Document History - Amazon Snowball Edge Developer Guide
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Document History

  • API version: 1.0

  • Latest documentation update: August 24th, 2022

The following table describes important changes to the Amazon Snowball Edge Developer Guide after July 2018. For notifications about documentation updates, you can subscribe to the RSS feed.

ChangeDescriptionDate

New Amazon Web Services Region supported

Amazon Snowball is now supported in the Asia Pacific (Jakarta) Region. For information about endpoints for this region, see Snowball Edge Endpoints and Quotas in the Amazon General Reference. For information on shipping, see Shipping Considerations for Snowball Edge.

September 7, 2022

Large Data Migration for Snowball Edge

Snowball Edge now supports automating a large data migration plan. For more information see Large Data Migration (manual steps) and Create a Large Data Migration Plan to initiate automation if desired.

April 27, 2022

Introducing Amazon Snow Device Management

Snow Device Management allows you to manage your Snowball Edge device and local Amazon services remotely. All Snowball Edge devices support Snow Device Management, and it comes pre-installed on new devices in most Amazon Web Services Regions where Snowball Edge is available. For more information, see Using Amazon Snow Device Management to Manage Devices

April 27, 2022

NFS Configuration for Snowball Edge

Added NFS Configuration for Snowball Edge for Storage Optimized devices.

April 21, 2022

Rate Limits for Load Balancer

Snowball Edge now supports Rate Limits to distribute requests in a server cluster environment.

April 19, 2022

Support for Snowball Edge with Tape Gateway

You can now order a Snowball Edge device that is specially configured to host the Tape Gateway service. This combination of technologies facilitates secure offline tape data migration. For more information, see Using Amazon Snowball Edge with Tape Gateway.

November 30, 2021

Support for Network Time Protocol (NTP) server configuration

Snowball Edge devices now support external Network Time Protocol (NTP) server configuration.

November 16, 2021

Support for NFS offline data transfer

Snowball Edge devices now support offline data transfer using NFS. For more information, see Using NFS for Offline Data Transfer.

August 4, 2021

New Amazon Web Services Region supported

Snowball Edge devices are now available in the Africa (Cape Town) Amazon Web Services Region. For more information, see Snowball Edge Endpoints and Quotas in the Amazon General Reference. For information on shipping, see Shipping Considerations for Snowball Edge.

November 23, 2020

Support for importing your own image into your device

You can now import a snapshot of your image into your Snowball Edge device and register it as an Amazon EC2 Machine Image (AMI). For more information, see Importing an Image into Your Device as an Amazon EC2 AMI .

November 9, 2020

New Amazon Web Services Region supported

Snowball Edge devices are now available in the Europe (Milan) Amazon Web Services Region. For more information, see Snowball Edge Endpoints and Quotas in the Amazon General Reference. For information on shipping, see Shipping Considerations for Snowball Edge.

September 30, 2020

Content restructure

Created a Getting Started section that aligns with the Amazon Snow Family Management Console workflow and updated other sections for clarity. For more information, see Getting Started with an Amazon Snowball Edge.

September 17, 2020

Introducing Amazon OpsHub for Snow Family

The Snow Family devices now offer a user-friendly tool, Amazon OpsHub for Snow Family, that you can use to manage your devices and local Amazon services. For more information, see Using Amazon OpsHub for Snow Family to Manage Snowball Devices.

April 16, 2020

Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) is now available locally on the Amazon Snowball Edge device

You can now use Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) to securely control access to Amazon resources running on your Amazon Snowball Edge device. For more information, see Using IAM Locally.

April 16, 2020

Introducing a new Snowball Edge Storage Optimized (for data transfer) device option

Snowball now adds a new storage optimized device based on the current compute-optimized and GPU devices. For more information, see Snowball Edge Device Options.

March 23, 2020

NFC tag validation support

Snowball Edge Compute Optimized devices (with or without the GPU) have NFC tags built into them. You can scan these tags with the Amazon Snowball Edge Verification App, available on Android. For more information, see Validating NFC Tags.

December 13, 2018

Security groups are now available for compute instances

Security groups in Snowball Edge devices are similar to security groups in the Amazon Web Services Cloud, with some subtle differences. For more information, see Security Groups in Snowball Edge Devices.

November 26, 2018

Introducing on-premises update

You can now update the software that makes a Snowball Edge device run in your local environment. Note that on-premises updates require an internet connection. For more information, see Updating an Snowball Edge.

November 26, 2018

Introducing new device options for Snowball Edge

Snowball Edge devices come in three options – storage optimized, compute optimized, and with GPU. For more information, see Snowball Edge Device Options.

November 15, 2018

New Amazon Web Services Region supported

Snowball Edge devices are now available in the Asia Pacific (Mumbai). Note that compute instances and Amazon Lambda powered by Amazon IoT Greengrass are not supported in this region.

September 24, 2018

Introducing support for Amazon EC2 compute instances on Snowball Edge devices

Amazon Snowball now supports local jobs using Amazon EC2 compute instances running on Snowball Edge devices.

July 17, 2018

Improved troubleshooting content

The troubleshooting chapter has been updated and reorganized.

July 11, 2018

The following table describes documentation releases for the Amazon Snowball Edge device before July 2018.

Change Description Date
New Amazon Web Services Region supported Amazon Snowball is now supported in the Asia Pacific (Singapore) region. For more information on shipping in this Amazon Web Services Region, see Shipping Considerations for Amazon Snowball. April 3, 2018
Automatically extracted batches of small files are now supported

You can now batch many small files together into a larger archive, and specify that those batches are automatically extracted when the data is imported into Amazon S3. Batching small files together can significantly improve your transfer performance when moving data from your on-premises server to a Snowball Edge device. For more information, see Batching Small Files.

March 20, 2018
Major feature revision to the Snowball Edge client and cluster update

The new major feature revision for the Snowball Edge client includes performance improvements, profiles, and support for the cluster update. For more information, see Using the Snowball Edge Client.

Clusters are now leaderless. All nodes can read and write data to the cluster. For more information, see Using an Amazon Snowball Edge Cluster.

February 5, 2018
New Amazon Web Services Region supported Amazon Snowball is now supported in the Europe (Paris) region. For more information on shipping in this Amazon Web Services Region, see Shipping Considerations for Amazon Snowball. December 18, 2017

Improved Amazon CLI support for the Amazon S3 interface

You can now use the s3 sync command with the Amazon S3 interface to sync data between a Snowball Edge and your local computer. For more information, see Supported Amazon CLI Commands for Amazon S3.

November 10, 2017
Updated file interface file size support The file interface can now support files up to 150 GB in size. For more information, see Transferring Files to Amazon Snowball Edge Using the File Interface. October 4, 2017
New Amazon Web Services Region supported Amazon Snowball Edge is now supported in the Asia Pacific (Tokyo) region, with region-specific shipping options. For more information, see Shipping Considerations for Amazon Snowball. September 19, 2017
New Amazon Web Services Region supported Amazon Snowball Edge is now supported in the South America (São Paulo) region, with region-specific shipping options. For more information, see Shipping Considerations for Amazon Snowball. August 8, 2017
Updated Amazon IoT Greengrass and Lambda functionality Lambda functions running on Amazon Snowball Edge devices can now be added, updated, removed, or replaced, once the devices are on-premises. In addition, Amazon Snowball Edge devices can now be used as Amazon IoT Greengrass core devices. For more information, see Using Amazon Lambda with an Amazon Snowball Edge. July 25, 2017
New Amazon Web Services Region supported Amazon Snowball Edge is now supported in the Canada (Central) region, with region-specific shipping options. For more information, see Shipping Considerations for Amazon Snowball. June 29, 2017
Updated file interface functionality With the file interface, you can now choose the Network File System (NFS) clients that are allowed to access the file share on the Snowball Edge, in addition to accessing other support and troubleshooting features. For more information, see Transferring Files to Amazon Snowball Edge Using the File Interface. June 21, 2017
Updated cluster functionality Clusters can now be created in groups of 5–10 Amazon Snowball Edge devices. For more information, see Using an Amazon Snowball Edge Cluster. June 5, 2017
Updated compute information

The following updates have been made for Amazon Lambda powered by Amazon IoT Greengrass functions:

  • Event objects are now JSON objects like their cloud-based counterparts.

  • When you choose a function for a job, you also choose a specific version of the function. Each version of a function now has a separate Amazon Resource Name (ARN).

  • To improve latency, functions are loaded in memory when a job is created. When creating a compute job, keep in mind that you have a total of 3.744 GB of memory available for all the functions. If you need more functions than the memory can support, you need to create more jobs.

December 6, 2016
Introducing Amazon Amazon Snowball Edge The Amazon Snowball service now has two devices, the standard Snowball and the Amazon Snowball Edge device. With the new Snowball Edge, you can now create local storage and compute jobs, harnessing the power of the Amazon Web Services Cloud locally, without an internet connection. November 30, 2016

文档历史记录 - Amazon Snowball Edge Developer Guide
AWS 文档中描述的 AWS 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 AWS 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

文档历史记录

  • API 版本:1.0

  • 最近文档更新:2020 年 11 月 23 日

下表介绍了对Amazon SnowballEdge 开发人员指南2018 年 7 月以后。如需有关文档更新的通知,您可以订阅 RSS 源。

变更 更新-历史记录-描述 更新-历史记录-日期

NewAmazon区域支持

Snowball Edge 设备现已在非洲(开普敦)区域中提供Amazon区域。有关更多信息,请参阅 。Snowball Edge 终端节点和配额中的Amazon一般参考。有关运输的信息,请参阅Snowball Edge 运输注意事项

2020 年 11 月 23 日

Support 将自己的映像导入到您的设备

现在,您可以将映像的快照导入到 Snowball Edge 设备中,并将其注册为 Amazon EC2 计算机映像 (AMI)。有关更多信息,请参阅 。将映像作为 Amazon EC2 AMI 导入到您的设备

2020 年 11 月 9 日

NewAmazon区域支持

Snowball Edge 设备现已在欧洲(米兰)区域中提供Amazon区域。有关更多信息,请参阅 。Snowball Edge 终端节点和配额中的Amazon一般参考。有关运输的信息,请参阅Snowball Edge 运输注意事项

2020 年 9 月 30 日

调整内容

已创建与 “入门” 章节,以及Amazon Snow Family Management Console工作流,并更新了其他部分以清晰起见。有关更多信息,请参阅 。AWS Snowball Edge 入门

2020 年 9 月 17 日

简介 Amazon OpsHub for Snow Family

Snow 系列设备现在提供了一个用户友好的工具Amazon OpsHub for Snow Family,可用于管理您的设备和本地Amazon服务。有关更多信息,请参阅 。使用Amazon OpsHub for Snow Family管理 Snowball 设备

2020 年 4 月 16 日

Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) 现在可在上本地使用Amazon SnowballEdge 设备

现在,您可以使用Amazon Identity and Access Management(IAM) 安全地控制对Amazon上运行的资源Amazon SnowballEdge 设备 有关更多信息,请参阅在本地使用 IAM

2020 年 4 月 16 日

推出新的 Snowball Edge Storage Optimized(用于数据传输)设备选项

Snowball 现在新增了基于最新的计算优化和 GPU 设备的存储优化设备。有关更多信息,请参阅 。Snowball Edge 设备选项

2020 年 3 月 23 日

NFC 标签验证支持

Snowball Edge Compute Optimized 设备(带或不带 GPU)已内置 NFC 标签。您可以使用 Amazon Snowball Edge Verification App(在 iOS 和 Android 上可用)扫描这些标签。有关更多信息,请参阅验证 NFC 标签

2018 年 12 月 13 日

安全组现在适用于计算实例

Snowball Edge 设备中的安全组类似于 AWS 云中的安全组,但有一些细小差异。有关更多信息,请参阅 。Snowball Edge 设备中的安全组

2018 年 11 月 26 日

引入了本地更新

您现在可以更新使 Snowball Edge 设备在您的本地环境中运行的软件。请注意,本地更新需要 Internet 连接。有关更多信息,请参阅 。更新 Snowball Edge

2018 年 11 月 26 日

推出了 Snowball Edge 的新设备选项

Snowball Edge 设备附带三个选项-存储优化、计算优化以及带 GPU。有关更多信息,请参阅 。Snowball Edge 设备选项

2018 年 11 月 15 日

NewAmazon区域支持

Snowball Edge 设备现已在亚太地区 (孟买) 提供。请注意,计算实例和 LamdaAmazon在此区域内不受支持。

2018 年 9 月 24 日

介绍对 Snowball Edge 设备上 Amazon EC2 计算实例的支持

Amazon Snowball现在支持在 Snowball Edge 设备上运行的本地 Amazon EC2 计算实例。有关使用 Amazon EC2 计算实例的任务的更多信息,请参阅https://docs.amazonaws.cn/snowball/latest/developer-guide/using-ec2.html

2018 年 7 月 17 日

改进了问题排查内容

问题排查章节已更新和重组。

2018 年 7 月 11 日

下表介绍了Amazon Snowball2018 年 7 月之前的边缘设备。

变更 描述 日期
NewAmazon区域支持 Amazon Snowball现已在亚太地区 (新加坡) 区域中支持。有关运输的更多信息在此Amazon区域,请参阅Amazon Snowball 运输注意事项 2018 年 4 月 3 日
现在支持自动提取批量小文件

您现在可以将许多小文件批量处理为更大的存档,并指定在将数据导入到 Amazon S3 时自动提取这些批处理。在将数据从本地服务器移动到 Snowball Edge 设备时,批量处理小文件可以显著提高传输性能。有关更多信息,请参阅批量处理小文件

2018 年 3 月 20 日
Snowball 客户端的主要功能修订和集群更新

Snowball 客户端的新增主要功能修订包括性能改进、配置文件以及对集群更新的支持。有关更多信息,请参阅使用 Snowball 客户端

集群现在无领导。所有节点都可以读取数据以及将数据写入集群。有关更多信息,请参阅使用 Amazon Snowball Edge 集群

2018 年 2 月 5 日
NewAmazon区域支持 Amazon Snowball现已在欧洲(巴黎)区域中受支持。有关运输的更多信息在此Amazon区域,请参阅Amazon Snowball 运输注意事项 2017 年 12 月 18 日

改进Amazon CLI支持 Amazon S3 Adapter

现在,您可以使用s3 sync命令来同步 Snowball Edge 和本地计算机之间的数据。有关更多信息,请参阅支持Amazon CLIAmazon S3 的命令

2017 年 11 月 10 日
更新了文件接口文件大小支持 文件接口现在可以支持最大 150 GB 的文件。有关更多信息,请参阅使用文件界面将文件传输到 Amazon Snowball Edge 2017 年 10 月 4 日
NewAmazon区域支持 Amazon Snowball现在亚太地区(东京)区域中支持 Edge,并提供区域特定的装运选项。有关更多信息,请参阅Amazon Snowball 运输注意事项 2017 年 9 月 19 日
NewAmazon区域支持 Amazon Snowball现在南美洲(圣保罗)区域中支持 Edge,并提供区域特定的装运选项。有关更多信息,请参阅Amazon Snowball 运输注意事项 2017 年 8 月 8 日
UpdatedAmazon IoT Greengrass和 Lambda 功能 Lambda 函数运行Amazon SnowballEdge 设备位于内部部署中,即可添加、更新、删除或替换设备设备设备设备设备。此外,Amazon Snowball Edge 设备现在可以用作 Amazon IoT Greengrass 核心设备。有关更多信息,请参阅将 Amazon Lambda 与 Amazon Snowball Edge 配合使用 2017 年 25 月 7 日
NewAmazon区域支持 Amazon Snowball现在加拿大(中部)区域中支持 Edge,并提供区域特定的装运选项。有关更多信息,请参阅Amazon Snowball 运输注意事项 2017 年 6 月 29 日
更新了文件接口功能 利用文件接口,您现在可以选择可访问 Snowball Edge 上的文件共享的网络文件系统 (NFS) 客户端,以及访问其他支持和故障排除功能。有关更多信息,请参阅使用文件界面将文件传输到 Amazon Snowball Edge 2017 年 6 月 21 日
更新了集群功能 集群现在可以在一组 (5—10 个) 中创建Amazon SnowballEdge 设备 有关更多信息,请参阅使用 Amazon Snowball Edge 集群 2017 年 6 月 5 日
更新的计算信息

以下更新已对 Lamda 提供支持AmazonGreengrass 功能:

  • 事件对象现在是 JSON 对象,如同其基于云的副本。

  • 在您选择用于任务的函数时,还需要选择函数的特定版本。每个版本的函数现在都有一个单独的 Amazon 资源名称 (ARN)。

  • 为了减少延迟,在创建任务时就把函数加载到内存中。创建计算工作时,请记住,您总共拥有 3.744GB 的内存,这些内存可用于各种函数。如果您需要更多函数,但内存无法提供支持,您就需要创建更多的任务。

2016 年 12 月 6 日
简介AmazonSnowball Edge 这些区域有:Amazon Snowball服务目前拥有两种设备,标准 Snowball 和Amazon SnowballEdge 设备 借助新的 Snowball Edge,您可以创建本地存储和计算任务,从而利用Amazon云在本地,无需连接互联网。 2016 年 11 月 30 日