满足您的目标。

Amazon Glue 可以用多种数据格式编写输出文件,包括 JSON、CSV、ORC(优化的行列式)、Apache Parquet 和 Apache Avro。对于某些数据格式,可以编写常见的压缩格式。

有三种类型的作业Amazon Glue:Spark流式处理 ETL, 和Python Shell

  • Spark 作业在由托管的 Apache Spark 环境中运行。Amazon Glue。它将批量处理数据。

  • 流式处理 ETL 作业与 Spark 作业类似,只不过前者在数据流上执行 ETL。它使用 Apache Spark Structured Streaming 框架。某些 Spark 作业功能不可用于流式处理 ETL 作业。

  • Python 外壳作业运行 Python 脚本作为 shell,并支持依赖于Amazon Glue版本。您可以使用这些作业来计划和运行不需要 Apache Spark 环境的任务。

定义作业属性

当您在Amazon Glue控制台中,您会提供属性的值来控制Amazon Glue运行时环境。

以下列表描述了 Spark 作业的属性。有关 Python 外壳作业的属性,请参阅定义 Python Shell 作业的作业属性。有关流式处理 ETL 作业的属性,请参阅定义流式处理 ETL 作业的作业属性

属性按照它们在添加作业打开向导Amazon Glue控制台。

名称

提供最大长度为 255 个字符的 UTF-8 字符串。

IAM 角色

指定用于对运行作业和访问数据存储所用的资源进行授权的 IAM 角色。有关在 Amazon Glue 中运行作业的权限的更多信息,请参阅管理的访问权限AmazonGlue 资源

类型

指定要运行的作业环境的类型:

Amazon Glue 版本

Amazon Glue版本确定可用于作业的 Apache Spark 和 Python 版本,如下表中所述。

Amazon Glue 版本 支持的 Spark 和 Python 版本
0.9
  • Spark 2.2.1

  • Python 2.7

1.0
  • Spark 2.4.3

  • Python 2.7

  • Python 3.6

2.0
  • Spark 2.4.3

  • Python 3.7

创建的作业未指定Amazon Glue默认值为Amazon Glue0.9.

此作业运行(生成的或自定义的脚本)

ETL 脚本中的代码定义了作业的逻辑。该脚本可以用 Python 或 Scala 进行编码。您可以选择作业运行的脚本是由 Amazon Glue 生成还是由您提供。您需要在 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 中提供脚本名称和位置。确认没有与路径中的脚本目录同名的文件。要了解有关编写脚本的更多信息,请参阅在 Amazon Glue 中编辑脚本

Scala 类名称

如果脚本用 Scala 编码,则必须提供类名称。Amazon Glue 生成脚本的默认类名称是 GlueApp

临时目录

在 Amazon S3 中提供工作目录的位置,以便当Amazon Glue运行脚本。确认没有与路径中的临时目录同名的文件。此目录用于Amazon Glue读取和写入 Amazon Redshift,并通过某些Amazon Glue转换。

注意

控制台 Details (详细信息) 选项卡中未列出作业的源和目标。检查脚本以查看源和目标详细信息。

高级属性
作业书签

指定当作业运行时,Amazon Glue 如何处理状态信息。您可以让它记住之前处理过的数据、更新状态信息或忽略状态信息。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用作业书签来跟踪已处理的数据

监控选项
作业指标

在此作业运行时,打开或关闭 Amazon CloudWatch 指标的创建。要查看分析数据,则必须启用此选项。有关如何启用和可视化指标的更多信息,请参阅作业监控和调试

连续日志记录

打开持续日志记录到 Amazon CloudWatch。如果未启用此选项,则只有在作业完成后日志才可用。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Glue 作业的连续日志记录

Spark UI

启动 Spark UI 监控此作业。有关更多信息,请参阅 为 Amazon Glue 作业启用 Apache Spark Web UI

标签

使用 Tag key (标签键) 和可选的 Tag value (标签值) 来标记作业。创建标签键后,它们是只读的。对某些资源使用标签可帮助您整理和标识资源。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon中的标签Amazon Glue

安全配置、脚本库和作业参数
安全配置

从列表中选择安全配置。安全配置指定如何对 Amazon S3 目标上的数据加密:不加密、使用Amazon KMS托管密钥 (SSE-KMS),或 Amazon S3 托管加密密密钥 (SSE-S3)。

服务器端加密

如果选择此选项,当 ETL 作业写入 Amazon S3 时,数据将会使用 SSE-S3 加密进行静态加密。Amazon S3 数据目标和任何写入 Amazon S3 临时目录的数据都将被加密。此选项作为作业参数传递。有关更多信息,请参阅 。使用具有 Amazon S3 托管加密密钥的服务器端加密 (SSE-S3) 保护数据中的Amazon Simple Storage Service 开发人员指南

重要

如果指定了安全配置,则忽略此选项。

Python 库路径、从属 jar 路径和引用的文件路径

如果脚本需要这些选项,请指定。当您定义作业时,您可以为这些选项定义逗号分隔的 Amazon S3 路径。当您运行任务时,可以覆盖这些路径。有关更多信息,请参阅 提供您自己的自定义脚本

工作线程类型

以下工作线程类型可供使用:

  • Standard— 当您选择这种类型时,您还提供最大容量。最大容量是此作业运行时可分配的 Amazon Glue 数据处理单元 (DPU) 的数量。DPU 是对处理能力的相对度量,它由 4 个 vCPU 的计算容量和 16GB 内存组成。Standard 工作线程类型有一个 50 GB 的磁盘和 2 个执行器。

  • G.1X— 当您选择这种类型时,您还提供工作线程数。每个工作线程映射到 1 个 DPU(4 个 vCPU,16 GB 内存,64 GB 磁盘),并且每个工作线程提供 1 个执行器。我们建议内存密集型作业使用该工作线程类型。这是默认值工作线程类型对于 来说为Amazon Glue版本 2.0。

  • G.2X— 当您选择这种类型时,您还提供工作线程数。每个工作线程映射到 2 个 DPU(8 个 vCPU,32 GB 内存,128 GB 磁盘),并且每个工作线程提供 1 个执行器。我们建议内存密集型作业和运行 ML 转换的作业使用该工作线程类型。

您将根据用于运行 ETL 作业的 DPU 数量按小时支付费用。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Glue 定价页

适用于Amazon Glue版本 1.0 或更早版本的作业,当您使用控制台配置作业并指定工作线程类型标准最大容量被设置,并且工作线程数成为值的最大容量-1. 如果您使用Amazon命令行界面 (AmazonCLI)或AmazonSDK,您可以指定最大容量参数,或者您可以指定工作线程类型工作线程数

适用于Amazon Glue版本 2.0 作业,则无法改为指定最大容量。相反,您应该指定工作线程类型工作线程数。有关更多信息,请参阅作业

工作线程数

对于 G.1X 和 G.2X 工作线程类型,您必须指定作业运行时分配的工作线程数。

可定义的工作线程的最大数目是 299(对于 G.1X 而言)和 149(对于 G.2X 而言)。

最大容量

适用于Amazon Glue版本 1.0 或更早版本的作业,使用标准工作线程类型,您必须指定Amazon Glue数据处理单元 (DPU),可在此作业运行时分配。DPU 是对处理能力的相对度量,它由 4 个 vCPU 的计算容量和 16GB 内存组成。您将根据用于运行 ETL 作业的 DPU 数量按小时支付费用。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Glue 定价页

选择 2 到 100 之间的整数。默认值为 10。此作业类型不能具有小数 DPU 分配。

适用于Amazon Glue版本 2.0 作业,则无法改为指定最大容量。相反,您应该指定工作线程类型工作线程数。有关更多信息,请参阅作业

最大并发数

设置此作业允许的并发运行的最大数量。默认值为 1。达到此阈值时,将返回一个错误。可以指定的最大值由服务限制控制。例如,如果在启动新实例时,作业的前一运行仍在运行,则可能需要返回错误以防止同一作业的两个实例同时运行。

作业超时

设置最大执行时间 (以分钟为单位)。批处理作业的默认值为 2880 分钟 (48 小时)。当作业执行时间超过此限制时,作业运行状态更改为TIMEOUT

对于无限期运行的流式作业,请将该值留空,该值是流式处理作业的默认值。

延迟通知阈值

设置发送延迟通知之前的阈值(以分钟为单位)。您可以设置此阈值,以在 RUNNINGSTARTINGSTOPPING 作业运行超过预期的分钟数时发送通知。

重试次数

指定 Amazon Glue 在失败时自动重新启动作业的次数(从 0 到 10)。达到超时限制的作业不会重新启动。

作业参数

作为命名参数传递给脚本的一组键值对。这些是在运行脚本时使用的默认值,但您可以在触发器中或运行作业时覆盖它们。您必须为键名使用前缀--;例如:--myKey。 使用时,您可以将作业参数作为映射传递Amazon命令行界面。

有关示例,请参阅在 中传递和访问 Python 参数Amazon连接词中的 Python 参数。

不可覆盖的作业参数

一组不能在触发器中或运行作业时覆盖的特殊作业参数。这些键值对会作为命名参数传递给脚本。这些值会在运行脚本时使用,并且您不能在触发器中或运行作业时覆盖它们。您必须为键名使用前缀 --;例如 --myKeygetResolvedOptions() 在单个映射中返回作业参数和不可覆盖的作业参数。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用 getResolvedOptions 访问参数

目录选项
使用Amazon Glue数据目录作为 Hive 元存储

选择此选项可使用Amazon Glue作为 Hive 元存储的数据目录。用于作业的 IAM 角色必须具有glue:CreateDatabase权限。在数据目录中创建一个名为 “default” 的数据库(如果该数据库不存在)。

数据源

选择 “数据目录” 表。

转换类型

选择以下选项之一:

更改架构

ApplyMapping 转换添加到生成的脚本。允许您更改源数据的架构并创建新的目标数据集。

查找匹配的记录

允许您选择机器学习转换,用来在您的源数据中查找匹配的记录。

目标

请执行下列操作之一:

  • 要指定 Amazon S3 路径或 JDBC 数据存储库,请选择在数据目标中创建表

  • 要指定一个目录表,请选择在数据目录中使用表格并更新您的数据目标

对于 Amazon S3 目标位置,请提供您的输出写入的目录的位置。确认没有与路径中的目标路径目录同名的文件。对于 JDBC 目标,如果指定的对象不存在,Amazon Glue 根据需要创建架构对象。

有关如何使用 Amazon Glue 控制台添加作业的更多信息,请参阅在 Amazon Glue 控制台上处理作业