Replicating objects - Amazon Simple Storage Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Replicating objects

Replication enables automatic, asynchronous copying of objects across Amazon S3 buckets. Buckets that are configured for object replication can be owned by the same Amazon Web Services account or by different accounts. You can replicate objects to a single destination bucket or to multiple destination buckets. The destination buckets can be in different Amazon Web Services Regions or within the same Region as the source bucket.

To automatically replicate new objects as they are written to the bucket use live replication, such as Same-Region Replication (SRR) or Cross-Region Replication (CRR). To replicate existing objects to a different bucket on demand, use S3 Batch Replication. For more information about replicating existing objects, see When to use S3 Batch Replication.

To enable SRR or CRR, you add a replication configuration to your source bucket. The minimum configuration must provide the following:

  • The destination bucket or buckets where you want Amazon S3 to replicate objects

  • An Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) role that Amazon S3 can assume to replicate objects on your behalf

Additional configuration options are available. For more information, see Additional replication configurations.

Why use replication

Replication can help you do the following:

  • Replicate objects while retaining metadata – You can use replication to make copies of your objects that retain all metadata, such as the original object creation times and version IDs. This capability is important if you must ensure that your replica is identical to the source object.

  • Replicate objects into different storage classes – You can use replication to directly put objects into S3 Glacier Flexible Retrieval, S3 Glacier Deep Archive, or another storage class in the destination buckets. You can also replicate your data to the same storage class and use lifecycle policies on the destination buckets to move your objects to a colder storage class as they age.

  • Maintain object copies under different ownership – Regardless of who owns the source object, you can tell Amazon S3 to change replica ownership to the Amazon Web Services account that owns the destination bucket. This is referred to as the owner override option. You can use this option to restrict access to object replicas.

  • Keep objects stored over multiple Amazon Web Services Regions – To ensure geographic differences in where your data is kept, you can set multiple destination buckets across different Amazon Web Services Regions. This feature might help you meet certain compliance requirements.

  • Replicate objects within 15 minutes – To replicate your data in the same Amazon Web Services Region or across different Regions within a predictable time frame, you can use S3 Replication Time Control (S3 RTC). S3 RTC replicates 99.99 percent of new objects stored in Amazon S3 within 15 minutes (backed by a service-level agreement). For more information, see Meeting compliance requirements using S3 Replication Time Control (S3 RTC).

  • Sync buckets, replicate existing objects, and replicate previously failed or replicated objects – To sync buckets and replicate existing objects, use Batch Replication as an on-demand replication action. For more information about when to use Batch Replication, see When to use S3 Batch Replication.

Note

S3 RTC does not apply to Batch Replication. Batch Replication is an on-demand replication job, and can be tracked with S3 Batch Operations. For more information, see Tracking job status and completion reports.

When to use Cross-Region Replication

S3 Cross-Region Replication (CRR) is used to copy objects across Amazon S3 buckets in different Amazon Web Services Regions. CRR can help you do the following:

  • Meet compliance requirements – Although Amazon S3 stores your data across multiple geographically distant Availability Zones by default, compliance requirements might dictate that you store data at even greater distances. To satisfy these requirements, use Cross-Region Replication to replicate data between distant Amazon Web Services Regions.

  • Minimize latency – If your customers are in two geographic locations, you can minimize latency in accessing objects by maintaining object copies in Amazon Web Services Regions that are geographically closer to your users.

  • Increase operational efficiency – If you have compute clusters in two different Amazon Web Services Regions that analyze the same set of objects, you might choose to maintain object copies in those Regions.

When to use Same-Region Replication

Same-Region Replication (SRR) is used to copy objects across Amazon S3 buckets in the same Amazon Web Services Region. SRR can help you do the following:

  • Aggregate logs into a single bucket – If you store logs in multiple buckets or across multiple accounts, you can easily replicate logs into a single, in-Region bucket. Doing so allows for simpler processing of logs in a single location.

  • Configure live replication between production and test accounts – If you or your customers have production and test accounts that use the same data, you can replicate objects between those multiple accounts, while maintaining object metadata.

  • Abide by data sovereignty laws – You might be required to store multiple copies of your data in separate Amazon Web Services accounts within a certain Region. Same-Region Replication can help you automatically replicate critical data when compliance regulations don't allow the data to leave your country.

When to use S3 Batch Replication

Batch Replication replicates existing objects to different buckets as an on-demand option. Unlike live replication, these jobs can be executed as needed. Batch Replication can help you do the following:

  • Replicate existing objects – You can use Batch Replication to replicate objects that were added to the bucket before Same-Region Replication or Cross-Region Replication were configured.

  • Replicate objects that previously failed to replicate – You can filter a Batch Replication job to attempt to replicate objects with a replication status of FAILED.

  • Replicate objects that were already replicated – You might be required to store multiple copies of your data in separate Amazon Web Services accounts or Amazon Web Services Regions. Batch Replication can replicate existing objects to newly added destinations.

  • Replicate replicas of objects that were created from a replication rule – Replication configurations create replicas of objects in destination buckets. Replicas of objects can be replicated only with Batch Replication.

Requirements for replication

Replication requires the following:

  • The source bucket owner must have the source and destination Amazon Web Services Regions enabled for their account. The destination bucket owner must have the destination Region enabled for their account.

    For more information about enabling or disabling an Amazon Web Services Region, see Amazon Service Endpoints in the Amazon General Reference.

  • Both source and destination buckets must have versioning enabled. For more information about versioning, see Using versioning in S3 buckets.

  • Amazon S3 must have permissions to replicate objects from the source bucket to the destination bucket or buckets on your behalf. For more information about these permissions, see Setting up permissions.

  • If the owner of the source bucket doesn't own the object in the bucket, the object owner must grant the bucket owner READ and READ_ACP permissions with the object access control list (ACL). For more information, see Access control list (ACL) overview.

  • If the source bucket has S3 Object Lock enabled, the destination buckets must also have S3 Object Lock enabled.

    For more information, see Using S3 Object Lock. To enable replication on a bucket that has Object Lock enabled, contact Amazon Web Services Support.

For more information, see Setting up replication.

If you are setting the replication configuration in a cross-account scenario, where source and destination buckets are owned by different Amazon Web Services accounts, the following additional requirement applies:

复制对象 - Amazon Simple Storage Service
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

复制对象

复制支持跨 Amazon S3 存储桶自动以异步方式复制对象。为对象复制配置的存储桶可由相同 Amazon Web Services 账户 或不同账户拥有。对象可以复制到单个目标存储桶或多个目标存储桶。目标存储桶可以位于不同的 Amazon Web Services 区域 ,也可以与源存储桶位于同一区域内。

默认情况下,复制功能仅支持对启用后的新 Amazon S3 对象进行复制。您可以使用复制功能来复制现有对象,并将其克隆到其他存储桶,但您执行此操作须联系 Amazon Web Services Support 中心。联系支持人员时,请将 Amazon Web Services Support 案例主题设置为“复制现有对象”并提供以下信息:

  • 源存储桶

  • 目标存储桶

  • 预计要复制的存储容量(以 TB 为单位)

  • 预计要复制的存储对象计数

要启用对象复制,请将复制配置添加到源存储桶。最小配置必须需要提供以下内容:

  • 您希望 Amazon S3 将对象复制到的目标存储桶

  • 一个 Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) 角色,Amazon S3 可以代入该角色以代表您复制对象

其他配置选项如下。有关更多信息,请参阅 其他复制配置

为什么使用复制

复制可帮助您实现以下功能:

  • 复制对象,同时保留元数据 — 您可以使用复制来制作对象的副本,并保留所有元数据(例如原始对象创建时间和版本 ID)。如果您需要确保副本与源对象完全相同,则此功能非常重要。

  • 将对象复制到不同的存储类 — 您可以使用复制直接将对象置于目标存储桶中的 S3 Glacier、S3 Glacier Deep Archive 或其他存储类中。您还可以将数据复制到相同的存储类,并在目标存储桶上使用生命周期策略,在对象老化时将其移动到较冷的存储类。

  • 在不同的所有权下维护对象副本 – 无论谁拥有源对象,您都可以指示 Amazon S3 将副本的所有权更改为拥有目标存储桶的 Amazon Web Services 账户 。这称为拥有者覆盖 选项。您可以使用此选项来要限制对对象副本的访问权限。

  • 将对象存储在多个 Amazon Web Services 区域 – 您可以在不同的 Amazon Web Services 区域 中设置多个目标存储桶,以确保数据保存位置的地理差异。这可能有助于满足某些合规性要求。

  • 在 15 分钟内复制对象 – 您可以使用 S3 复制时间控制 (S3 RTC) 在可预测的时间范围内在同一 Amazon Web Services 区域 或跨不同区域复制您的数据。S3 RTC 在 15 分钟内复制 Amazon S3 中存储的 99.99% 的新对象(由服务等级协议提供支持)。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用 S3 复制时间控制 (S3 RTC) 满足合规性要求

何时使用跨区域复制

S3 跨区域复制 (CRR) 用于在不同 Amazon Web Services 区域 中跨 Amazon S3 存储桶复制对象。CRR 可帮助您:

  • 满足合规性要求 — 虽然 Amazon S3 默认跨多个地理位置较远的可用区存储数据,但是合规性要求所规定的数据存储距离可能更远。通过跨区域复制,可以在远距离 Amazon Web Services 区域 之间复制数据以满足这些要求。

  • 最大限度减少延迟 – 如果客户处于两个地理位置,您可以在地理位置与用户较近的 Amazon Web Services 区域 中维护对象副本,从而最大限度缩短访问对象时的延迟。

  • 提高操作效率 – 如果您在两个不同 Amazon Web Services 区域 中具有分析同一组对象的计算集群,则可以选择在这些区域中维护对象副本。

何时使用同区域复制

同区域复制 (SRR) 用于在同一 Amazon Web Services 区域 中跨 Amazon S3 存储桶复制对象。SRR 可帮助您:

  • 将日志聚合到单个存储桶 — 如果您在多个存储桶中或者跨多个账户存储日志,则可以轻松地将日志复制到区域中的单个存储桶。这实现了在单个位置更简单地处理日志。

  • 在生产账户和测试账户之间配置实时复制 – 如果您或您的客户有使用相同数据的生产账户和测试账户,您可以在那些账户之间复制对象,同时保留对象元数据。

  • 遵守数据主权法律 – 您可能需要将数据的多个副本存储在特定区域内的单独 Amazon Web Services 账户 中。当合规性法规不允许数据离开您的国家/地区时,同区域复制可帮助您自动复制关键数据。

复制的要求

复制有下列要求:

  • 源存储桶拥有者必须已为其账户启用源和目标 Amazon Web Services 区域 。目标存储桶拥有者必须已为其账户启用目标区域。

    有关启用或禁用 Amazon Web Services 区域 的更多信息,请参阅《Amazon一般参考》中的 Amazon 服务终端节点

  • 源存储桶和目标存储桶必须均已启用版本控制。有关版本控制的更多信息,请参阅在 S3 存储桶中使用版本控制

  • Amazon S3 必须有权代表您将对象从源存储桶复制到目标存储桶。

  • 如果源存储桶的拥有者不拥有该存储桶中的对象,则对象拥有者必须使用对象访问控制列表 (ACL) 对该存储桶拥有者授予 READREAD_ACP 权限。有关更多信息,请参阅 访问控制列表 (ACL) 概述

  • 如果源存储桶已启用 S3 对象锁定,目标存储桶也必须启用 S3 对象锁定。

    有关更多信息,请参阅 使用 S3 对象锁定。要在启用对象锁定的存储桶上启用复制,请联系 Amazon Web Services Support

有关更多信息,请参阅 设置复制

如果您要在跨账户方案(其中,源存储桶和目标存储桶由不同的 Amazon Web Services 账户 拥有)中设置复制配置,则存在以下附加要求: