Creating an Amazon CloudHSM key store - Amazon Key Management Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Creating an Amazon CloudHSM key store

You can create one or several Amazon CloudHSM key stores in your account. Each Amazon CloudHSM key store is associated with one Amazon CloudHSM cluster in the same Amazon Web Services account and Region. Before you create your Amazon CloudHSM key store, you need to assemble the prerequisites. Then, before you can use your Amazon CloudHSM key store, you must connect it to its Amazon CloudHSM cluster.

Note

If you try to create an Amazon CloudHSM key store with all of the same property values as an existing disconnected Amazon CloudHSM key store, Amazon KMS does not create a new Amazon CloudHSM key store, and it does not throw an exception or display an error. Instead, Amazon KMS recognizes the duplicate as the likely consequence of a retry, and it returns the ID of the existing Amazon CloudHSM key store.

Tip

You do not have to connect your Amazon CloudHSM key store immediately. You can leave it in a disconnected state until you are ready to use it. However, to verify that it is configured properly, you might want to connect it, view its connection state, and then disconnect it.

Assemble the prerequisites

Each Amazon CloudHSM key store is backed by an Amazon CloudHSM cluster. To create an Amazon CloudHSM key store, you must specify an active Amazon CloudHSM cluster that is not already associated with another key store. You also need to create a dedicated crypto user (CU) in the cluster's HSMs that Amazon KMS can use to create and manage keys on your behalf.

Before you create an Amazon CloudHSM key store, do the following:

Select an Amazon CloudHSM cluster

Every Amazon CloudHSM key store is associated with exactly one Amazon CloudHSM cluster. When you create a Amazon KMS keys in your Amazon CloudHSM key store, Amazon KMS creates the KMS key metadata, such as an ID and Amazon Resource Name (ARN) in Amazon KMS. It then creates the key material in the HSMs of the associated cluster. You can create a new Amazon CloudHSM cluster or use an existing one. Amazon KMS does not require exclusive access to the cluster.

The Amazon CloudHSM cluster that you select is permanently associated with the Amazon CloudHSM key store. After you create the Amazon CloudHSM key store, you can change the cluster ID of the associated cluster, but the cluster that you specify must share a backup history with the original cluster. To use an unrelated cluster, you need to create a new Amazon CloudHSM key store.

The Amazon CloudHSM cluster that you select must have the following characteristics:

  • The cluster must be active.

    You must create the cluster, initialize it, install the Amazon CloudHSM client software for your platform, and then activate the cluster. For detailed instructions, see Getting started with Amazon CloudHSM in the Amazon CloudHSM User Guide.

  • The cluster must be in the same account and Region as the Amazon CloudHSM key store. You cannot associate an Amazon CloudHSM key store in one Region with a cluster in a different Region. To create a key infrastructure in multiple Regions, you must create Amazon CloudHSM key stores and clusters in each Region.

  • The cluster cannot be associated with another custom key store in the same account and Region. Each Amazon CloudHSM key store in the account and Region must be associated with a different Amazon CloudHSM cluster. You cannot specify a cluster that is already associated with a custom key store or a cluster that shares a backup history with an associated cluster. Clusters that share a backup history have the same cluster certificate. To view the cluster certificate of a cluster, use the Amazon CloudHSM console or the DescribeClusters operation.

    If you back up an Amazon CloudHSM cluster to a different Region, it is considered to be different cluster, and you can associate the backup with a custom key store in its Region. However, KMS keys in the two custom key stores are not interoperable, even if they have the same backing key. Amazon KMS binds metadata to the ciphertext so it can be decrypted only by the KMS key that encrypted it.

  • The cluster must be configured with private subnets in at least two Availability Zones in the Region. Because Amazon CloudHSM is not supported in all Availability Zones, we recommend that you create private subnets in all Availability Zones in the region. You cannot reconfigure the subnets for an existing cluster, but you can create a cluster from a backup with different subnets in the cluster configuration.

    Important

    After you create your Amazon CloudHSM key store, do not delete any of the private subnets configured for its Amazon CloudHSM cluster. If Amazon KMS cannot find all of the subnets in the cluster configuration, attempts to connect to the custom key store fail with a SUBNET_NOT_FOUND connection error state. For details, see How to fix a connection failure.

  • The security group for the cluster (cloudhsm-cluster-<cluster-id>-sg) must include inbound rules and outbound rules that allow TCP traffic on ports 2223-2225. The Source in the inbound rules and the Destination in the outbound rules must match the security group ID. These rules are set by default when you create the cluster. Do not delete or change them.

  • The cluster must contain at least two active HSMs in different Availability Zones. To verify the number of HSMs, use the Amazon CloudHSM console or the DescribeClusters operation. If necessary, you can add an HSM.

Find the trust anchor certificate

When you create a custom key store, you must upload the trust anchor certificate for the Amazon CloudHSM cluster to Amazon KMS. Amazon KMS needs the trust anchor certificate to connect the Amazon CloudHSM key store to its associated Amazon CloudHSM cluster.

Every active Amazon CloudHSM cluster has a trust anchor certificate. When you initialize the cluster, you generate this certificate, save it in the customerCA.crt file, and copy it to hosts that connect to the cluster.

Create the kmsuser crypto user for Amazon KMS

To administer your Amazon CloudHSM key store, Amazon KMS logs into the kmsuser crypto user (CU) account in the selected cluster. Before you create your Amazon CloudHSM key store, you must create the kmsuser CU. Then when you create your Amazon CloudHSM key store, you provide the password for kmsuser to Amazon KMS. Whenever you connect the Amazon CloudHSM key store to its associated Amazon CloudHSM cluster, Amazon KMS logs in as the kmsuser and rotates the kmsuser password

Important

Do not specify the 2FA option when you create the kmsuser CU. If you do, Amazon KMS cannot log in and your Amazon CloudHSM key store cannot be connected to this Amazon CloudHSM cluster. Once you specify 2FA, you cannot undo it. Instead, you must delete the CU and recreate it.

To create the kmsuser CU, use the following procedure.

  1. Start cloudhsm_mgmt_util as described in the Getting started with CloudHSM Management Utility (CMU) topic of the Amazon CloudHSM User Guide.

  2. Use the createUser command in cloudhsm_mgmt_util to create a CU named kmsuser. The password must consist of 7-32 alphanumeric characters. It is case-sensitive and cannot contain any special characters.

    For example, the following example command creates a kmsuser CU with a password of kmsPswd.

    aws-cloudhsm> createUser CU kmsuser kmsPswd

Create an Amazon CloudHSM key store (console)

When you create an Amazon CloudHSM key store in the Amazon Web Services Management Console, you can add and create the prerequisites as part of your workflow. However, the process is quicker when you have assembled them in advance.

  1. Sign in to the Amazon Web Services Management Console and open the Amazon Key Management Service (Amazon KMS) console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/kms.

  2. To change the Amazon Web Services Region, use the Region selector in the upper-right corner of the page.

  3. In the navigation pane, choose Custom key stores, Amazon CloudHSM key stores.

  4. Choose Create key store.

  5. Enter a friendly name for the custom key store. The name must be unique among all custom key stores in your account.

  6. Select an Amazon CloudHSM cluster for the Amazon CloudHSM key store. Or, to create a new Amazon CloudHSM cluster, choose the Create an Amazon CloudHSM cluster link.

    The menu displays the Amazon CloudHSM clusters in your account and region that are not already associated with an Amazon CloudHSM key store. The cluster must fulfill the requirements for association with a custom key store.

  7. Choose Choose file, and then upload the trust anchor certificate for the Amazon CloudHSM cluster that you chose. This is the customerCA.crt file that you created when you initialized the cluster.

  8. Enter the password of the kmsuser crypto user (CU) that you created in the selected cluster.

  9. Choose Create.

When the procedure is successful, the new Amazon CloudHSM key store appears in the list of Amazon CloudHSM key stores in the account and Region. If it is unsuccessful, an error message appears that describes the problem and provides help on how to fix it. If you need more help, see Troubleshooting a custom key store.

If you try to create an Amazon CloudHSM key store with all of the same property values as an existing disconnected Amazon CloudHSM key store, Amazon KMS does not create a new Amazon CloudHSM key store, and it does not throw an exception or display an error. Instead, Amazon KMS recognizes the duplicate as the likely consequence of a retry, and it returns the ID of the existing Amazon CloudHSM key store.

Next: New Amazon CloudHSM key stores are not automatically connected. Before you can create Amazon KMS keys in the Amazon CloudHSM key store, you must connect the custom key store to its associated Amazon CloudHSM cluster.

Create an Amazon CloudHSM key store (API)

You can use the CreateCustomKeyStore operation to create a new Amazon CloudHSM key store that is associated with an Amazon CloudHSM cluster in the account and Region. These examples use the Amazon Command Line Interface (Amazon CLI), but you can use any supported programming language.

The CreateCustomKeyStore operation requires the following parameter values.

  • CustomKeyStoreName – A friendly name for the custom key store that is unique in the account.

  • CloudHsmClusterId – The cluster ID of an Amazon CloudHSM cluster that fulfills the requirements for an Amazon CloudHSM key store.

  • KeyStorePassword – The password of kmsuser CU account in the specified cluster.

  • TrustAnchorCertificate – The content of the customerCA.crt file that you created when you initialized the cluster.

The following example uses a fictitious cluster ID. Before running the command, replace it with a valid cluster ID.

$ aws kms create-custom-key-store --custom-key-store-name ExampleCloudHSMKeyStore \ --cloud-hsm-cluster-id cluster-1a23b4cdefg \ --key-store-password kmsPswd \ --trust-anchor-certificate <certificate-goes-here>

If you are using the Amazon CLI, you can specify the trust anchor certificate file, instead of its contents. In the following example, the customerCA.crt file is in the root directory.

$ aws kms create-custom-key-store --custom-key-store-name ExampleCloudHSMKeyStore \ --cloud-hsm-cluster-id cluster-1a23b4cdefg \ --key-store-password kmsPswd \ --trust-anchor-certificate file://customerCA.crt

When the operation is successful, CreateCustomKeyStore returns the custom key store ID, as shown in the following example response.

{ "CustomKeyStoreId": cks-1234567890abcdef0 }

If the operation fails, correct the error indicated by the exception, and try again. For additional help, see Troubleshooting a custom key store.

If you try to create an Amazon CloudHSM key store with all of the same property values as an existing disconnected Amazon CloudHSM key store, Amazon KMS does not create a new Amazon CloudHSM key store, and it does not throw an exception or display an error. Instead, Amazon KMS recognizes the duplicate as the likely consequence of a retry, and it returns the ID of the existing Amazon CloudHSM key store.

Next: To use the Amazon CloudHSM key store, connect it to its Amazon CloudHSM cluster.

AWS Key Management Service
开发人员指南
AWS 文档中描述的 AWS 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 AWS 服务入门

创建自定义密钥存储

您可以在账户中创建一个或多个自定义密钥存储。每个自定义密钥存储均相同 AWS 区域中的一个 AWS CloudHSM 群集关联。在创建自定义密钥存储之前,您需要汇编先决条件。然后,在使用自定义密钥存储之前,您必须连接它和它的 AWS CloudHSM 集群。

提示

您无需立即连接自定义密钥存储。您可以将它保持断开状态,直到您准备好使用它为止。但是,要验证它是否已正确配置,您可能需要连接它查看其连接状态,然后断开它

汇编先决条件

每个 AWS KMS 自定义密钥存储均由一个 AWS CloudHSM 集群提供支持。要创建自定义密钥存储,您必须指定一个尚未与其他密钥存储关联的活动 AWS CloudHSM 集群。您还需要在集群的 HSM 中创建一个专用的加密用户 (CU),AWS KMS 可使用该用户代表您创建和管理密钥。

在创建自定义密钥存储之前,请执行以下操作:

选择一个 AWS CloudHSM 集群

每个自定义密钥存储正好与一个 AWS CloudHSM 集群关联。在自定义密钥存储中创建自定义主密钥 (CMK) 时,AWS KMS 会在 AWS KMS 中创建 CMK 元数据,例如 ID 和 Amazon 资源名称 (ARN)。然后,它会在关联集群的 HSM 中创建密钥材料。您可以创建新的 AWS CloudHSM 集群或使用现有的集群。AWS KMS 不需要对集群的独占访问权限。

所选 AWS CloudHSM 集群将与自定义密钥存储永久关联。在创建自定义密钥存储后,您可以为关联集群更改集群 ID,但您指定的集群必须与原始集群共享备份历史记录。要使用不相关的集群,您需要创建新的自定义密钥存储。

您选择的 AWS CloudHSM 集群必须具有以下特征:

  • 集群必须处于活动状态

    您必须创建集群,将其初始化,安装适用于您的平台的 AWS CloudHSM 客户端软件,然后激活该集群。有关详细说明,请参阅 AWS CloudHSM User Guide入门部分。

     

  • 集群必须位于与 AWS KMS 自定义密钥存储相同的账户和区域中。您无法将一个区域中的自定义密钥存储与另一个区域中的群集相关联。要创建多区域密钥基础设施,必须在每个区域中创建密钥存储和集群。

     

  • 集群不能与账户中的其他自定义密钥存储关联。每个自定义密钥存储必须与不同的 AWS CloudHSM 集群关联。您无法指定已与自定义密钥存储关联的集群,也无法指定与关联集群共享备份历史记录的集群。共享备份历史记录的集群具有相同的集群证书。要查看集群的集群证书,请使用 AWS CloudHSM 控制台或 DescribeClusters 操作。

     

  • 必须在区域中的至少两个可用区中为集群配置私有子网。由于 AWS CloudHSM 并非在所有可用区中都受支持,因此,我们建议您在该区域的所有可用区中创建私有子网。您无法为现有集群重新配置子网,但可以从备份创建集群(在集群配置中具有不同的子网)。

     

  • 集群的安全组 (cloudhsm-cluster-<cluster-id>-sg) 必须包含允许端口 2223-2225 上的 TCP 流量的入站规则和出站规则。入站规则中的 Source (源) 和出站规则中的 Destination (目标) 必须匹配安全组 ID。在创建集群时,默认情况下会设置这些规则。请勿删除或更改它们。

     

  • 集群必须在不同的可用区中包含至少两个活动 HSM。要验证 HSM 的数量,请使用 AWS CloudHSM 控制台或 DescribeClusters 操作。如有必要,您可以添加 HSM

查找信任锚点证书

在创建自定义密钥存储时,您必须将 AWS CloudHSM 集群的信任锚点证书上传到 AWS KMS。AWS KMS 需要信任锚点证书才能将自定义密钥存储连接到集群。

每个活动 AWS CloudHSM 集群均有一个信任锚点证书。在初始化集群时,您将生成此证书,将它保存在 customerCA.crt 文件中,并将它复制到已连接到集群的主机。

为 AWS KMS 创建 kmsuser 加密用户

为了管理您的自定义密钥存储,AWS KMS 会登录到选定集群中的 kmsuser 加密用户 (CU) 账户。在创建您的自定义密钥存储之前,您必须创建 kmsuser CU。然后,当您创建您的自定义密钥存储时,可以向 AWS KMS 提供 kmsuser 的密码。每当您将自定义密钥存储连接到其关联的 AWS CloudHSM 集群,AWS KMS 就会轮换 kmsuser 密码。

重要

在创建 kmsuser CU 时,请勿指定 2FA 选项。如果您这样做,AWS KMS 将无法登录,并且您的自定义密钥存储将无法连接到此 AWS CloudHSM 集群。一旦指定 2FA,便无法撤消它。相反,您必须删除 CU 并重新创建它。

要创建 kmsuser CU,请使用以下过程。

  1. 启动 cloudhsm_mgmt_util,如 AWS CloudHSM User Guide准备运行 cloudhsm_mgmt_util 部分中所述。

  2. 在 cloudhsm_mgmt_util 中使用 createUser 命令创建名为 kmsuser 的 CU。密码必须由 7 到 32 个字母数字字符组成。它区分大小写,并且不能包含任何特殊字符。

    例如,以下示例命令将创建密码为 kmsPswdkmsuser CU。

    aws-cloudhsm> createUser CU kmsuser kmsPswd

创建自定义密钥存储(控制台)

在 AWS 管理控制台中创建自定义密钥存储 时,可以在工作流程中添加和创建先决条件。但是,如果您事先已汇编这些先决条件,则此过程会更快。

  1. 登录 AWS 管理控制台并通过以下网址打开 AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS) 控制台:https://console.amazonaws.cn/kms

  2. 要更改 AWS 区域,请使用页面右上角的区域选择器。

  3. 在左侧导航窗格中,选择 Custom key stores (自定义密钥存储)

  4. 选择 Create key store (创建密钥存储)

  5. 为自定义密钥存储输入友好名称。该名称在账户中必须是唯一的。

  6. 为自定义密钥存储选择一个 AWS CloudHSM 集群。或者,要创建新的 AWS CloudHSM 集群,请选择 Create an AWS CloudHSM cluster (创建 AWS CloudHSM 集群) 链接。

    该集群必须满足要求(与关联自定义密钥存储相关)。该菜单显示您的账户和区域中尚未与自定义密钥存储关联的自定义密钥存储。

  7. 选择 Upload file (上传文件),然后为选定的 AWS CloudHSM 集群上传信任锚点证书。这是您在初始化集群时创建的 customerCA.crt 文件。

  8. 输入您在选定集群中创建的 kmsuser 加密用户 (CU) 的密码。

  9. 选择 Create

当该过程成功时,新的自定义密钥存储将显示在账户和区域中的自定义密钥存储列表中。如果该过程失败,则会显示一条错误消息,描述问题并提供有关如何解决该问题的帮助。如果您需要更多帮助,请参阅对自定义密钥存储进行故障排除

下一步:不会自动连接新的自定义密钥存储。您必须先连接自定义密钥存储与其关联的 AWS CloudHSM 集群,然后才能在自定义密钥存储中创建客户主密钥 (CMK)。

创建自定义密钥存储 (API)

CreateCustomKeyStore 操作将创建一个新的自定义密钥存储,该密钥存储与账户和区域中的 AWS CloudHSM 集群关联。这些示例使用 AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI),但您可以使用任何受支持的编程语言。

CreateCustomKeyStore 操作需要以下参数值。

  • CustomKeyStoreName – 自定义密钥存储的友好名称,该名称在账户中是唯一的。

  • CloudHsmClusterId – 满足要求(与关联自定义密钥存储相关)的集群的集群 ID。

  • KeyStorePassword – 指定集群中的 kmsuser CU 账户的密码。

  • TrustAnchorCertificate – 在初始化集群时创建的 customerCA.crt 文件的内容。

以下示例使用虚构的集群 ID。在运行命令之前,请将其替换为有效的集群 ID。

$ aws kms create-custom-key-store --custom-key-store-name ExampleKeyStore \ --cloud-hsm-cluster-id cluster-1a23b4cdefg \ --key-store-password kmsPswd \ --trust-anchor-certificate <certificate-goes-here>

如果您使用的是 AWS CLI,则可指定信任锚点证书文件而不是其内容。在下面的示例中,customerCA.crt 文件位于根目录中。

$ aws kms create-custom-key-store --custom-key-store-name ExampleKeyStore \ --cloud-hsm-cluster-id cluster-1a23b4cdefg \ --key-store-password kmsPswd \ --trust-anchor-certificate file://customerCA.crt

当此操作成功时,CreateCustomKeyStore 将返回自定义密钥存储 ID,如以下示例响应中所示。

{ "CustomKeyStoreId": cks-1234567890abcdef0 }

如果操作失败,请更正异常指示的错误,然后重试。有关其他帮助,请参阅对自定义密钥存储进行故障排除

接下来,要使用自定义密钥存储,可将它连接到其 AWS CloudHSM 集群