Rotating Amazon KMS keys - Amazon Key Management Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Rotating Amazon KMS keys

Cryptographic best practices discourage extensive reuse of encryption keys. To create new cryptographic material for your KMS keys, you can create new KMS keys, and then change your applications or aliases to use the new KMS keys. Or, you can enable automatic key rotation for an existing KMS key.

When you enable automatic key rotation for a customer managed key, Amazon KMS generates new cryptographic material for the KMS key every year. Amazon KMS also saves the KMS key's older cryptographic material in perpetuity so it can be used to decrypt data that the KMS key encrypted. Amazon KMS does not delete any rotated key material until you delete the KMS key.

Key rotation changes only the KMS key's key material, which is the cryptographic material that is used in encryption operations. The KMS key is the same logical resource, regardless of whether or how many times its key material changes. The properties of the KMS key do not change, as shown in the following image.

Automatic key rotation has the following benefits:

  • The properties of the KMS key, including its key ID, key ARN, region, policies, and permissions, do not change when the key is rotated.

  • You do not need to change applications or aliases that refer to the key ID or key ARN of the KMS key.

  • After you enable key rotation, Amazon KMS rotates the KMS key automatically every year. You don't need to remember or schedule the update.

However, automatic key rotation has no effect on the data that the KMS key protects. It does not rotate the data keys that the KMS key generated or re-encrypt any data protected by the KMS key, and it will not mitigate the effect of a compromised data key.

You might decide to create a new KMS key and use it in place of the original KMS key. This has the same effect as rotating the key material in an existing KMS key, so it's often thought of as manually rotating the key. Manual rotation is a good choice when you want to control the key rotation schedule. It also provides a way to rotate KMS keys that are not eligible for automatic key rotation, including asymmetric KMS keys, KMS keys in custom key stores, and KMS keys with imported key material.

Key rotation and pricing

Rotating customer managed keys might result in extra monthly charges. For details, see Amazon Key Management Service Pricing. For more detailed information about key material and rotation, see Amazon Key Management Service Cryptographic Details.

How automatic key rotation works

Key rotation in Amazon KMS is a cryptographic best practice that is designed to be transparent and easy to use. Amazon KMS supports optional automatic key rotation only for customer managed keys.

  • Managing key material. Amazon KMS retains all key material for a KMS key, even if key rotation is disabled. Key material is deleted only when the KMS key is deleted. When you use a KMS key to encrypt, Amazon KMS uses the current key material. When you use the KMS key to decrypt, Amazon KMS uses the key material that was used to encrypt.

  • Enable and disable key rotation. Automatic key rotation is disabled by default on customer managed keys. When you enable (or re-enable) automatic key rotation, Amazon KMS automatically rotates the KMS key 365 days after the enable date and every 365 days thereafter.

  • Disabled KMS keys. While a KMS key is disabled, Amazon KMS does not rotate it. However, the key rotation status does not change, and you cannot change it while the KMS key is disabled. When the KMS key is re-enabled, if the key material is more than 365 days old, Amazon KMS rotates it immediately and every 365 days thereafter. If the key material is less than 365 days old, Amazon KMS resumes the original key rotation schedule.

  • KMS keys pending deletion. While a KMS key is pending deletion, Amazon KMS does not rotate it. The key rotation status is set to false and you cannot change it while deletion is pending. If deletion is canceled, the previous key rotation status is restored. If the key material is more than 365 days old, Amazon KMS rotates it immediately and every 365 days thereafter. If the key material is less than 365 days old, Amazon KMS resumes the original key rotation schedule.

  • Amazon managed keys. You cannot manage key rotation for Amazon managed keys. Amazon KMS automatically rotates Amazon managed keys every three years (1095 days).

  • Amazon owned keys. You cannot manage key rotation for Amazon owned keys. The key rotation strategy for an Amazon owned key is determined by the Amazon service that creates and manages the key. For details, see the Encryption at Rest topic in the user guide or developer guide for the service.

  • Amazon services. You can enable automatic key rotation on the customer managed keys that you use for server-side encryption in Amazon services. The annual rotation is transparent and compatible with Amazon services.

  • Multi-Region keys. You can enable and disable automatic key rotation for multi-Region keys. You set the property only on the primary key. When Amazon KMS synchronizes the keys, it copies the property setting from the primary key to its replica keys. When the key material of the primary key is rotated, Amazon KMS automatically copies that key material to all of its replica keys. For details, see Rotating multi-Region keys.

  • Monitoring key rotation. When Amazon KMS automatically rotates the key material for an Amazon managed key or customer managed key, it writes a KMS CMK Rotation event to Amazon CloudWatch Events and a RotateKey event to your Amazon CloudTrail log. You can use these records to verify that the KMS key was rotated.

  • Unsupported KMS key types. Automatic key rotation is not supported on the following types of KMS keys, but you can rotate these KMS keys manually.

  • Eventual consistency. Automatic key rotation is subject to the same eventual consistency effects as other Amazon KMS management operations. There might be a slight delay before the new key material is available throughout Amazon KMS. However, rotating key material does not cause any interruption or delay in cryptographic operations. The current key material is used in cryptographic operations until the new key material is available throughout Amazon KMS. When key material for a multi-Region key is automatically rotated, Amazon KMS uses the current key material until the new key material is available in all Regions with a related multi-Region key.

How to enable and disable automatic key rotation

You can use the Amazon KMS console or the Amazon KMS API to enable and disable automatic key rotation, and view the rotation status of any customer managed key

When you enable automatic key rotation, Amazon KMS rotates the KMS key 365 days after the enable date and every 365 days thereafter.

Enabling and disabling key rotation (console)

  1. Sign in to the Amazon Web Services Management Console and open the Amazon Key Management Service (Amazon KMS) console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/kms.

  2. To change the Amazon Region, use the Region selector in the upper-right corner of the page.

  3. In the navigation pane, choose Customer managed keys. (You cannot enable or disable rotation of Amazon managed keys. They are automatically rotated every three years.)

  4. Choose the alias or key ID of a KMS key.

  5. Choose the Key rotation tab.

    The Key rotation tab only appears on the detail page of symmetric KMS keys with key material that Amazon KMS generated (the Origin is AWS_KMS). You cannot automatically rotate asymmetric KMS keys, KMS keys with imported key material, or KMS keys in custom key stores. However, you can rotate them manually.

  6. Select or clear the Automatically rotate this KMS key every year check box.

    Note

    If a KMS key is disabled or pending deletion, the Automatically rotate this KMS key every year check box is cleared, and you cannot change it. The key rotation status is restored when you enable the KMS key or cancel deletion. For details, see How automatic key rotation works and Key states of Amazon KMS keys.

  7. Choose Save.

Enabling and disabling key rotation (Amazon KMS API)

You can use the Amazon Key Management Service (Amazon KMS) API to enable and disable automatic key rotation, and view the current rotation status of any customer managed key These examples use the Amazon Command Line Interface (Amazon CLI), but you can use any supported programming language.

The EnableKeyRotation operation enables automatic key rotation for the specified KMS key. The DisableKeyRotation operation disables it. To identify the KMS key in these operations, use its key ID or key ARN. By default, key rotation is disabled for customer managed keys.

The following example enables key rotation on the specified symmetric KMS key and uses the GetKeyRotationStatus operation to see the result. Then, it disables key rotation and, again, uses GetKeyRotationStatus to see the change.

$ aws kms enable-key-rotation --key-id 1234abcd-12ab-34cd-56ef-1234567890ab $ aws kms get-key-rotation-status --key-id 1234abcd-12ab-34cd-56ef-1234567890ab { "KeyRotationEnabled": true } $ aws kms disable-key-rotation --key-id 1234abcd-12ab-34cd-56ef-1234567890ab $ aws kms get-key-rotation-status --key-id 1234abcd-12ab-34cd-56ef-1234567890ab { "KeyRotationEnabled": false }

Rotating keys manually

You might want to create a new KMS key and use it in place of a current KMS key instead of enabling automatic key rotation. When the new KMS key has different cryptographic material than the current KMS key, using the new KMS key has the same effect as changing the key material in an existing KMS key. The process of replacing one KMS key with another is known as manual key rotation.

You might prefer to rotate keys manually so you can control the rotation frequency. It's also a good solution for KMS keys that are not eligible for automatic key rotation, such as asymmetric KMS keys, KMS keys in custom key stores and KMS keys with imported key material.

Note

When you begin using the new KMS key, be sure to keep the original KMS key enabled so that Amazon KMS can decrypt data that the original KMS key encrypted.

Because the new KMS key is a different resource from the current KMS key, it has a different key ID and ARN. When you change KMS keys, you need to update references to the KMS key ID or ARN in your applications. Aliases, which associate a friendly name with a KMS key, make this process easier. Use an alias to refer to a KMS key in your applications. Then, when you want to change the KMS key that the application uses, change the target KMS key of the alias. For details, see Using aliases in your applications.

To update the target KMS key of an alias, use UpdateAlias operation in the Amazon KMS API. For example, this command updates the TestKey alias to point to a new KMS key. Because the operation does not return any output, the example uses the ListAliases operation to show that the alias is now associated with a different KMS key and the LastUpdatedDate field is updated.

$ aws kms list-aliases { "Aliases": [ { "AliasArn": "arn:aws:kms:us-west-2:111122223333:alias/TestKey", "AliasName": "alias/TestKey", "TargetKeyId": "1234abcd-12ab-34cd-56ef-1234567890ab", "CreationDate": 1521097200.123, "LastUpdatedDate": 1521097200.123 }, ] } $ aws kms update-alias --alias-name alias/TestKey --target-key-id 0987dcba-09fe-87dc-65ba-ab0987654321 $ aws kms list-aliases { "Aliases": [ { "AliasArn": "arn:aws:kms:us-west-2:111122223333:alias/TestKey", "AliasName": "alias/TestKey", "TargetKeyId": "0987dcba-09fe-87dc-65ba-ab0987654321", "CreationDate": 1521097200.123, "LastUpdatedDate": 1604958290.722 }, ] }

AWS Key Management Service
开发人员指南
AWS 文档中描述的 AWS 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 AWS 服务入门

轮换客户主密钥

加密最佳实践建议不要广泛重复使用加密密钥。要为您的 AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS) 客户主密钥 (CMK) 创建新的加密材料,您可以创建新的 CMK,然后更改您的应用程序或别名来使用新的 CMK。或者,您可以为现有 CMK 启用自动密钥轮换。

当您为客户托管的 CMK 启用自动密钥轮换 时,AWS KMS 会每年为该 CMK 生成新的加密材料。AWS KMS 还会永久保留 CMK 的较旧加密材料,以便用它来解密其加密的数据。AWS KMS 不会删除任何轮换的密钥材料,直至您删除 CMK

密钥轮换只会更改 CMK 的备用密钥,即加密操作中所使用的加密材料。不管备用密钥有没有变更或变更了多少次,该 CMK 仍是相同的逻辑资源。CMK 的属性不会发生变化,如下图所示。

自动密钥轮换具有以下优点:

  • CMK 的属性,包括其密钥 ID、密钥 ARN、区域、策略和权限,在密钥轮换时不会发生改变。

  • 您无需更改引用该 CMK ID 或 ARN 的应用程序或别名。

  • 启用密钥轮换后,AWS KMS 会每年自动轮换 CMK。您无需记住或计划更新。

然而,自动密钥轮换对 CMK 所保护的数据无效。它不会轮换 CMK 生成的数据密钥,也不会对任何受 CMK 保护的数据重新加密,并且它无法减轻数据密钥泄露的影响。

您可能决定创建新的 CMK 来替代原有的 CMK。这跟轮换现有 CMK 的密钥材料具有相同效果,因此这通常被视为手动轮换密钥 。如果您想控制密钥轮换计划,手动轮换是很好的选择。此外,该方式也让您能够使用导入的密钥材料轮换 CMK。

有关密钥轮换的更多信息

轮换客户管理的 CMK 可能会导致额外的月度费用。有关详细信息,请参阅 AWS Key Management Service 定价。有关备用密钥和轮换的更多详细信息,请参阅 KMS 加密详细信息白皮书。

自动密钥轮换的工作方式

AWS KMS 中的密钥轮换属于加密最佳实践,特点是透明且易于使用。

  • 备用密钥管理。AWS KMS 会保留 CMK 的所有备用密钥,即使密钥轮换处于禁用状态。只有删除 CMK 后才会删除备用密钥。如果使用 CMK 进行加密,AWS KMS 会使用当前的备用密钥。如果使用 CMK 进行解密,AWS KMS 会使用加密时所用的备用密钥。

     

  • 启用和禁用密钥轮换。默认情况下,客户管理的 CMK 的自动密钥轮换处于禁用状态。当您启用(或重新启用)密钥轮换时,AWS KMS 会在启用日期 365 天后自动轮换 CMK,并在此后每隔 365 天轮换一次。

     

  • 已禁用的 CMK。 禁用 CMK 后,AWS KMS 不会对它进行轮换。但是,密钥轮换状态不会发生改变,并且在 CMK 处于禁用状态时不能对其进行更改。重新启用 CMK 后,如果备用密钥已超过 365 天,AWS KMS 会立即轮换,并在此后每隔 365 天轮换一次。如果备用密钥少于 365 天,AWS KMS 会恢复原始密钥轮换计划。

     

  • 待删除的 CMK。 对于待删除的 CMK,AWS KMS 不会对它进行轮换。密钥轮换状态设为 false,处于待删除状态时不能更改。如果删除被取消,将恢复之前的密钥轮换状态。如果备用密钥已超过 365 天,AWS KMS 会立即轮换,并在此后每隔 365 天轮换一次。如果备用密钥少于 365 天,AWS KMS 会恢复原始密钥轮换计划。

     

  • 自定义密钥存储中的 CMK。 自动密钥轮换不适用于自定义密钥存储中的 CMK(Origin (源) 字段的值为 AWS_CloudHSM),但您可以手动轮换这些 CMK

     

  • 导入的 CMK。 自动密钥轮换不适用于拥有导入的密钥材料的 CMK(Origin (源) 字段的值为 External (外部)),但您可以手动轮换这些 CMK

     

  • AWS 托管 CMK。 对于 AWS 管理的 CMK,您无法管理其密钥轮换。AWS KMS 每隔三年(1095 天)自动轮换一次 AWS 管理的 CMK。

     

  • 监控密钥轮换。 当 AWS KMS 自动轮换 AWS 管理的 CMK 或客户管理的 CMK 时,它将 KMS CMK 轮换事件写入 Amazon CloudWatch Events。您可以通过该事件验证 CMK 是否已轮换。

如何启用和禁用自动密钥轮换

您可以使用 AWS KMS 控制台或 AWS KMS API 启用和禁用自动密钥轮换,并查看任何客户管理的 CMK 的轮换状态。

当您启用自动密钥轮换时,AWS KMS 会在启用日期 365 天后轮换 CMK,并在此后每隔 365 天轮换一次。

启用和禁用密钥轮换(控制台)

  1. 登录 AWS 管理控制台并通过以下网址打开 AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS) 控制台:https://console.amazonaws.cn/kms

  2. 要更改 AWS 区域,请使用页面右上角的区域选择器。

  3. 在导航窗格中,选择 Customer managed keys (客户托管密钥)。(您无法启用或禁用 AWS 托管密钥的轮换。它们每三年自动轮换一次。)

  4. 选择 CMK 的别名和密钥 ID。

  5. General configuration (常规配置) 下,选择 Key rotation (密钥轮换) 选项卡。

    如果在未使用密钥材料的情况创建了 CMK(其 Origin (源)EXTERNAL (外部)),则没有 Key rotation (密钥轮换) 选项卡。您无法自动轮换这些 CMK,但可以手动轮换它们

  6. 选中或清除 Automatically rotate this CMK every year (每年自动轮换此 CMK) 复选框。

    注意

    如果 CMK 被禁用或待删除,则将清除 Automatically rotate this CMK every year (每年自动轮换此 CMK) 复选框,并且您不能对其进行更改。在启用 CMK 或取消删除后,将恢复密钥轮换状态。有关详细信息,请参阅 自动密钥轮换的工作方式密钥状态对客户主密钥的使用有何影响

  7. 选择 Save

启用和禁用密钥轮换(KMS API)

您可以使用 AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS) API 启用和禁用自动密钥轮换,并查看任何客户管理的 CMK 的当前轮换状态。这些示例使用 AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI),但您可以使用任何受支持的编程语言。

EnableKeyRotation操作可以为指定 CMK 启用自动密钥轮换。DisableKeyRotation 操作会禁用它。要标识 CMK,请使用其密钥 ID、密钥 ARN、别名名称或别名 ARN。在默认情况下,客户管理 CMK 的密钥轮换处于禁用状态。

以下示例启用了指定 CMK 的密钥轮换并可通过 GetKeyRotationStatus 操作查看结果。然后,它禁用了密钥轮换,并使用 GetKeyRotationStatus 查看更改。

$ aws kms enable-key-rotation --key-id 1234abcd-12ab-34cd-56ef-1234567890ab $ aws kms get-key-rotation-status --key-id 1234abcd-12ab-34cd-56ef-1234567890ab { "KeyRotationEnabled": true } $ aws kms disable-key-rotation --key-id 1234abcd-12ab-34cd-56ef-1234567890ab $ aws kms get-key-rotation-status --key-id 1234abcd-12ab-34cd-56ef-1234567890ab { "KeyRotationEnabled": false }

手动轮换密钥

您可能希望创建一个新的 CMK,并使用它替代当前的 CMK,而不启用自动密钥轮换。当新的 CMK 使用的加密材料与当前 CMK 使用的加密材料不相同时,使用新的 CMK 与更改现有 CMK 的备用密钥具有相同的效果。使用一个 CMK 替换另一个 CMK 的过程被称为手动密钥轮换

如果您希望控制轮换的频率,建议您通过手动的方式轮换密钥。对于不符合自动密钥轮换要求的 CMK,例如自定义密钥存储中的 CMK 或具有导入的密钥材料的 CMK,手动密钥轮换也是一种很好的解决方案。

注意

当您开始使用新的 CMK 时,请确保启用原来的 CMK,以便 AWS KMS 可以解密使用原 CMK 加密的数据。在解密数据时,KMS 会识别出用于加密这些数据的 CMK,并会使用相同的 CMK 解密这些数据。只要您保持启用原来的 CMK 和新的 CMK,AWS KMS 便可以解密使用原 CMK 或新 CMK 加密的任何数据。

由于新 CMK 与当前 CMK 属于不同的资源,它具有不同的密钥 ID 和 ARN。当您更改 CMK 时,您需要更新应用程序中对 CMK ID 或 ARN 的引用。将友好名称与 CMK 关联的别名,使得这个过程变得更容易。使用别名来引用应用程序中的 CMK。之后,当您想更改应用程序所使用的 CMK 时,更改别名的目标 CMK 即可。

要更新别名的目标 CMK,请使用 AWS KMS API 中的 UpdateAlias 操作。例如,此命令会更新 TestCMK 别名以指向新 CMK。由于该操作不返回任何输出,该示例使用 ListAliases 操作以显示该别名已关联到不同的 CMK。

$ aws kms list-aliases { "Aliases": [ { "AliasArn": "arn:aws:kms:us-west-2:111122223333:alias/TestCMK", "AliasName": "alias/TestCMK", "TargetKeyId": "1234abcd-12ab-34cd-56ef-1234567890ab" }, ] } $ aws kms update-alias --alias-name alias/TestCMK --target-key-id 0987dcba-09fe-87dc-65ba-ab0987654321 $ aws kms list-aliases { "Aliases": [ { "AliasArn": "arn:aws:kms:us-west-2:111122223333:alias/TestCMK", "AliasName": "alias/TestCMK", "TargetKeyId": "0987dcba-09fe-87dc-65ba-ab0987654321" }, ] }