Configuring bucket replication for use with Multi-Region Access Points - Amazon Simple Storage Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Configuring bucket replication for use with Multi-Region Access Points

When you make a request to a Multi-Region Access Point endpoint, Amazon S3 automatically routes the request to the bucket that responds to the request with the lowest latency. It does not consider the contents of the request when making this decision. If you make a request to GET an object, your request might be routed to a bucket that does not have a copy of this object. If that happens, you will receive a 404 error. If you want the Multi-Region Access Point to be able to recover the object regardless of which bucket receives the request, you must configure Amazon S3 Cross-Region Replication.

Consider a Multi-Region Access Point with three buckets:

  • A bucket named my-bucket-usw2 in Region us-west-2 that contains object my-image.jpg.

  • A bucket named my-bucket-aps1 in Region ap-south-1 that contains object my-image.jpg.

  • A bucket named my-bucket-euc1 in Region eu-central-1 that does not contain an object my-image.jpg.

In this situation, if you make a GetObject request for the object my-image.jpg, the success of that request depends upon which bucket receives your request. Because Amazon S3 does not consider the contents of the request, it might route your GetObject request to the my-bucket-euc1 bucket if that bucket responds with the lowest latency. Even though your object is in a bucket in the Multi-Region Access Point, you will get a 404 error because the individual bucket that received your request did not have the object.

Enabling replication helps mitigate this result. With appropriate replication rules, the my-image.jpg image is copied over to the my-bucket-euc1 bucket, meaning that you retrieve the object if Amazon S3 routes your request to that bucket.

Replication works as normal with buckets that are assigned to a Multi-Region Access Point. Amazon S3 does not perform any special handling with buckets that are in Multi-Region Access Points. Amazon S3 provides 1:N and N:N replication options for flexible synchronization among buckets. For more information about configuring replication in your buckets, see Setting up replication.

We do have a few recommendations for you if you want to have the greatest replication performance when working with Multi-Region Access Points. First, we recommend configuring S3 Replication Time Control (S3 RTC), but be aware that comes with an additional cost. For more information about S3 Replication Time Control, see Meeting compliance requirements using S3 Replication Time Control (S3 RTC). We also recommend enabling bi-directional replication to support keeping buckets synchronized when a bucket is updated through the Multi-Region Access Point. Finally, you should enable Amazon CloudWatch metrics to monitor the replication events.

Warning

If you use the Amazon Web Services Management Console to create replication rules from the Multi-Region Access Point console, any pre-existing replication configurations on the specified buckets will be replaced. If you want to add to or modify existing replication configurations instead of replacing them, you can modify the rules using each bucket’s replication configuration page in the console, or by using the Amazon CLI, SDKs, or REST API. For more information about modifying replication configurations, see Replication configuration.

配置用于多区域访问点的存储桶复制 - Amazon Simple Storage Service
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

配置用于多区域访问点的存储桶复制

向多区域访问点终端节点发出请求时,Amazon S3 会自动将请求路由到以最低延迟响应请求的存储桶。在作出这一决定时不考虑请求的内容。如果向 GET 对象发出请求时,您的请求可能会被路由到没有此对象副本的存储桶。如果发生这种情况,您会收到 404 错误。如果您希望多区域访问点能够恢复对象,而无论哪个存储桶接收请求,您必须配置 Amazon S3 跨区域复制。

考虑具有三个存储桶的多区域访问点:

  • 区域 my-bucket-usw2 中包含对象 us-west-2 且名为 my-image.jpg 的存储桶

  • 区域 my-bucket-aps1 中包含对象 ap-south-1 且名为 my-image.jpg 的存储桶

  • 区域 eu-central-1 中不包含对象 my-image.jpg 且名为 my-bucket-euc1 的存储桶

在这种情况下,如果您向 GetObject 对象发出请求 my-image.jpg,则该请求的成功取决于接收您请求的存储桶。由于 Amazon S3 不考虑请求的内容,因此可能会将 GetObject 请求添加到 my-bucket-euc1 存储桶(如果该存储桶以最低的延迟响应)。即使您的对象位于多区域访问点中的存储桶中,因为收到您请求的单个存储桶没有该对象,您仍会收到 404 错误。

启用复制有助于减轻此结果。使用适当的复制规则,my-image.jpg 图像被复制到 my-bucket-euc1 存储桶,这意味着如果 Amazon S3 将您的请求路由到该存储桶,则您将检索对象。

对于分配给多区域访问点的存储桶,复制工作正常。Amazon S3 不会对位于多区域访问点中的存储桶执行任何特殊处理。Amazon S3 提供了1:N 和 N:N 复制选项,用于在存储桶之间进行灵活的同步。有关在存储桶中配置复制的更多信息,请参阅 设置复制

如果您希望在使用多区域访问点时获得最佳的复制性能,我们会为您提供一些建议。首先,建议配置 S3 复制时间控制 (S3 RTC),但请注意,这会带来额外的成本。有关 S3 复制时间控制的更多信息,请参阅 使用 S3 Replication Time Control(S3 RTC)满足合规性要求。我们还建议启用双向复制,支持在通过多区域访问点更新存储桶时保持存储桶同步。最后,您应该启用 Amazon CloudWatch 指标来监控复制事件。

警告

如果您使用 Amazon Web Services Management Console 从多区域访问点控制台创建复制规则,则指定存储桶上预先存在的任何复制配置都将被替换。如果要添加或修改现有复制配置而不是替换它们,则可以使用控制台中的每个存储桶的复制配置页面或使用 Amazon CLI、开发工具包或 REST API。有关修改复制配置的更多信息,请参阅复制配置